STREET ART IN MONTREAL 7

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The Street art in Montreal series continues and brings you some beautiful urban artworks!

Why do I love taking photos of these artworks?

Because street art is creative, diverse and unrestrictive.

It allows the artist to express himself in different ways.

He can use stencils, tags or he can create a mind-blowing mural.

This type of urban art is the expression of a multitude of cultures and styles.

Some of the artists take credit for their artworks while others choose to keep their anonymity.

Most of the artworks I have seen around the city don't have the artist's tag.

Street art is no different than fine arts when it comes to take a stand, deliver a message or protest against something.

The beauty of it is that anyone has a fair chance at it, meaning that you don't need to be famous or have hundreds of followers on social media to have your artwork seen by thousands of people.

Street art makes our lives more colourful, more beautiful.

The interaction with the public space showcases the creativity of the artist and proves that street art means more than just painting walls.

Which one of these artworks you liked the most?

Here are other street art related posts:

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 6

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 5

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 4

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 3

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 2

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 1

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

So realistic art! 💕

That cat looked as if it was about to jump on me ;0)))

Unknown artist who deserves more credit. Street art speaks a lot about culture, generation and sometimes political. It is saddening here in our country most of the beautiful works are painted over and not appreciated. They did once a tribute to a local comedian to died in an accident and they just painted it away.

Yes, you are absolutely right! In here it's not illegal if the owner of the building agrees to it. There are also four locations within my city where artists are allowed to paint. Each week there are new artworks on the walls of these four locations.

Wow that is amazing would be amazing to capture how they work. Wish we had a place like this here.

that's pretty dope, Super Mario is so well done ^^

Everyone seems to love Mario the most. ;0)

I love how you are always scouting out for fantabulous street art murals @lymepoet :) it has been a while since I last visited your posts and today, the murals that you have highlighted took me away again. Love the Mario one especially, it is so good. You are doing such a great job, sharing them with us on Steemit. Montreal seems to be a great place with beautiful street arts eh?

Thank you. Montreal thrives when it comes to art and culture. It's one of my favourite cities :0)

Ah very nice. I've been searching my harddrives for months now trying to find the street art photos from montreal - it was a 'fear and loathing in las vegas' mural :)

Is it the one in the Quartier Latin, the mural with a man holding a cigarette in his mouth and big sunglasses?

Oh yeah that's the one. The area was up the hill from the cobble street part of downtown. It really captures the movie - johny depp is the guy with the sunglasses :)

Oh those are all so great!! I could not choose only one favourite!!

I believe you! ;0) Same here!

really do love your street art posts xx

Thank you! ;0) xx

Woow beautiful images
But I always wonder why street artists don't make portraits and sell them instead of putting their efforts on street walls, @lymepoet if you know the reason please tell me! They do great works, skillful

Thank you @lymepoet for sharing

I don't have an answer for you right now. I will do my best to find one and post it in one the next posts of this street art series.

I like looking at street arts, I've always marveled at how the paintings could be so lively and beautiful! It's a totally different feeling from looking at a painting in a frame. Thanks for sharing!

Unlike a painting in a frame, these ones feel more alive because you can touched them and they are much bigger in size than a regular canvas. ;0)

I love street art! Thanks for taking time to find and take photos of these. I love the fat cat and the little guy with gas mask the most :)

In Croatia we have an event every year called Grafiti na Gradele (Street art on barbecue would be the literal translation) where DJ-s and street artist gather at the Student Center in Zagreb and showcase their skills. :)

That must be such a cool event to attend, a mixed up arts event. Wow! More I learn about Croatia, more I want to go visit it sooner. Thank you for telling me about it!

Np, we have a lot of interesting festivals and events focusing on music and arts here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09