Unproven Chapter Forty Two "Once More in the Name of Love"

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One


Chapter Forty Two


Ary’s eyes shifted. It wasn’t often she saw that kind of earnest expression on her friend’s face and she couldn’t reassure her because she knew there wasn’t a chance in hell that she would ever be able to ignore Grayson Teller. Her silence spoke for her.

“Damn it Ary! Haven’t you had enough? Do you really want to go through it again? Do you remember lying in bed and crying for days?” She demanded.

“Yes,” Ary hissed, “of course I remember. And what was the reason for that? Oh yeah, I know, it was because he hurt me. And how did he have the power to hurt me? Because I love him Andie. I love him. And while I know that on a conscious level he thinks he’s just playing a game, I also know deep down he feels something for me, and that’s why he can’t just let it go.”

Andie made a frustrated sound and dropped on the bed beside her, reaching out and cupping her face with both hands. “Even if there was any truth to that, even if somewhere deep inside he actually had the ability to feel something; the chances that he’ll admit it to himself are slim to fucking none. At least right now. Maybe years from now when he’s older and wiser and has had time to reflect, but you need to face the fact that he’s not going to wake to it anytime soon. He intends to continue the game for one reason, and that’s because like you said, he didn’t win. Or maybe it’s even worse than that, maybe his father is behind it. You told me that you think his dad has something to do with it, well perhaps his dear old man did not find the ending acceptable. It’s sick Ary. Grayson is sick, and if his father truly is behind it then it’s not just a bout of the flu, it’s a full on terminal disease. And you can’t fix him, you can’t heal him, no matter how much you want to. I’m sorry Aryanne, but you’re just not strong enough.” Andie released her face, willing her to understand.

Ary nodded and spoke softly. “You’re right. I don’t have the power, I’m not strong enough. But maybe love is.”

She heard Andie’s swift intake of breath and held a hand up to stop her next tirade. “And there’s a good chance I’m wrong, I accept that. In fact one thing you said rang true; that he might not be able to see it now. So what if… What if I consider this sowing seeds for his future?” She looked up and winced at Andie’s expression, a mixture of anger and disgust.

“I have no fucking clue why you would even consider sacrificing yourself like that. But I can see I’m not going to be able to stop you. I hope you’re not expecting me to nurse you back to emotional health again-”

“Of course I am,” she interrupted. “I’m counting on you to be there for me, because that’s what friends do, they support each other even when they don’t agree with their choices, even when they are very vocal about how much they don’t agree. They don’t say I told you so they say I love you anyway.”

Andie thought it over before smiling ruefully. “Yeah, yeah. So what exactly is your plan?”

“No plan, I’m just gonna play it by ear, or feel rather.”

Andie made a face. “At least tell me that the sex is so fantastic it makes it worth it, tell me you’re getting something out of this.”

Ary grinned, “Absolutely what you just said.” She waggled her eyebrows and Andie smirked before smacking her with a pillow.




**

The next morning Ary stood in front of her mirror and smiled in satisfaction. She was wearing a light-blue shirt that tied up around her neck and a short white skirt that emphasized her tan legs and made her butt look good. She went to her closet and put on a pair of short white boots then spent fifteen minutes in the bathroom working on her hair and makeup.

When she was finished she leaned into the mirror with a winning smile. “Aryanne Gilson, you look sexy,” she told her reflection. And she did, though in a schoolgirl kind of way.

A few minutes later she heard Andie’s beep and she was out the door and in the car before her grandma could stop her with breakfast.

“Wowww, you look hot,” Andie stated as she climbed in the car.

“Yeah you do,” Sonya agreed. “So I guess you want Grayson panting by the time he comes for you huh?”

Ary frowned at Andie.

“What? You knew I was going to tell her.”

She gave it up and grinned, “Yeah, I knew. Anyway, I know that I said I was going to play it by ear, but I've decided I’m going to be the one to initiate it. I don’t feel like waiting for him, patience is not my forte.”

"And how do you plan to do that?”

“You’ll see.”

“Oh come on, you can’t make a statement like that then leave us hanging!” Andie exclaimed.

“Well the plan isn’t fully formed yet,” Ary said defensively.

“But you must have some idea…”

Andie and Sonya badgered her all the way to the school but she kept deflecting. She did have some idea of what she was going to do, but knew it would sound foolish if she vocalized it and did not want Andie to point out the flaws which she was bound to do.

“Well speak of the devil,” Andie stated as they climbed out of the Honda.

Grayson was leaning against the back of his car surrounded by his usual group about twenty feet away. Show time, Ary thought then steeled herself and walked toward them.

Gary whistled as she approached, “Hey doll, have you decided to take me up on my offer?”

Ary ignored him along with the rude looks Brooke and Lisa were giving her, and stopped directly in front of Grayson. He raised a brow.

“Do you have a minute?” She asked, keeping her expression neutral but steady.

He regarded her in silence for a moment.

“I don’t-” Brooke started.

Aryanne cut her off with a scathing look. “No, I don’t. I don’t care about anything you’re petty mind thinks or any words that might come out of your snide mouth, so save it.” She turned back to Grayson and raised a brow.

“Well?”

