Unproven Chapter Twenty Three "Moving the Pieces"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter ElevenChapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

**Chapter Twenty Two


Chapter Twenty Three


Ary sat cross-legged on Andie’s bed pasting pictures in the scrapbook they’d started in the seventh grade. It was a monstrosity of a thing now, so thick that even with the largest binder they couldn’t quite shut it.

“Methinks it might be time to start a new one,” Ary laughed as she attempted to fold it over.

Methinks that we should probably take about half, put it in a new one, then start a new one,” Andie grinned.

“So are we going to Grayson’s again tonight?” Amanda asked hopefully.

Ary smiled as she nodded. A couple of days earlier Grayson had hosted a party at his house and she’d invited the girls. He’d been amazing, treating them as if they were important, making sure his friends did the same. He’d spent quality time with each of them-well except Andie since her friend still held back with him-and by the end of the night Sonya and Amanda thought he was the greatest thing to ever walk the earth, especially Amanda. Mark had been there of course, and Grayson had made a point of making him feel like an enormous asshole for the way he’d treated ‘this beautiful and intelligent girl’. That alone was enough to win her loyalty for life.

She glanced at Andie with a slight frown. At least her friend had softened some despite her lingering doubts.

She’d even admitted that the way he treated Ary was impressive-sweet and attentive as if she was the most important thing in his world.

God he was incredible, Ary thought, everything she’d hoped for and more.



**

“Hey beauty,” Grayson leaned down and brushed a kiss across Amanda’s cheek.

She beamed up at him. “Hey handsome. So, I hear you’re taking Ary to Hawaii for a week.”

He grinned, “Sure am. Think she likes the idea?”

Amanda snorted, “Are you kidding? She’s been gushing about it for four days straight.”

Sonya walked up to them smiling devilishly. “Grayson, can I talk to you? Privately?”

He raised a brow casting a questioning look at Amanda who shrugged.

He mimicked the gesture. “Sure girlie, come on.” He led her into his room and shut the door.

“Okay, so I know you’re really close to Gary, and I was wondering if you could set us up?” Sonya gave him a pleading look.

His lip quirked, “You mean hook you up with a date?”

“Well yeah, that would be fun, but let him know that I’m up for things too if you know what I mean.” She waggled her eyebrows.

He smirked, “I’m pretty sure John Gere already let everyone know that. So what happened with him anyway?”

She made a face, “He’s always sweaty, it’s kind of gross.”

He coughed a laugh, “Yeah, I can see how that would be gross- Hey what was that about you running into that actor, something about taking a limo ride through McDonald’s?”

She gave him a solemn look and nodded, “It was amazing.”

“I bet.” He smiled at the opportunity she'd just presented, unwittingly providing him with the stage he needed for the first phase of his game plan. His smile broadened. “Okay, so I’ll hook you up if you want, but I think you could probably get the ball rolling yourself. Just strike up a conversation about his grand plans for the future, there’s nothing he likes better than talking about his scheme to rule the world.”

She nodded, “Okay, thanks!”

He went to the door and opened it, letting her walk out before him, watching her make a beeline for the game room. He kept his expression carefully blank, making sure Amanda could see it, then let a shadow of disgust run across his face briefly while he waited for his new “friend” to approach him.

“Um, what was that about?” Amanda asked.

He gave her a strange look before forcing a smile. “Nothing, uh, she wanted to know if I had influence with any upper-class salons. I told her Gary was a better bet.”

Amanda frowned. “Oh. Yeah she wants to be a stylist…But why did she need to talk to you privately about it?”

He shook his head and looked away, “I guess uh, she- Hey Ary’s back.” He gave Amanda a quick smile and strode to his girl, lifting her in his arms and kissing her deeply.
Ary giggled, “What was that for?”

“I missed you.”

She laughed, “I was only gone for an hour.”

“It felt longer.” He kissed her again. “I can’t wait for Friday, just you, me and the beach for seven whole days.”

