Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #50 | Orange Harissa Carrot Tapis with Curried Chickpea Flatbread

DSC_0069 (2).jpg

Good day my Fruits and Veggies connoisseurs. It’s week 50 of @lenasveganliving Fruits and Veggies Contest! Time does fly; school will be starting and summer will pass!


I want to thank @lenasveganliving for hosting this weekly event. Through thick and thin, even technical troubles won’t keep her away! We are so blessed to have such a wonderful community to share our successes and even failures!


Summertime...time to enjoy cookouts, friends and family. I love to serve appetizers and treats when we have a big group (although I have to say Mr. Bird and I frequently have appetizers for dinner).


I have been waiting to share this recipe with you all. Last week I was ready only to discover Mr. Bird had just finished eating one of the main ingredients…oranges. So I had to wait until this week, but that’s okay! As many of you know, I love my morning juices. I am always experimenting with ways to utilize the pulp which is the bi-product of juicing.

Hence today’s recipe! I had a carrot juice this morning, and so I’ll share my carrot recipe!

todaysjourney.jpg

Orange Harissa Carrot Tapis with Curried Chickpea Flatbread

I used

Salad

  • 2 teaspoons Harissa
  • 4 tablespoons fresh squeezed Orange Juice
  • 3 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Orange (diced)
  • Zest from Orange
  • 3 Cups of Carrot Pulp
  • ½ cup fresh Cilantro

Flatbread

  • 1 cup toasted Chickpea flour
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 1 ½ teaspoons Curry
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • Pinch of Sea salt

Prep


I made the Harissa Sauce a few days ago however you can also buy this at the market. I made the dressing first by adding the Harissa, orange juice, olive oil, cumin and salt in a glass jar. Shake it well and set aside.


Mix carrot, orange, zest and diced cilantro together. Add dressing and mix. I refrigerated this for the afternoon to allow the flavors to meld.


DSC_0024 (2).jpg


While that was in the fridge I started the flatbread. Whisk the chickpea flour and water together in a bowl. Set the bowl aside to rest for 2-4 hours. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Lightly oil either an 8x8 baking pan or muffin tin. I like using the muffin tin to create individual flatbreads

DSC_0029 (2).jpg


Skim the foam from the top of the chickpea mixture, and then add the oil, curry, salt and pepper. I placed the baking pan in the oven for 5 minutes, and then carefully pour the batter evenly in the pan or muffin tin. Bake flatbread for about 12- 15 minutes or until the edges begin to brown.


This tasty tapas can be served as an appetizer or a meal, in wraps or on a salad!

Enjoy!

DSC_0079 (2).jpg

Thanks again @lenasveganliving, another great week! So glad you stopped by!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

Delicious! Wow @birdsinparadise I usually feed the carrot juice pulp to the chickens but I'm going to try this. Everything looks so good! I'm really excited about the chickpea flatbread. I need a "bread" for my 1 year old without actually giving him grains. This is perfect! Thanks

Thank you @buckaroo, I am always trying new ways to use the juice pulp. crackers, in breads, soups....I hate to waste :) These little breads would be fabulous for a little one. Make them in the small muffin tins for tiny hands ;), add favorite spices too!

Oooo! Yes that's a great idea. He will love it.

Yummy, healthy, refreshing, spicy and the list go on!!! Not to forget, the delicate presentation as always. Fabulous job my Dear🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Awww, thank you dear Lena, you are too kind. I find it is a versatile recipe :) You're the best!

Looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing your recipe!! ♥

Thank you! I hope you'll try it! I appreciate your kind words :)

Everything looks wonderful. That chickpea bread though… definitely will have to try that. Love the creativity. Until next week friend! ✌️

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked he chickpea bread, it is really easy to make. I hope you'll try it! Yes, until next week my friend!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-14T14:21:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 674.25/200.00
Total Photos: 107
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58216.77
ETH 3142.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23