Unproven Chapter Seventy Eight "Tweedles Dumb and Dumber"

in #story6 years ago


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One Chapter Forty Two

Chapter Forty Three Chapter Forty Four Chapter Forty Five

Chapter Forty Six Chapter Forty Seven Chapter Forty Eight

Chapter Forty Nine Chapter Fifty Chapter Fifty One

Chapter Fifty Two Chapter Fifty Three Chapter Fifty Four

Chapter Fifty Five Chapter Fifty Six Chapter Fifty Seven

Chapter Fifty Eight Chapter Fifty Nine Chapter Sixty

Chapter Sixty One Chapter Sixty Two Chapter Sixty Three

Chapter Sixty Four Chapter Sixty Five Chapter Sixty Six

Chapter Sixty Seven Chapter Sixty Eight Chapter Sixty Nine

Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Two

Chapter Seventy Three Chapter Seventy Four Chapter Seventy Five

Chapter Seventy SixChapter Seventy Seven



Chapter Seventy Eight


"Oh my God, did you guys see Mark and Gary today?" Sonya demanded loudly, earning herself a "shhhh" from the librarian. She gave the lady an apologetic look and plopped down in the seat next to Ary and across from Dori.

"No, why?" Andie asked.

"Because it looks like they beat each other to a pulp. I'm serious. Gary's eye is swelled shut and his face is cut and Mark's lip is all busted and he has a bandage across his nose. Plus they're walking like they took some body shots too."

"Huh, well that's some good news on a fine Friday afternoon," Andie declared with a grin.

"Technically it's still morning, it's only eleven," Sonya corrected her.

Andie rolled her eyes, "You get the sentiment."

"So have you heard anything about why?" Ary asked.

"Nooo, but from the look on Dori's face I think she has."

They all turned toward her and she ducked her head, fiddling with the pen in her hand.

"Oh no, you are so going to dish," Andie told her.

Dori bit her lip. "Well...Okay. Grayson accosted me at my car yesterday. To make a long story short, he wanted to make amends. Said that he understood my choice but he still wanted to be friends," she turned to Ary. "He was actually really sweet about it."

"Oh I'm sure he was," Andie said sarcastically.

Ary gave her a look, "Don't start. If she wants to keep her friendship with Grayson she's entitled to. They've known each other a long time."

Andie opened her mouth to say something else, then shut it with a frown. "Fine. Go on," she prompted Dori.

"I'm pretty sure Gary and Mark didn't do that to each other." She looked at Ary again, "I played him the recording of them being dicks to you before Christmas break."

Andie pushed her chair back abruptly, "What are you doing Dori?" She demanded, "I thought you were done helping him with his sick games!"

A look of hurt flashed across Dori's face. "I am done with that, and he knows it. I'm sure that's not his intention."

"Oh you are, are you?" Andie asked, her voice hostile. "Because defending Ary's honor sure sounds like he's up to something."

"Actually," Ary jumped in before Dori could respond, "it probably doesn't have anything to do with my honor."

"Of course it doesn't..." Andie started.

"No, I mean it's his own honor he was likely concerned about, because I was with him at the time and they had no way of knowing we wouldn't be together when he got back. Meaning, essentially they were attacking him."

Andie tilted her head to the side, considering.

"That actually makes sense," Sonya offered.

Dori said nothing, though Ary could tell she was not in agreement with her assessment. She wanted to ask why, but now was not the time, not with Andie ready to jump down her throat.

"That does make sense," Andie said finally. "And honestly I hope that's what it was about, because otherwise it means he's up to his same old shit, mind games incorporated."

The bell rang and the four of them got to their feet. "Well it will still be fun to see those two fuckheads battered and bruised," Andie declared, "though I wish it were all three of them."

No one commented as they filed out of the library.

Later that day Dori grabbed Ary's hand and led her into the bathroom. She shooed out a couple of underclass girls checking their makeup, and when they were gone she looked at Ary with that Sylvester ate Tweety bird expression. "I'm sorry Ary. I probably shouldn't have even told you about it, but I felt guilty for not fessing up to the conversation I'd had with him."

Ary shook her head, "Don't be sorry. And I meant what I said, you have every right to keep his friendship. In fact I'm glad you are, he needs someone in his life he can count on. It's just...He wasn't really defending me right?"

Dori looked away. "I only know that...Shit. He definitely cares about you, despite how it appears."

Ary looked at her expectantly.

"I don't know if telling you these things will be doing more harm than good. I definitely know what Andie would think."

"Yeah, well Andie doesn't think for me."

"Okay. It has something to do with his dad. Actually, I asked him why he hurt you like he did if he obviously thought highly enough of you to understand why I would choose you, and he said, 'There are some things I can't have, and she's at the top of the list.' He said it with such bitterness, I guessed it was his father and he then said, ‘Only you and a cute little blonde would know that.’”

Ary nodded slowly, her chest tightening, and suddenly the tears were flowing. She clapped her hands over her eyes and bent forward under the force of it. Dori rushed over, wrapping her arms around her. "I know," she murmured, "I know, it sucks so bad."

The door to the bathroom started opening and Dori kept one arm around Ary then turned to the intruders, pointing her finger, "Out," she commanded, "go find another one."

Ary was oblivious of everything except for the gut-wrenching pain in her soul. It was as bad as it had been the day she'd read his letter. Maybe even worse. To learn it wasn't his choice, especially when she'd actually thought it was? Heart crushing.

"I told him he was getting a little old to still do everything daddy tells him, and he said it would be years before he was too old, that his father's power and money would ensure that," Dori said quietly, hugging her tighter.

Ary tried to get a grip, squeezing her eyes tighter and pressing on them hard. It took a full minute before she could pull her hands away and she placed them on Dori's shoulders. "I need a box of tissues," she said shakily, offering a small smile.

Dori compromised, grabbing a handful of paper towels and Ary went to the sink and splashed water on her face repeatedly before taking them. She turned to her friend. "Thanks for telling me. I know it appears you caused more harm, but that's not true. No matter how badly it hurts, it helps to know he's not unaffected."

Dori nodded, "Yeah, I thought it might. Do you want to brave the lounge or go back to the library?"

"Library," Ary said automatically. If she saw him right now she might burst into tears in front of everyone. Dori gave her arm a squeeze and they headed out.


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

This is getting complicated and a bit annoying even though I can relate.
Why can't we just get over people as easily as pulling off a cloak?

sigh

well it is getting interesting, you know I m glad I am not young and dating ha ha xx

A great Series love to read it

"Oh my God, did you guys see Mark and Gary today?"

For a second there, I thought this was something else completely!

I do fully believe that Dori is good. This chapter only reassures me that she's a great replacement for Amanda. I'll admit, I didn't believe she would be this awesome at first, but I have quickly warmed up to her. Ary's lucky to have her on her side.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52