STREET ART IN MONTREAL

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I would like to share some photos of a mural I came across while walking within my city.

image

"Au pied du mur" is one of the longest murals in Montreal.

image

It is 80 meters long and 5 meters high.

image

From what I gathered it is a collective work of ten artists, Collectif au pied du mur.

image

The mural celebrates the cultural diversity of the neighbourhood, showing a wide range of cultural and ethnic groups.

image

The artists started the work on June 1st, 2013.

image

The project was completed on August 30th, the same year.

image

In December 2013, the face of the black woman in the photo above was painted in white, as an act of racist vandalism. Though the person responsible for this was very careful not to damage the rest of the mural.

image

The artists have redone the graffiti in the following days.

image

The tunnel looked so real and it made me wonder if someone was ever tempted to go through without realizing it was a graffiti.

image

image

As you can see in the photos, the mural stretches along the railroad retaining wall.

image

image

The artists who worked on this mural were really talented. I found this mural stunning. High quality artistry, that's what it is!

image

I loved its vibrant colours and the message it sends!

In case you want to have a closer look, you can find it in Pointe Saint-Charles, at the intersection of Knox and Hibernia street.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to resteemit or upvote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

It's great to have that in your city. Thanks for sharing.

The artists have done an incredible job. ;0)

Gorgeous art! It reminds me of this Michael Franti video:

That tunnel looks so real! My imagination would be thrilled to play in that mural. 💖

I did not know this song. Great message! Thank you!

Wow that is long and Love the variety of subjects in the mural

Apparently this is not the longest in the city. It's certainly the longest mural I've stumbled upon while strolling in here. Now I am eager to discover the other ones which are longer.

Wow to think others are bigger

I really like this art, but I must admit I was mislead by the term graffiti. I guess I'm more of a purist and consider graffiti to be a more urban wild style falvored for of art and mostly illegal. Nonetheless, thanks for sharing and keep it up.

Montreal is filled with all sorts of urban art. Some call it graffiti, while other call it mural art. This was just gorgeous!

wow that mural is indeed beautiful and culturally diverse! I like the tunnel and it kinda reminds me an old looney tunes cartoon haha

It is also great how you gave some tidbits about the start and completion as well as some side stories.

Yes. That's exactly what crossed my mind: cartoons. The road runner and the ugly coyote. Lol

Yes! You know I love this :-) Gorgeous murals!

I know. I thought of you when I took the photos ;-)

I loved this! The tunnel was my favorite part but it is all beautiful.

Thanks for stopping by! I loved the tunnel and the black woman's face.

this is really beautiful, it really does show a lot of diversity, thanks so much for sharing it with us all. the first 3 really seem to tell the history quiet well.

You are right, the first three images tell a lot of stories.

WOW! I Love All of these Murials, What a way to bring beauty to a community. Thank You for sharing @lymepoet. TribeLove

I thought it was a brilliant idea to have the wall transformed into a mural. It looks fabulous no matter the season. A splash of colour that brightens every heart.

Hola, love the art, like he girl hugging the world so fun and lovely hehe. Thanks for sharing, hehe. You are awesome. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Thank you for the read and comment, Joey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52