My Love Affair With Masks; Entry #14

in #art8 years ago

For my 14th entry in the mask collection series I have elected to share what I refer to as my Autumn Appalachian Moonshine Retrieval Mask. There is a somewhat interesting story behind this mask. I was given this mask by an actual moonshine maker who lives in the Appalachian Mountains. I met this unique individual through an old high school buddy one year when I came home for a class reunion. We took a trip inland to the Appalachian Mountains where we purchased several mason jars full of 100% pure grain alcohol; this stuff was so violently volatile that a single shot would leave blisters forming on your lips and tongue. It was by far the absolute nastiest concoction I have ever imbibed.

The mask was issued to me as a token of trust, as well as a method for obtaining more moonshine in the future. Turns out this old Appalachian moonshine making hillbilly wouldn't let you back onto his property, or talk to you about moonshine at all, unless you returned with the mask he had given you. According to the legend I was told, he carves each of these masks individually, and only gives them out to those he senses a trustworthy connection with...if he doesn't offer you one within the first half hour of meeting you, then you aren't getting one, and more than likely there will be no sale of White Lightning on that day, not to you, or the trusted person who brought you. I have had this mask in my collection for roughly 25 years, and although I have never been back to those hills for a mason jar full of moonshine, I am honored to hang this on my wall...as a symbol of how a stranger, of all people, considered me trustworthy enough to include me in his tight inner circle. I hope you enjoy my collection as much as I do, thanks for checking them out!

My first entry in this series!

My second entry in this series!

My third entry in this series!

My fourth entry in this series!

My fifth entry in this series!

My sixth entry in this series!

My seventh entry in this series!

My eighth entry in this series!

My ninth entry in this series!

My tenth entry in this series!

My eleventh entry in this series!

My twelfth entry in this series!

My thirteenth entry in this series!

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem…leave us a comment!

Appalachianc9508.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48