Our choir performance on Friday night – it’s gonna be beyond awesome!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I’ve already mentioned the opening of the Wellington Arts Festival that our choir is part of. Two more sleeps and it’s on! Wellington peeps, get your arses down to the waterfront, and be part of this epic event. And also, don’t forget to book your tickets for some of the awesome theatre, dance and music that will be filling our city for the next three weeks.

Kupe_Arrival.jpg

The Festival website says:

As dusk falls, join a cast of thousands on Wellington’s stunning waterfront for the once-in-a-lifetime 2018 New Zealand Festival opening night event, Kupe.

Inspired by the arrival in Aotearoa of great navigator and explorer Kupe, this free, whānau-friendly spectacular is part one of A Waka Odyssey and a landmark celebration of our shared voyaging history. Be a part of history in the making, welcoming a majestic fleet of waka hourua (traditional double-hulled sailing canoes) and their fearless crew, as they sail across the waters of Te Whanganui-a-Tara, Wellington Harbour – a moving finale to their months-long journey from Samoa, the Cook Islands and around New Zealand.

Then let the sounds of the Pacific surround you in this theatrical extravaganza featuring performers, a mass choir, a thousand-strong haka and a musical score by Warren Maxwell (Trinity Roots, Little Bushman).

The Wellington community choir is being joined by the Hutt Valley Community choir and a pop up choir of Cook Island and Samoan singers. There will be about 300 of us singing four original pieces by Warren Maxwell.

Here he is performing with the band Trinity Roots

We started learning these pieces on the 31st January, so have put them together in just over 3 weeks. Tonight, the three choirs will be together for the first time and we’ll be aiming to have all words and music down, so no prompts.

Tomorrow is tech rehearsal down on the waterfront, and the following night we perform.

Our choir usually performs world music, so it’s not too much of a stretch to be singing not in English. And we always sing without sheet music, so we’re used to that as well. We’re singing in five part harmony – bass, tenor, alto, low sopranos & high altos together and a small group of us are high sopranos.

This is what has been a stretch for me. Our parts are higher than we usually sing, so most of our voices are not in shape for it yet. This time last week, I was really struggling with the consistent high notes, and feeling quite strained. So I pleased that on Monday, when we did some work with the Samoan choir, that those bits were much easier and I managed to get the even higher notes in the new bit we learnt. Hopefully tonight those new high notes will be easier too.

I have the words and the music memorised about 95%, so hopefully tonight will cement the rest of it in. I’ve just done a thorough warm up with scales and am off to choir shortly.

PS - 3 hours later - OMG, they threw choreography at us! (To clarify, that's not usually an issue, we just weren't expecting it at this late stage in the game.)

PPS - Just found this {new article on The Dominion Post website about it](https://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/news/101612539/no-pressure-just-new-zealand-festivals-mostambitious-opening), which includes a short (2 min) video, with Warren Maxwell.

Thanks for reading and listening

Video from Youtube, top image from the Festival website.

My previous music posts

Benefits of joining a community choir ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014 ~
60 years of my favourite music – some randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – more randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – Kiwi classics ~
My choir singing on the streets of Wellington ~
Some New Zealand music ~
60 years of music - Musicals I’ve been in ~
Hang out in my kitchen this weekend - help me cook and listen to some music!
What Steemit friends are for
Rest in Peace Dad, and some music to remember you by
Summer music routine for my arthritis class
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 1 to 3
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Day 4
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 5 to 7
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 8 to 9, part 1
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 8 to 9, part 2
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Day 10

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location. Remember to use “kiwi” or “teamnz” as one of your tag words on posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Did i miss in the post if you will be able to have anyone record snippets of it and post???? i would love to hear 5 part harmony! this sounds amazing!

(and i wanna see choreography too hehehehe)

There's an official video, and I've put the link in a new post. They don't show the choir very much but you will see a little bit of the choreography (very simple steps), and you can hear us quite well in a couple of places.

going to find it now ;)

All the best with the performance.

Thanks, it was a lot of fun, and the video is available now in a new post.

Break a leg, my friend! I hope all of you have a fun performance. Looking forward to the video of it :D

We did, we did have fun. (We always have fun.) We had the best view on the waterfront. Video link is up now in a new post.

The choir must be awesome to hear. Have you volunteered to do a solo? :-)

Well, I think we sound awesome, not that I;m biased. Although I love our soprano parts, my next favourite is hearing the basses coming through with their deep notes. Yum.
Believe me, nobody wants to hear me doing a solo, not even myself. I have no natural talent as a singer. But I work hard at learning everything and the support of my fellow sops me gives me confidence to sing out.

Oh no, choreography!? Good luck!! But I'm sure you'll all
do great! I admire anyone who can get up on a stage and
perform in any way. I think I'd be too nervous. And then
there's talent, which I don't have much of! Have fun, kiwideb!!

It was very easy choreography, it just threw us a bit getting it so last minute. We like to have some movement, it brings the music more to life. I don't have a lot of singing talent either but I love it, and work hard, and the group dynamic helps it all happen. We did have lots of fun and the best view.

I really should see if Mum wants to come down and watch you - I like the music!

I'll ring you

If I was there, I would totally go. Sadly, I'm in a different hemisphere. I love singing in community choirs, too. Such fun. I love to sing, in general (my karaoke standard is "Everyday is a Winding Road" by Sheryl Crow).

I hope you can post a video of the performance.

If you were here, you would have been in it with me! I'd have dragged you along. I've done a new post now with a link to the video.

Oh, I totally would have been in it with you.

Wouldn't mind going there. Wellington is on my bucket list!

If we arrange a meetup for Labour weekend, you should come!

I will come !!! Also, please tell Sift he should ping me on discord!

Have fun, enjoy your night!

Wellington put on an awesome night for us, and there's nowhere more beautiful than Welly on a good day (IMO anyway). So we did enjoy.

Was catching up with posts and saw the youtube video it looked amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51