My Love Affair With Masks; Entry #9

in #art8 years ago

This is the second of my masks from Poland, collected while there for my sister's wedding. It was quite an eye opening experience to see street vendors whittle these things out of raw hunks of wood, apply a bit of aging with a torch, or doctor it up a bit with various stains to change the appearance of the piece. What was probably even more amazing was the ability to barter for ANYTHING you wanted, and I do mean ANYTHING. One morning before the wedding I walked across the street to get breakfast at the only joint I recognized, the golden arches of McDonalds. The menu was all in Polish, but the pictures were legible, so I placed an order for a Sausage and Egg McGriddle, then proceeded to haggle over the price, eventually walking out of the place with my meal for less than $1 USD. I imagine things are a bit different in Poland today, they have since switched over to the Euro, but I would love to visit there again and take in more of the sights. I strongly encourage people to visit foreign countries if they have the chance, the cultures are so vastly different from what America has to offer that it is an educational experience more than anything.

My first entry in this series!

My second entry in this series!

My third entry in this series!

My fourth entry in this series!

My fifth entry in this series!

My sixth entry in this series!

My seventh entry in this series!

My eighth entry in this series!

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem...pick your poison!

Polandcd9c9.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48