My Love Affair With Masks; Entry #10

in #art8 years ago

This is the tenth entry in my collection of masks. This one was picked up for me by my sister while she was living on Jersey, which is the largest of the Channel Islands between England and France. As there was a wide mixture of European cultures present on the island, determining the true roots of this piece are difficult at best. As English and French were the primary cultures represented, and taking the shape of the helmet into consideration, I am leaning towards French origin. That being said, it is the third and final installment of the masks in my collection that have been carved from wood. Personally, I appreciate the artisans craft; the intricate woodworking in the beard of this piece must've taken quite a bit of time and patience...attributes I constantly try to obtain and practice in my daily life. If you like what you see here, check out the rest of my collection, listed individually below. Thanks for taking time to take a peek!

My first entry in this series!

My second entry in this series!

My third entry in this series!

My fourth entry in this series!

My fifth entry in this series!

My sixth entry in this series!

My seventh entry in this series!

My eighth entry in this series!

My ninth entry in this series!

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem...pick your poison!

Poland27e06c.jpg

Sort:  

Nice collection. This one I like a lot.

Thank-you! It is one of my favorites as well...just the time and craftsmanship it took to complete this is amazing in and of itself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48