Panoramic Window View of Downtown Los Angeles Fashion District on July 20th 2018 Vol. 19: A side job, traffic, an ally view, a butt gif, and an old cat #dtla

in #esteem6 years ago

More work is good and I am back in downtown Los Angeles. Speaking of "backs," I'm grateful for less physically demanding work during my time of injury.

For this post I thought I would start by featuring some of my drive into the city. Lots of freeway with lots of cars, most of them contain only one or two commuters.

For most of us here in LA large freeways with multiple overhead on-ramps and interchanges are normal to see. They are amazing structures for cars and lots of fun late at night while everyone is sleeping.


Food Tip For DTLA's Fashion District:


1. Any person with any type of dietary requirements, or lack of, is gonna like this place:


Dune Downtown

1610, 199 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015

(213) 628-3586

https://goo.gl/maps/Qk9NXiigstR2

I have enjoyed every dish I've ever tried there. Get the hummus, but make sure your cleared for abundant fart action later. The chicken salad dishes are good too. Save a little money and get a sandwich.


2. If your more interested in hot soup or a Japanese influence, try:


DTLA Ramen

952 S Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015

(213) 265-7641

https://goo.gl/maps/8WRiq6kA8vk

I've only been there once and it seemed as good and a little better than the other ramen places I've visited in my life.

(sorry, no image of DTLA Ramen)

3. Parking sucks. Notice the red pin on the map below. If you want to eat at Dune or DTLA Ramen, and if you're also planning to do more in the area, park in this lot here: https://goo.gl/maps/DywzXnAEiR22


The image above is a screen shot from GoogleMaps app. The red pin is for the parking lot I've been referring to. This area is experiencing lots of construction, so be sure to verify the parking lot is still there. Also, it's not the only option. Look for a few more parking lots just north of it if this one is full. The heart of the fashion district is just a block northeast on East 9th Street and South Los Angeles Street.

Also notice Dune Downtown's and DTLA Ramen's location on the map. Their pins look yellow with a white star.

Almost Done...

I recommend the meters because you can use your bosses credit card. 😁 Be sure you fully understand the parking regulations posted on the streets in this area. Some of the metered parking ends around 3 or 5 PM. I almost got towed once. They are really quick to ticket AND tow. (I had to pay 300 something just to keep them from towing my AWD vehicle away on a one wheel lift type of truck.)


Panoramic Shots Vol. 19 07/20/2018:


Eventually, I park in one of the most expensive parking lots because it's close to the front door. Walking from the other parking lots would perpetuate my injury. It cost $20 to park. Fuck it. My boss can see my receipt in the image above.


Want hear something funny? A monthly parking pass is 300... I promise to stop talking about parking now. Thanks for reading.


This first shot was taken at 10:16 AM:


This second shot is a new perspective that i've never shared before. It was taken while I was helping my peeps in the alley. It the same alley that has a piece by Matt Gondek (Bart Simpson):


This third shot was taken at 2:30 PM. I'm off to join the millions of automobiles crammed into the outdated and historical inadequate freeways.




Is this NSFW?


Everyone likes butt cheeks, right?

Maybe we are all secretly envious of his... oooh the millions of memes we could put here.

Don't flag me yet! I'm getting to the point... turning it around...

Suffering is not funny. Is the man in this gif suffering? Hmm... homelessness doesn't look easy. After we giggle a little, let's take a moment to be grateful.

Now, talk about a very real and seemingly microcosmic way to help homelessness.

Blessings Bags:

Assemble a sturdy grocery store bag or better with the following items:

  1. Bars of soap that are individually wrapped in plastic.
  2. Maxi Pads or Sanitary napkins.
  3. Small individually wrapped laundry soap.
  4. Panchos
  5. Toothbrushes and toothpaste
  6. Deodorant
  7. Sanitary wipes/Baby wipes
  8. First Aid kit
  9. Individually wrapped toilet paper
  10. Roll of quarters

Am I forgetting anything? Hibachi grill?

Shoes and socks!!! If you can not create a blessing bag, no worries. Buy someone shoes instead. Purchase the shoes before you have the receptient in mind. Now, just keep them handy (in your trunk/boot) as you travel around.

