Panoramic Window View of Downtown Los Angeles on September 27th 2018 Vol. 21: Skyline identification attempt and a first time entry into SoCalSteemit’s Contest.

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

This post is my first entry into the new @SoCalSteemit contest!

https://steemit.com/mycalifornia/@socalsteemit/show-us-your-california-contest-week-2

It's dated in the past, but it's new. I'm busy. Aren't we all? I'm not gonna toss this material out! Just be aware that this is all as authentic as possible. If this post appears anywhere else, that would be my crappy Wordpress blog. I'm doing that to bring people here to Steem. Away form Wordpress! All links lead to Steem platforms.

Today I approached the DTLA Fashion DistricT from a different direction. This first imagine below is a shot from a strangely quiet part of the west bound 101 freeway. Can you see the city in the distance?

Before I go any further, let's see the panoramic window that started this series. I captured images of a few buildings that would be fun to match up from ground level. You know, as I drove by, a different perspective. Normal, yet different for this series.

I drove through/around many of the buildings that are always in the skylines of my main panoramic shots. Let's start with today's shot first. Then we can compare it to the ground level shots I captured on the way in.

These two views of the skyline will help us too.

Let's go on down and identify some buildings.

Ground Level:

Pay attention don't try this at home. Driving and looking all around is for experienced city drivers only. I took some of these without looking at my camera.

Let's try to find those buildings in the big panoramic shot above.

1. and 2. I found the first two buildings on the left (1 and 2) in the image below.

I can match up the building with the long white pole sticking up. I marked it "3" in the large panoramic.

The rest are not as easy to find. I think some the buildings I'm looking for are blocked from this window's angle.

Crap!

My new middle name is, "Backlog". Locating and matching these buildings seemed like a fun idea, but it's painful on my iPhone and I gotta do bass stuff later.

Maybe I can expand on this skyscraper hunt in a later post. For now I have an idea for something new, slightly educational, and fun...

¡SOON!

I'm going to find the oldest skyscraper in Los Angeles and feature it in a post.

!NOOS¡ I gotta get this other stuff posted first and then maybe... uh well, I'm gonna do it, but uh... yes, I'm squirming. Prices are low, therefore I gotta post more.

👍NEXT:

Panoramic Window View of Downtown Los Angeles on October 18th 2018 Vol. 22: making music and running an errand.

💩Past:

Click here to see the 1st panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 2nd panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 3rd panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 4th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 5th panorama in this series. Click here to see a second from the same day.
Click here to see the 6th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 7th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 8th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 9th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 10th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 11th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 12th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 13th panorama in this series. Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3
Click here to see the 14th panorama in this series. (First of 2018).
Click here to see the 15th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 16th panorama in this series. Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3
Click here to see the 17th panorama in this series.
Click here to see the 18th panoramic in this series.
Click here to see the 19th panoramic in this series.https://steemit.com/esteem/@steemseph/panoramic-window-view-of-downtown-los-angeles-fashion-district-on-july-20th-2018-vol-19-a-side-job-traffic-an-ally-view-a-butt-fb236a9ef41da
Click here to see the 20th panoramic in this series.

Thank you for all the support. This post is delayed for very good reasons. I am just one of the people helping all of us fight spam. Please support the other Steem neighbors that help fight abuse.

Flagging is part of curation.

Please help Steem grow! Flag the abusers and get rewarded by Steem Flag Rewards.

_

_

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

How long did it take you to get from point to point?

I hope you are doing well in Cali with all the crazy wildfires recently.

It didn’t take long to go from building to building because I was driving and snapping shots all along the way. Walking would be kinda dangerous, I might skateboard but, I’m too injured for that at the moment.

Most fires are gone and they are in rural areas. I’m not affected, but a family member almost had to leave the area. Thanks for asking.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will hope you recover soon.

I'm also glad the fire didn't affect you.

Gosh! You must have done a lot of walking to get those shots!!

No walking, it’s too dangerous to walk around and, parking near all those places would cost a lot of money. I was “on the clock” and just driving though an area that is within the panoramic window’s view.
I wonder what I said to give the impression I was walking.
Thanks for your comment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Gosh, sorry about that! Haha...
Well, I guess when you said you went down to find the buildings, I assume you must have been walking around. Never in my mind would thought you took from car without stopping! So dangerous!

Yeah my wording was probably weird. This post was rushed and also proof read inadequately.
Driving while taking pictures is easier with a mobile device and most of the time I was first at a stop light or stuck in the middle of a traffic signal’s rotation.
Sometimes I take a few shots and crop the good on later too. It’s more of a forgiving process that way.

don’t recommend taking pictures while driving. I’m a trained professional. I was born on a freeway in valuable inefficient traffic patterns.

When I was born, they almost named me, “What thefu did you see that guy!”

Posted using Partiko iOS

LOL!!! The last statement is just brilliant!!!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you 😊

Congratulations, your post won 1st place in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

First place! Thank you @socalsteemit! I’m gonna love me some SBI!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62