STREET ART IN MONTREAL 21

in #art5 years ago (edited)

PE_20190705_235017.jpg

Summer in Montreal is such a wonderful thing to experience! The streets of this city are filled with art. Wherever you go, you have the chance to see some amazing artworks.

PE_20190705_235214.jpg

The walls of the Montreal have seen many artists working alone or joining others to create new delightful murals. What I covered in the past twenty posts does not even scratch the surface of the iceberg!

PE_20190705_235412.jpg

Whenever I stumble upon a new mural, I am asking myself the same questions:

Why the artist chose a mural over a canvas? Isn't he bothered by the fact that it might get destroyed or vandalized? Doesn't he care about the outcome of his creation? What drives him to spend time and money (on the art supplies) just to see his masterpiece up on the wall for a short period of time only?

PE_20190705_235932.jpg

Murals have a short lifespan. Especially those painted on the legal walls. Sometimes they don't last more than 48 hours, as other hands more or less skilled will claim the wall as their canvas.

PE_20190705_235258.jpg

Which one of the above murals you loved the most?


Here are other street art related posts:

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 20

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 18

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 17

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 16

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 15

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 14

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 13

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 12

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 11

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 10

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 9

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 8

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 7

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 6

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 5

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 4

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 3

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 2

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 1

STREET ART IN OTTAWA

STREET ART IN BULGARIA

STREET ART IN PANAMA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I'm not sure that I could pick a favorite I mean every street artist has their own story and why they painted what they painted.

If you had to force my hand I would have to say that the third one really Charmed the socks off me. There's just something erotic and unusual about it. The fourth one brings me to a happy place so I really like that one for that aspect of it. I do like when they integrate the theme into Community as opposed to just putting up a piece of their work.

Thank you for showing off Montreal and the many aspects of their art in the streets. I have to admit that I do pay more attention to street art than I used to, but long ago and far away the only thing you could look forward to was graffiti. We've come a long way baby!

Such cool art!!

!tip

The third one was is my favourite too! I was so close to pass by without noticing it, as it is on a side wall. I stopped to tie my son's shoes laces and he is the one who saw it first. Funny thing is that we were just talking about gods and demi gods when we found this mural. Perfect timing!

I like the very first one @lymepoet. I think it's a great idea telling a story with wall murals!

The black and white murals always more striking :0)

I really marvel at the way the artists can visualise and draw on a wall and some just with a spray can. I like the one with the oriental lady!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is located at the entrance in Chinatown and it does make you feel like you are entering into another realm. ;0)

Hi @lymepoet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.087 which ranks you at #3200 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 3195).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 147 contributions, your post is ranked at #112.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

🎁 Hi @lymepoet! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Anyone Can Be Pretty In Pink Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59