Be careful!

How to give:

Don't put yourself in any risky/vulnerable environments just to give someone your blessings bag. Stay safe! Don't give to individuals that are close to your home, work, or parking space. It's not charity if it hurts you.

Lets end this little story.

Eventually, I make it home but only after I take care of an old friend's older friend... Lily.

She looks nice, but she will bite the fvck out of your thumb if you're trying to help her release a pillow dangling from her pinky nail. No, I'm not the only person she has bit into. That was long ago and we all survived.

If I wasn't allowed to go outside, I would bite people too.

Anyway, Lily is much older now and slowly crashes into walls. She struggles coordinating a treat at her feet. We are all much gentler with her now. She probably knows me best as the beast that appears when everyone is gone, smells weird, lays on the ground to give her attention, raids the refrigerator, gives her more attention, raids the refrigerator, double checks food and water and then leaves.

We all call it housesitting.


NEXT:

Some kinda post featuring some kinda new train music video I'm currently working on. It's just to get a few laughs out of @iamstan and friends.

😆

Teaser!

Thanks again for your support. I hope this series is worth continuing. I hope it helps someone out there navigate the Los Angeles Fashion Distric. Feel free to ask me something specific. If I don't know the answer I can find out.

Click here to see the 1st panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 2nd panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 3rd panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 4th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 5th panorama in this series. Click here to see a second from the same day.

Click here to see the 6th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 7th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 8th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 9th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 10th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 11th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 12th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 13th panorama in this series. Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3

Click here to see the 14th panorama in this series. (First of 2018).

Click here to see the 15th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 16th panorama in this series. Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3

Click here to see the 17th panorama in this series.

Click here to see the 18th panoramic in this series.
Spam rant:

I try to help serve our Steem neighborhood. Many others also serve the community far beyond my capacity. I am grateful. I try to support them.

Spam fighters look like me, @steemflagrewards and YOU!

- @steemseph

Please keep your guard up and quickly look over a user's replies before you upvote. Do you see comments from other friendly neighborhood spam fighters like, @steemflagrewards, @cheetah, @spaminator, or @steemcleaners? If you do , that's a warning signal to seriously reconsider up-voting the user's content. Maybe you should flag that spammer too.

I wish bidbots were required to look for multiple comments from those spam fighters that I just mentioned.

Please avoid upvoting abusive content. Think about the long term. Teach each other the healthy ways to experience the Steem platforms.


Where are you from?

<center>Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord</center>


This was posted with esteem first! It may also appear on Wordpress, but rest assured the links come right back to us here at Steem. This is a simple strategy to expose Steem to new bloggers. Wordpress is kinda wacky on my mobile device. It's gotten better since I started complaining (#veryloudly) on Twitter though.

Free Music:

https://bandcamp.com/tetrahedrosephjosephperry

Sort:  

Wow epic post. I think you could have milked that into 20 posts and not added one word.

Remember the homeless are the only ones truly free. They can go where ever they want, are not bound because of their possessions, and never have to worry about life or food.
Its like the animals we domesticate they really don't need us. We just think they do.
How many wild animals that are not domesticated do you think need us to do something for them? NOT one! They are all taken care of with out worry or government to tell them how to take care of themselves.

Sad state mankind has itself in.
Very sad and foolish that anyone thinks they are smart. Only the free are smart.

Wow epic, thank you very much. Actually, I’ve split my posts into 3 parts in the past... even had a part 4 of 3 once or twice before. I guess I have an abundance of material. That’s a good problem... unless I’m overwhelmed and simaltaniosly determined to increase my artistic output overall. Anyway, in my experience, when I create a trilogy I usually kinda create all three at the same time... or maybe two at a time, and either way, that’s more output (a new goal). Not all art should be rushed, but there is artistry in finding efficiency too, right?

I’ve seen three or four homeless guys chillin’ out on top of a dirt hill above the freeway with a beautiful view. The location would not be accessible to most people I know. I wondered if a wealthy person would be envious. Too dangerous unless you look like you fit in. Ghetto privilege? I can’t play drum set until 10pm when I live in an upper income neighborhood. On the other hand, those homeless dudes don’t get the chance to play bass in a steel drum band and help raise one measly cat in the image of freedom very similar to the one you mentioned.

