I travel the world #243 : Japanese New Year's Mochitsuki

in #food7 years ago

Japanese New Year's Mochitsuki

I wrote about Japanese New Year and my visit to Hozomon here, but I found some pictures I forgot to post. In Japan it is common to eat fresh rice cake for New Year. In Japan it is tradition to make fresh Mochi (Rice pounded into paste) and to eat it with different flavors. 

Mochitsuki

Mochi with Kinako, Sweat Sauce and Redbeans

There are various forms of Mochi

If you are interested in Mochi (which is super delicous) you might want to check out this website. I love mochi, I could eat mochi the whole day. But beware if you are older than 70, every year dozen of old people die because mochi is very sticky and they eat it to fast on new year and they choke to death. Mochi can be eaten sweat or with soup, it can be baked or eaten with ice etc. 

Did you knew Mochi before this post ???

 I am blogging about the following topics :

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life  

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@knozaki2015 I love mochi specially chocolates and blueberries!

i prefere the ones with strawberry and icecram in it

@knozaki2015 mochi with icecream filling?
I haven't had any of those !
OMGosh it must be super yum!

i will make a post for you ;)

@knozaki2015 yes please!
if only posts and pics have tastes darn!

yeah. fresh mochi is really the best

never tried anything like that, looks like a dumpling!

it is a very soft and sticky thing. if its made fresh it is delcious. there are various forms you might be abe to buy some in a asian supermarket.

I like this sticky chewy stuff.

in japan I have found so many different ones..

No. I haven't known mochi before this post.

you should try it. it is just one more great thing from japan

me too. it just has soo many calories ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28