STREET ART IN MONTREAL 4

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Montreal is an amazing city that celebrates graffiti art and culture. While you are exploring the city you can notice that it's a hub of graffiti culture.

Every second or third corner you can a find a tags, throw-ups, straight letters or murals adorning a wall.

That shows you how prolific are the artists in here.

Graffiti and street art on the walls are the ephemeral evidence of their creativity, as they can not know how long their artwork will last.

What's the difference between street art and graffiti? People tend to define street art as something that has an aesthetic purpose.

Graffiti on the other hand, is considered a lower form of art (some don't even consider it an art), consisting mainly of tags meant to satisfy the artists' ego and spam the community, in order get his name out there, gain popularity.

The MURAL Festival will reach its 6th edition this year. The international and local artists will showcase their artworks in the city, by creating new murals or redoing old ones.

Each summer Montreal hosts an international graffiti art festival called Under Pressure which is one of the longest longest running graffiti festival in North America.

While I was trying to take a photo of a mural, I noted the reflection of the building behind me in the window. It gave a surreal effect to the table placed inside of the restaurant. It looked as if it was part of a framed painting combining two worlds: the inside of the restaurant and the brick building outside.

Which one of the above murals you liked?

Here are other street art related posts:

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 3

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 2

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 1

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to re steemit or up vote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg
Dreamcatcher.jpg

Sort:  

yes i have a few also very beautiful, they really give the hidden all the corners a palette for the artists to exploit :)

Fantastic 😎

I have seen this one only in photos online. It looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing this video!

These street art is awesome. Thanks for your nice post...

Thanks for stopping by!

You are most welcome....

I love these street art posts, your colors and pictures are always so vibrant. Such an amazing series! <3

Glad you enjoy them. I love colours! It was @soyrosa who inspired me to start doing this series! ;0)

AAAAArrhggg @lymepoet! I don't like that second one. Freaks me. lol.

Any ways, some people have talent! My favorite, the one that for me stands out, is the first.

The first one does stand out. It haunted me since I saw it first ;0)

It is easy to think the head is actually bulged out of the wall! Great skill.

These are lovely and I hope to see them too someday!

Great compilation post of really beautiful street murals! :)

Wonderful artwork. The pocket watch especially appeals to me. 40 years ago much of it would have been lost to the taggers. Next stop, parts 1, 2, and 3.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Thanks for stopping by @catweasel! Glad you liked the photos.

Beautiful art on the street wall ,love it

Montreal is filled with street art. Thanks for stopping by!

I think Montreal is one of the Pop Art's crwdle

The city hosts an incredible number of festival and cultural events throughout the entire year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59