My Love Affair With Masks; Entry #8

in #art8 years ago

I picked this little beauty up while on vacation in Poland for my sister's wedding. She met a guy from Poland a few years before while on a cruise with my Mom in the Caribbean; he was working as part of the waitstaff on the ship. Lo and behold they hit it off, exchanged contact information and then for 2-3 years they met at different locations around the world when his cruise ship was scheduled for a maintenance layover. They eventually decided to tie the knot and the decision was made to hold the ceremony in Poland so his folks and family could enjoy the experience. Life is a little different in Poland, and I was able to haggle the street vendor of this product down to a handful of zloty, which at the time had a ridiculously low exchange rate compared to the US dollar. I exchanged a $100 bill and almost had to buy a small suitcase to carry all the zloty in; needless to say I took advantage of my negotiating skills and claimed this piece for less than $3 USD. My sister and her Polish husband Maciej have since divorced, but Poland was one of my favorite places to visit...there is a ton of WWII history still visible walking down the street...I went from Poland directly to Amsterdam, and almost decided not to come back home, but that is a story for another day!

My first entry in this series!

My second entry in this series!

My third entry in this series!

My fourth entry in this series!

My fifth entry in this series!

My sixth entry in this series!

My seventh entry in this series!

Other photo entries I have published can be found here and here.

Stay tuned for more entries in this category!

Give us an upvote if you enjoy these posts...follow...resteem...pick your poison!

Poland38a3ae.jpg

Sort:  

I love masks too, really like this one it has a lot of character!

Thank-you! I am a huge fan of masks as you can probably tell. I have quite a few left to add to this series.

Look forward to seeing them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63