My Love Affair With Masks; Entry #6

in #art8 years ago

This, the 6th installment in my mask collection series, comes from a place a little closer to home, the great state of Alaska. As a matter of fact, it came from an Inuit family I met just outside the town of Nome, while visiting there roughly 7-8 years ago. As a tribal family living on the ice, these Inuits made things from items they were able to repurpose. They then took these items to town with them and bartered with the local community for goods, supplies, and any services they needed. This particular piece is crafted from the hair of a Caribou's turd cutter (pardon the description); the face carved from wood. I traded a pair of white Mickey Mouse boots (if you've ever been in the service and stationed in a northern tier region, then you know what I am referring to), they were rubber, you filled them with air and they kept your feet warm under any miserable condition you found yourself in...and the weather up around Nome, Alaska is pretty miserable...it's cold up there 364 days a year!

My first entry in this series!

My second entry in this series!

My third entry in this series!

My fourth entry in this series!

My fifth entry in this series!

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem...pick your poison!

Alaska11197d.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48