STREET ART IN MONTREAL 18

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, while I was driving on my way back home I spotted a gorgeous mural from across the street.

d.jpg
Given my love for street artworks, I had to stop and take some photos of it because it was so beautiful.

It wasn't one of the best moment to walk outside because it was very cold and it was raining. As for me, I was not dressed warm enough since I was coming from a party.

When I got closer to it, I had the surprised to see that it was much more than a mural.

This beautiful artwork continued all around the building. It stretched on all of the building's sides, adorning its walls.

Since I have never seen such a big tapistery, I could not take only one photo and leave.

Thus I decided to ignore the cold rain and walk around the building in order to capture all of them.

It wasn't easy because of the fact I was on high heels, which rarely happens.

A small price to pay for art, I would say. Luckily I was alone in the car and my son wasn't with me, otherwise I would not have been able to share these with you.

As I made it to the front of the building, I saw this place was called Sun Youth. It kind of looked like a community centre.

Later on when I got home, I googled it and discovered that it was a charity and non-profit organization that offers various services to the youth and not only.

They have been offering help to those in need for more than 60 years.

They help low income families during disasters, provide emergency food assistance as well as clothing, medical, financial and material assistance.

The organization's main goals are to alleviate poverty and prevent exclusion.

Prior to stumbling upon the artworks realized on the Sun Youth building, I had never noticed this building, although it is huge and I have passed by at least a few times.

It's strange how we tend to ignore certain things we don't consider interesting enough.

I wondered how many artists have joined their efforts in order to create this artwork? One, two, three? More than three?

I can imagine that it must have taken a bit of time to realize it, given its size.

While looking at the artworks, you can see there is a combination of styles, which made me think there were at least three different artists who worked on it.

I liked them all. I could not chose a favourite!

The cartoonish look, the colours, the themes - I loved them all!

What about you? Which one of the artworks above you liked the most?


Here are other street art related posts:

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 17

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 16

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 15

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 14

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 13

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 12

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 11

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 10

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 9

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 8

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 7

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 6

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 5

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 4

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 3

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 2

STREET ART IN MONTREAL 1

STREET ART IN OTTAWA

STREET ART IN BULGARIA

STREET ART IN PANAMA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Wow, this is beautiful - as always - love all the colors. Long time no see, it makes me happy to know you’re still creating so many lovely posts. <3

Glad to have you back, sweety!

Its okay if this are the arts that you are going to see on the wall streetsI just dont like the vandalism where it points into something bad.

I don't think anyone likes vandalism, unfortunately it does happen.

Cool street art!

Thanks for stopping by!

Wow you are so dedicated!! Cold rain and high heels? I tip my hat to you Mama!! I don’t think I will ever get bored of street photography! You captured some really great ones!! I really like the dog with the tongue out.

Thanks! I was laughing by myself while I was taking the photos as I saw people looking at me in a weird way. They must have thought that I was nuts or something similar to walk through the rain dressed like that. lol

You've really outdone yourself with this one, great that you're documenting all these great pieces before they eventually disappear. Some are really well done, others not so much. That's the beauty of street art though.

I think these ones have been around for a while. Those on the legal walls don't stay up for more than a week, maximum two.

Wow! So many awesome photos. Lovely Graffiti! Very interesting and creative works.

Thanks for this wonderful post!

You're welcome!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for your support!

Cool colorful and fun, love this street art

I am lucky that Montreal has so many artists. I find fresh material for my blog each time I leave the house ;0)

That is so cool to live in an area like that

Everyone says beauty is in the eye of the beholder, some even say that it should be kept locked up in a safe.
In this case, it's great that these artist are willing to share their talent to beautify the city walls.
Vandalism is when the wrong message is being told but if its positive vibes and good morals shared in these murals, we should allow them a place to showcase their talent.
Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos.

These lovely ones are definitely exuding good vibes ;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59