๐Ÿฉ That's a DAMN DELICIOUS DONUT (You Got There!) ๐Ÿฉ

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

What about a donut that's actually made out of nuts and chocolate? Can I get a little bit of drool over here?

doughnutedit.jpg

I was playing in the kitchen the other day and I thought something pretty thoughtful...

"Why do they call donuts... dough-nuts?"

I mean the dough part, obvious.

But the nuts?

Last time I checked that makes no gosh darn sense. Who names things anyway?

So, I went to Google as we all do in these predicaments and this is what I found out:

Using Wiki as my fact checker here:

Hanson Gregory, an American, claimed to have invented the ring-shaped doughnut in 1847 aboard a lime-trading ship when he was 16 years old. Gregory was dissatisfied with the greasiness of doughnuts twisted into various shapes and with the raw center of regular doughnuts. He claimed to have punched a hole in the center of dough with the ship's tin pepper box, and to have later taught the technique to his mother.[11] Smithsonian Magazine states that his mother, Elizabeth Gregory, "made a wicked deep-fried dough that cleverly used her son's spice cargo of nutmeg and cinnamon, along with lemon rind," and "put hazelnuts or walnuts in the center, where the dough might not cook through", and called the food 'doughnuts'.[6]

OK, well that's great and clever and all -_-

But what I have done is made doughnuts that are... oh wait...I just noticed the flaw in my own logic....

Well, I guess this is how these things happen!

Mine have got the nut part on lock but are omitting the dough! They're same, same but different!

History lesson aside, lemme show you how these yummy little round things with holes in the middle turned out!
twirly.png

What you need:


donuts1.jpg


  • 1 1/2 cups dates
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 cup hemp seeds
  • 1 cup goji berries
  • 1 tsp Pink Himalayan Sea Salt
  • READY FOR THE SURPRISE INGREDIENT? 1 CUP COOKED BLACK BEANS!
  • 2 cups cacao powder
  • 1 tbs lucuma powder
  • 1 tbs maca root powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil

Icing:

  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 1 tsp salt
    twirly.png

What to do:


donuts2.jpg


  • Add everything into a food processor or blender

donuts3.jpg
donuts4.jpg


  • Blend together until you get a sticky mixture
    I couldn't take pictures of this on account of my messy hands but it's easy, I promise!

donuts5.jpg


  • Take a small handful at a time and roll it in your hands.
  • Roll the mix into a long tube like shape
  • Pull both sides together and join them
  • Carefully place on an oiled baking tray
  • Go through the rest of the mixture (it keeps getting easier!)
    I froze half for an "almost raw" version (minus the black beans) vs a baked version!

donuts8.jpg


Icing:

  • Mix the icing together in a bowl and drip all over donuts.
    "Almost Raw:"
  • For raw version, place in freezer for at least an hour.

donuts9.jpg


Baked:

  • For baked version, place in oven on 180'C for 20 minutes

donuts6.jpg


Judgment:

OK, I have to say, I loooove warm desserts and so I kind of already thought that the baked version was going to be my favorite before I even tasted it BUT I WAS WRONG!

I actually prefer the "almost raw", frozen version over the baked! Just let it sit in room temperature for a couple of minutes and it's incredible!

Not that the baked version isn't, I just really loved the texture and experience of the "almost raw" version more!

Both super good though so why not try them both?! ;)

donuts10.jpg

heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!

Here are some of my recent additions:

๐Ÿ’Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!๐Ÿ’

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg

Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

๐Ÿ’–DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?๐Ÿ’–

Inspiration for your heart!
๐Ÿ’œ Funny Memes & A Talk About Your Health!
๐Ÿ’œ My Words Define My World
๐Ÿ’œ Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too! โค
๐Ÿ’œ Why You are the best You there is!

๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด

๐Ÿ•Oh, You'd Like Non-Disgusting GF Crust With Your Pizza?
๐Ÿ‘Make Easy Mayo At Home! Perfect 5 Min Healthy Recipe!
๐Ÿฅ“Perfect Summer Cauliflower Bacon Salad!
๐ŸนAntioxidant Pink Galaxy Smoothie!
๐ŸŽ‚Special Recipe: Thai Curry Cake!
๐ŸฐSecret Ingredient Carrot Cake Recipe
๐ŸŸEpic Smothered Garlic Cheese Fries!
๐Ÿฅ•Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"
๐ŸฆDYI Fro-Yo!

๐ŸŒI can show you the world!๐ŸŒ

Hong Kong Mishap: Disaster Strikes!
๐Ÿ—บThe Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
๐ŸŽฅVideo!Drone footage of the Maldives!

Until next time!
Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
heart thing.png
hearttoheart signature.png

[trial5.jpg
signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

You've got magic touch. This looks so good. Drool? I am all over darling.

You've got magic touch.
This looks so good. Drool? I am
All over darling.

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย - olawalium


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Haiku? Sounds like my native language.

Wow so good food.. .

your donut is the best ever

Time to make the donuts!! I have used black bean flour before, so I think using beans still counts as "dough". ๐Ÿ˜‹ Either way they look yummy! I think I would definitely like to try the frozen version during summer here.

Whaaat? Beans are not flour girl! Get outta here! ;) Beans are beans unless dried up and ground into flour which would (imo) be much better than the stuff donuts are usually filled with! In any case, these were a last minute fun add in and turned out super! Stack em up in the freezer, they're awesome chilled! =D

Black beans, whaaat? At least they look amazing! I'm tempted to try the frozen version! ๐Ÿ˜‹

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-04T13:15:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 45.50/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow very good post

Me encantan las donas, ya sean rellenas o solas!

AJ picked your post @heart-to-heart for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97