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Was that guy just doing his business on the road? Probably not a sanitary thing.

Yup, in the gutter area next to the curb. I'm happy he has toilet paper.
No, not sanitary in a highly dense area. I can imagine his struggle to find a "correct" location though. The gutter next to the curb is possible the politest place to do it and we should always be watching where we step in the city too.

Hey there, fellow Angeleno! Nice to meet you! "slowly crashing into walls" is a very elegant phrase. Sweet kitty. What's this new job of yours (not that I know what your old one was)?

So.. you coming to my bday party?

https://steemit.com/socalsteemit/@socalsteemit/the-socal-spotlight-week-23

Hi neighbor! Thanks for reading. Yeah, poor lily, I gave her a visit again the other day.
Happy birthday, I’ll check your link.

Not just not NSFW... Not Safe For Humanity. This is the kind of "Sh!t" that gave us an outbreak of Hepatitis in San Diego. City government should be providing Portos at the very least...

Lol, NSFH, was that out break recently? Finding a place to use the toilet is not easy in this city. Lots of reasons why, but simply not enough places to relieve yourself. It’s illegal outside, bathrooms are coin op, or locked to those who look dirty, methheads like too... I agree, many more port-a-potty facilities are needed, and since people need jobs, it seems like supply and demand have been met.
Parking dynamics also make toilet dynamics difficult. $$

ahh that commute...i used to drive from long beach to hollywood. unemployment sucks but at least I dont have to drive through rush hour. and thanks for the ramen recommendation! i've heard of dtla ramen before, just never got around to going. will probably lyft over, looking at those parking prices...

@corinneiskorean lol, you remember it... I sorry. Long Beach to Hollywood is a long commute. I once made the commute from Burbank to Long Beach. I don’t think I can do that again. Commuting can be fun if your car is really nice, you’re music is nice, and if it’s the only chance to one gets to be alone. Being sleepy while driving home from work is the worst part, frustrating.
Getting dropped off over there if you’re closer than Long Beach is probably a great idea. You won’t have to worry about parking or walking to parking. Sounds like a great idea. Have fun!

I loved it @steemseph This series for me is always like diving in South Californian LA atmosphere. That driving into the city gif made me feel I am also moving in your AWD vehicle, by the way what is AWD?? ))
New panoramas are really cool, and those parking lots are terribly expensive. How do you guys bare $20 for parking. Are those who made such prices absolutely out of their mind? Is this amount of homeless people somehow connected to the parking lots prices? Have they used to park in center for a long time, so that is how they came to the point of naked ass boulevard itching. I guess so.
I also liked that you are volunteering by house-sitting Lily. She looks sad on that picture. Maybe you should ask your friend to give her a chance to walk a bit outside?? At least on the balcony for the beginning.
And the last question? why don't you upload your sound to the Dsound, I would love to vote for your music (and I am pretty sure other your friends also do).

With Music and Love,
Always your Friend,
Ivan

Lol, ironically I wasn’t in that car. It has a crack on the windshield. AWD is All Wheel Drive. I believe that’s a fancy way to say is “dual limited slip differential”? Similar to that mural motorcycle you were looking at except the second wheel in the pair only activates when the drive wheel is losing traction. Like intermittent 4x4. Maybe @dawg-boy can clarify. 😬

Hard to say how that guy got there. Parking lot prices seems like a good guess. 20 for parking makes me itchy too. Loling at your comment, “naked ass boulevard itching.”
She might be sad. Possibly geriatric depression (I just made that up). She can’t go outside. She gets jumped and wounded every time. It’s too late for her now and those “outside” instincts and practices are long gone now. She is really old. I open the balcony for her, yes. It’s safe for her there. I haven’t seen her in a week or two. I’m afraid to check on her. Sounds creepy to say this, but I think Death wants a new friend. I just want Lilly to be cozy somewhere, somehow.
Your last question is a great question that resonates louder now that you have asked! Thanks. I struggle with DSound, but I’m ready to try again and dredge it up to the top of my priority list. Thanks for asking and let’s see what I can do...

Thanks for your comments and questions Ivan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63