One photo every day: Korean fir cones (95/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

After today's rehab work I had an hour of free time so I went out photographing the Autumn, and while I did photograph many red-leaved Maples, rose berries, Himalayan balsam and other things, this one was the one I wanted to share as today's #onephotoeveryday project photo.

This Korean fir (Abies koreana) grows pretty close to our building, in the small forest next to it. I don't see it growing into 10 to 18 meters like the Wikipedia suggests. It's always been somewhere around 2 to 3 meters tall. So it's a relatively small specimen.

I originally got attracted to the tree in 2012 as I noticed its blue cones that were peculiarly turned upside-down, which was unusual to me. I had no idea these types of conifers existed. Here's my first photograph of the cones.

Today I noticed the tree had produced new conifers, so i had to take a picture:

Korean fir
Cones in the Abies koreana tree

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Super Carenar MC ƒ=35mm 1:2.8
Aperture: ƒ/5.8
Exposure:  1/60 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200



Quite interesting looking cones, aren't they? :)

New OPED photo coming up tomorrow!



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: So @berniesanders decided to publicly threaten me. Am I to do his bidding? What do you guys think?]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)
Sixth week in pictures (6/52)
Seventh week in pictures (7/52)
Eighth week in pictures (8/52)
Ninth week in pictures (9/52)
Tenth week in pictures (10/52)
Eleventh week in pictures (11/52)
Twelfth week in pictures (12/52)


Miro's birthday party invitation cards (first draft) (85/365)
Toadstool (86/365)
A Ring on a Book (87/365)
Rose (88/365)
A sketching tool. (89/365)
Gremlins (90/365)
Something went terribly wrong (91/365)
The culprit. (92/365)
Lahti City Hall Park (93/365)
Macro test shot with Samsung Tab and a loupe. (94/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


This one is posted as !originalworks

Sort:  

uh? those are blue?

Wow. I never saw anything like that. Thank you for sharing the photo and the name of the tree. If I would see this photo somewhere else on the web I would imagine that they are artificial. Good job!

Lovely conifers. I never knew that they existed too. Do you know what they are used for?

Wikipedia tells me only that they are used as ornamental plants for their foliage and plentyful production of cones. Not sure if there are other uses.

Ok. I tot they eat them.

Those cones are quite unusual. You need to show them to me next week.

Definitely. :)

Nice caputre, focus at the right point, etc.

365/366 I run since several years. I shoot most of the time film (35mm, medium format, sometimes 4x5) and I like experimental film photography.

Best for such projects, host the content at your own webspace, shared or dedicated server than post from there to the networks you like.

the Korean fir is beautiful, i wish you'd share the red-leaved Maples, rose berries, Himalayan balsams - i'm sure they would have been beautiful too - none of those grows in my country

wow - thanks!!

That was a great answer to his demand. I love the collections you posted.

Today I noticed the tree had produced new conifers, so i had to take a picture:

Nature at its best. I would love to have those beside my house.

oh here blue brothers too haha, never saw in estonia blue fir cones, is it someone from korea planted ?:)

I guess the one who planted it just likes them. :) No idea if they are Korean or not. I have a feeling that many gardeners like exotic plants here.

They are beautiful as ever
Liked them particularly :)

@gamer00,
Seriously this is the first time I saw this "Cones in the Abies koreana tree"! Amazing photography and thank you very much for sharing this with us!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74