South Carolina Stitching Spider--Steemitphotochallenge #15

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

I stumbled across this little beauty while on vacation in Anderson, South Carolina at my Aunt and Uncle's place, it was perched at the end of their driveway in the bushes surrounding their mailbox. Truth be told it gave me a bit of a start, I went out Saturday morning to check their mail and grab the daily paper...I had no idea this thing was lurking near the mailbox, or that it would be as big as it was...the markings and the unusual web configuration are what caught my attention...I immediately ran back inside, grabbed my camera and snapped this photo...shortly after, this monster crawled back into the bush a little ways and laid in wait. I'm not normally a big fan of spiders, but they usually mean no harm and will scurry along if you allow them.

Lately I have been sharing my mask collection, the links of which can be found below. I stumbled across this photo challenge in my feed this afternoon, so I thought I'd post an entry and see how it goes. Hopefully some of you will like this stitching spider as much as I did!

My first,
second,
third,
fourth,
fifth,
sixth,
seventh,
eighth,
ninth,
tenth,
eleventh,
twelfth,
thirteenth,
fourteenth,
fifteenth, entries in this series can be seen at the links above.

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem…leave us a comment!

StitchingSpiderd3e84.jpg

Sort:  

Ha, your story gave me a giggle about how you got startled checking the mail, and were a little tentative to get close - but good thing you did catch a nice photo of this yellow garden spider with the flowers in the background. The web pattern in the front and back are really interesting.

Thank-you...it was a bit unnerving at first...I wasn't expecting it. I've never really been afraid of spiders...my father used to catch tarantulas when I was younger and make paper weights out of them...but just seeing the size of this thing and the unusual web, made it very interesting.

That's crazy. I have never seen this spider before, and now two different people captured one in the same challenge. Great shot. Very vivid colors.
The web pattern these guys leave is crazy. Makes for great photo ops. :)

This is the first time I've ever seen this species of spider myself...they are a lot bigger than they appear...this one was at least the size of a half dollar if you take leg spread into account...pretty kewl creature tho, all the same...the web pattern is indeed a bit crazy, but also one of the unique characteristics that make seeing one an unforgettable experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65