Panoramic Window View of Downtown Los Angeles on January 10th 2019, Vol. 24: First visit for new year and LADOT gets to take my munnies away.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

It's my first time here for 2019. I parked in the alley the same way we always do, and I got a ticket. It's gonna cost $68.

Driving your own vehicle for work is just a bad idea in LA.

After this paragraph, stop reading, skim through the pretty stuff, and then tell your employer that you want a work vehicle. Tell your employer that you deserve a work vehicle and that you are fully capable of continuing the same responsibility you've already been practicing. Rally your coworkers and talk about your hourly rates. Rally together to get vehicles for those with travel expenses.
Obviously, a grateful employer would say to you, "Yes! That is a great idea. I'm sorry! I've been such a dildo... you shouldn't need to ask! What is this world coming too? You wouldn't even be on the road if it wasn't for these tasks. Lets make this a more equitable relationship. Why should you pay for reasonable uncontrollable damages to the work vehicle? Let's just give you an appropriate vehicle and create a tracking system. Transparency is best and I'm already good at practicing intermittent transparency in other aspect of our industry. Thanks for the idea."

My day's short story begins:

I'm was asked to run an errand to the fashion district. I chose to leave at a good time so that traffic would not be too bad. Car keys, hat, and SoCalSteemit sticker are ready for action!

Maybe my lucky @SoCalSteemit sticker helped with traffic conditions?!

I took my a street path and stumbled upon a radar gun and a motorcycle police officer or two. They were issuing traffic tickets. I guess they know of many people take these side-streets to get to work in Downtown LA. The sight of police in this area seems a little peculiar/different, but I'm not usually though here at this time of the day so I don't think much of it. I also dgaf because I'm not speeding. I drive on. Check out the US Bank Tower. It's an icon.

Eventually, I arrive and I park in the alley in the same way that my boss and I have been doing for years. My elevator takes a while to arrive, so I take this panoramic shot below:

I like how I used the opening of the garage as a frame. Gotta look for more photo opportunities like this. (Dark inside edge with a sunny subject in back.)

The elevator ride takes too long. I use the bathroom and make the delivery. That sounded funny but it's not a peepee-kaka joke.

Delivery is done. All is well, conversation is fun, but all the small delays make me nervous for my car parked in the alley. Tangents nip at my heals, but I make my way to our famous window/door.

I open it and look down at the alley. Nope, not a LADOT (meter maid/tax man/mob) on bike in sight. Looks clear, I can probably relax a little... I'll make a zombie hand GIF!

That was scary, but all is well. Time for the money shot:

After taking my signature, multi-million dollar panoramic picture, I jump in the elevator. Seriously, I do that. Jump up and down in the elevator while it's moving, it's fun.

Speaking of random... take look at these other shots and crops n stuff:

[gallery ids="9189,9190,9191" type="rectangular"]

Time to go...

It all probably looked like a movie. My face and emotion was authentic. Imagine a scene in a mobster move where the camera is focused on the drier's face. We see the driver's face go from normal happy guy to "oh carp, there is a bomb in my boot?"

I was staring at a weird envelope with a red ticket sticking out. I shouted "WHAT THE F#CK!" to make my tender little bass player hand transform into the Incredible Hulk's hand. It rips the ticket from the windshield and birds on the roof tops take flight...

The End

Parking sucks in DTLA.

Why would I spend my money in this place? It's complicated if you not a tourist. I've ranted on about the parking situation before. It's costs $300 a month for a business owners employees to park in the lot you see in the images above. Maybe I should be happy people are willing to charge members of the fashion industry.

Yes, my hazard lights were on. LADOT doesn't care and hazard light don't really make anyone exempt from the laws. I knew that though. I think the normal security guards that know me have put in a good word for me previous times the ticket guy rode by in the past. Today there was a new security guard that I have never seen before. He doesn't know me yet. It's also the first of the year. Maybe that's why I saw the motorcycle police.

NEXT:

"Panoramic Window View of Downtown Los Angeles on January 16th 2019, Vol 25: It’s raining and the DTLA bubble seems smaller."

SoCalSteemit Contest Entry!

I hope this qualifies as an entry into the SoCalSteemit contest again.

Click here to give SoCalSteemit your support: https://steemit.com/mycalifornia/@socalsteemit/show-us-your-california-week-14

Take a look at contest winners here: https://steemit.com/mycalifornia/@socalsteemit/6eqzvt-show-us-your-california-contest-winners

Take a look at the time I won the contest here:https://steemit.com/mycalifornia/@socalsteemit/3k8z2d-show-us-your-california-contest-winners

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Take a look at all these old ones.

Click here to see the 1st panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 2nd panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 3rd panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 4th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 5th panorama in this series. Click here to see a second from the same day.
Click here to see the 6th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 7th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 8th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 9th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 10th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 11th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 12th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 13th panorama in this series. Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3
Click here to see the 14th panorama in this series. (First of 2018).
Click here to see the 15th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 16th panorama in this series. Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3
Click here to see the 17th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 18th panoramic in this series.
Click here to see the 19th panoramic in this series.
Click here to see the 20th panoramic in this series.
Click here to see the 21st panoramic in this series.
Click here to see the 22nd panoramic in the series.
Click here to see the 23rd panoramic in this series.

Fight for Steem.

Incentivize flag curation... it's what @SteemFlagRewards does:

https://steemit.com/@steemflagrewards/steem-flag-rewards-report---8-flagger-post---2019-01-17-2245

Please delegate to @SteemFlagRewards to help promote decentralized moderation.

Steem Flag Rewards is designed to reward proper flag curation. Use the handy delegation links @anthonyadavisii created below!
50 SP 100 SP 500 SP 1000 SP

Show the world that Steem is more than Steemit.com.


This post has been created with busy.org and it may also appear on Wordpress. Rest assured the links come back to us here at Steem. This is a strategy to expose Steem platforms to new bloggers.

Hey Look Free Music:

https://bandcamp.com/tetrahedrosephjosephperry

Sort:  

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63