My Love Affair With Masks; Entry #16---The Jester Junction

in #art8 years ago

Today is my birthday!!!

This is, without a doubt, one of my treasured sections on the mask wall. Although the masks came from different places, the main mask in black with gold trim is a treasure from my mother when she went to Italy on vacation. Next to masks, Jesters are a close second...I even have a few tattoos of jesters on my right rib cage and rear left shoulder.

Alld0d44.jpg

This is a close up of the main mask. The real detail on this piece is in the Jester's hat. The intricate stitching and attention to detail in the artwork are much more appreciable up close. I believe this piece also came from Venice, from a different shop than the one my sister visited on her vacation.

Italy3a5d32.jpg

These three smaller ones were gifts to me from my son for Christmas one year when he was just a tot. My mother had come up to the small rural town of her birth, the place we all call home, which is where I was living at the time. I think my son was like 7-8 at the time, I had been playing the single father role for a few years by then, it was my week with the kids so she asked to take them Christmas shopping. She took them to the mall and gave them each money to buy gifts for each of their family members. These are the masks he chose for me. He told me when I asked that the three little masks stood for him, his brother, and his sister, and that the big mask was me...they have held the same configuration on my wall ever since, and they are top dead center of the entire collection!

Matthew11b76c.jpg

Matthew2d64a9.jpg

Matthew360316.jpg

My first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, entries in this series can be seen at these links.

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem…leave us a comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63