He pushed off the car and she started walking toward the tennis courts. He walked beside her in silence and she waited until they were far enough from potential eavesdroppers before asking, “So what made you come with me? I figured after our last conversation you would have found it more fun to belittle me.”

He lifted a shoulder, “Curiosity.”

“Ah. Well, allow me to satisfy that. I want to have sex.”

He gave her a startled look and his lips twitched. “What, here?” He glanced down at the court and back at her.

She laughed, “I’m not quite that bold. I was thinking more like my bedroom, ten o’clock tonight.”

He blinked at her, then his eyes narrowed. “What are you playing at Ary?”

“Playing at? I thought I was being enormously straightforward, in fact I don’t think I could have been any less subtle.”

“Bullshit. There’s gotta be a catch. I climb through your window, you scream, your grandma comes running in, beats me with her purse and calls the cops,” He trailed off as Ary erupted into giggles.

“First of all,” she stated, still giggling, “my grandma doesn’t carry a purse, she carries a handbag, though you’re right to fear being walloped by that monstrous thing. Second of all, that’s the cheesiest revenge plan I’ve ever heard.”

He folded his arms across his chest, the motion causing his forearms to bulge and his shirt to stretch tightly over his muscled chest. Ary’s giggles died in her throat and she allowed the naked purity of her desire to show on her face as she gazed up into his. She watched as he inhaled sharply, concentrating on his beautiful lips before letting her eyes travel up to take in his perfect nose and sculpted cheekbones, finally focusing on his striking blue eyes.

“What makes you think I still want you?” he asked, unable to disguise the slight tremor in his voice.

She inwardly smiled at that small betrayal. “Because you made a point of how great the sex was.”

He shook his head slightly, his brows drawing together,

“But why would you want me, why not someone else?”

She lifted a shoulder briefly, “I have no way of knowing if the sex will be any good with someone else and frankly I haven’t come across another guy I’m attracted to. But I really want it Gray, my body is in a constant state of frustration. I’ve accepted that you are an emotionless bastard, you made your point well. But that doesn’t change the fact that you’re obscenely good in bed. So I want you. If you’re not interested, fine, I guess I’ll have to start looking for another partner.”

He stared at her again before licking his bottom lip, his eyes traveling down her body and back up again. The heat in his gaze made her legs tingle. When it rested on her face he inclined his head, “I’ll see you tonight.”

The girls bugged her all day to tell them about the conversation but she wouldn’t say much to Andie's supreme irritation. On their way home Andie’s patience broke. “Why the hell won’t you tell us what was said?” She demanded.

“Because I don’t want to second-guess myself and you’ll make me do that, you can’t help yourself. I promise I will eventually tell you, just not now.”

Andie glared at her. “Fine.”

For the rest of the ride Sonya chattered away in the back seat attempting to alleviate the tension, but Andie's face was set as Ary got out of the car. On impulse she leaned back in and said, “I love you Andie,” then shut the door and went inside.


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

Wow... Sometimes is hard to tell part between love and sex. Love is emotional, sex is like a force attraction. You keep going back to that one person you feel is the best you ever had.
Andie is a good friend and also patient. Grayson thought for a minute about losing her if she decide to look for another partner and quickly "i will be there". Good story, am up for the next chapter

Yes, and it's also hard, particularly for people of a certain age, to distinguish between romantic love and deep, abiding love. Ary though...she does get it, you'll see ;) Thanks for reading, glad you enjoyed it!

There are great lessons here in pacing and how to increase suspense for one's readers.

A game is rarely interesting when there is only one player. When another steps in, watch out!

My bet's on Ary, even though she doesn't know exactly what she is going to do.

And she decides to get in the driving seat!!!

How Ary has decided to start strongly suggests that Grayson - and his father - are going to need some sturdy seatbelts.

Loving your comments, heading to your blog now :)

Thank you, @dreemit. It's very easy to respond to your story as it just draws the reader in.

Ary's playing with fire, isn't she? I have no doubt she'll make it out in one piece, but one has to question if it's all worth it. I guess I'm more of an Andie in terms of pragmatism, but I'm definitely strapped in to see the twists and turns!

It's crazy to think how different my own life would be if I was more like Andie...or even if I was prone to listen to the Andie in my life lol.

I think I identify more with Andie. Well, not with the keeping kissing Gray a secret to my bestfriend thing.. you know what I mean!

This is my favourite chapter so far - It's great to see Ary take charge and hopefully lead him on a merry chase! I'd like to see Grayson beg :D But that's just the bad girl in me lol

Bold move on Ary's part! Love it!

Thank you! Actually, thank you for every comment you've dropped on this story MJ. I'm sorry I haven't been more social, I was going through some things. I had writer's block so severe, it even extended to comments and responses, the tether to my muse was well and truly severed. But something has changed, and I'm on my way back ;)

I totally understand. I am enjoying the story and want you to know that I am reading along!

You are such a romantic! All about the power of love, isn't it?

Hell yes I am! IN THE NAME OF LOVE, ONCE MORE IN THE NAME OF LOVE!
Damn glad to see you again! xxxooo

Me too! I am back! Slowly!

good night interesting reading, very good in itself, a greeting from venezuela I hope you continue posting things like that and I hope you take into account my humble comment

good combination of explaining and writing sir.
loved the way you explained and brought it infront of us.
have a great day ahead sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46