“Mmm, me either.”

Amanda walked up next to them, still frowning in contemplation. Grayson gave her an odd look over Ary's head and shook his own very slightly before smiling. “Come on girls, let’s go mix some cocktails and turn up the music.” He set Ary down and looped his arms through theirs, guiding them into the game room.

He and Amanda glanced Sonya’s way as they entered. She was huddled in the corner with Gary, leaning in with exaggerated interest while the guy talked on and on. She kept touching his knee and Grayson narrowed his eyes briefly for Amanda's benefit before making his way behind the bar and grabbing the blender. “What do you think, Pina Colodas?”

“Oh yeah,” Ary said enthusiastically. Amanda merely nodded, still studying him and glancing over at Sonya repeatedly.



**

A few hours later Ary flopped down on the big leather couch in Grayson’s personal den. “Whew, I think I’ve had enough to drink!”

Amanda was standing next to her and nodded in commiseration, “Yeah me too. I’m gonna pee, be back in a sec.”

Amanda made her way to the game room. The only people left inside were Grayson and “muscle man” Adrian Sanford, seated at the corner table.

“Hey,” she said as she walked up to the table.

“Hey beauty,” Grayson smiled at her, “done drinking?”

She nodded slightly, “Can I talk to you for a second?”

He gave her an inscrutable look and led her across the room to the bar. “What’s up?”

“What did Sonya really say?”

He frowned and shook his head, “She left with Winters.”

“Yeah I saw that, but what did she say to you?”

He sighed. “Look, I know you’re smart and I had a feeling you didn’t buy my story, but for now can I ask you to drop it? I think it’s better for all involved. And please don’t say anything to Ary, I don’t want her worrying. I can trust you right?”

“Of course.”

“Good. If I feel something more needs to be said, I’ll come to you first, okay?”

She nodded, and he smiled.

“You know you’re a great girl Amanda, Ary’s lucky to have a friend like you.”

She beamed at him and he squeezed her shoulder affectionately before making his way back to Adrian.


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls: @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care


Sort:  

Interesting.... you are excellent at building tension in a subtle way! Both looking forward and dreading how this plan will continue to unfold.

It's always great to hear what you hope comes across in fact does, thanks!!

It did feel longer! Man, Grayson's looking more like Dexter (from that TV show Dexter) more and more with every chapter. I remember being like that when I was studying the ways of extroverts. I'm sure I never used it to get women, but I did use it to manipulate certain events. It was exhilarating!

When did Grayson get all chummy with Ary's friends? Was it in the space between the first and the second blocks? I like how he's playing everything like a big chess game (how very apt of the cover!), and I can't help but snicker whenever I see shades of my past self there. Me, I was just in it for the science. I wanted to study how people interacted, that's why I manipulated certain events. Grayson seems more nefarious and cunning. It would be interesting to see how he reacts when things uninevitably don't go his way. Magnificent chapter, sis!

I know the tv show, I watched the first few seasons a long time ago :)
Actually I explain the chumminess in the beginning of this chapter, I had initially written the party scene that I mention, but it didn't make the final cut.

It's implied well and good, no need to add it right back :D

Loading...

Can't wait to see who outplays who! Betting on Ary over Grayson .... or maybe ... Grayson over his dad!

I've read from the start and I'm really enjoying it - I kinda want him to keep being nice but I can't see that happening...... I wait with baited breath until the next chapter :D

Aw! This comment just made my day!
I have your blog up in my browser, but my voting power is in shambles right now, hopefully it climbs soon so I can start voting more!!

I really like your writing style. I've been having fun writing - I'm not really that creative but I'm giving it a go - maybe I can improve!!

I believe Grayson has begun his plan,this trip to Hawaii seems to be His brainwashing period. I just pray something upsets his plans.
Dear @dreemit ,keep up the good work!

Thanks love!
My voting power is shredded right now, damn, I have posts I need to visit!

Great post my friend..
I like it thanks you fir share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43