Unproven Chapter Seventy Seven "Confrontation"

in #story6 years ago


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One Chapter Forty Two

Chapter Forty Three Chapter Forty Four Chapter Forty Five

Chapter Forty Six Chapter Forty Seven Chapter Forty Eight

Chapter Forty Nine Chapter Fifty Chapter Fifty One

Chapter Fifty Two Chapter Fifty Three Chapter Fifty Four

Chapter Fifty Five Chapter Fifty Six Chapter Fifty Seven

Chapter Fifty Eight Chapter Fifty Nine Chapter Sixty

Chapter Sixty One Chapter Sixty Two Chapter Sixty Three

Chapter Sixty Four Chapter Sixty Five Chapter Sixty Six

Chapter Sixty Seven Chapter Sixty Eight Chapter Sixty Nine

Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Two

Chapter Seventy Three Chapter Seventy Four Chapter Seventy Five



Chapter Seventy Seven


It was fourth period on Thursday of the week following what Ary considered the longest double date of all-time, and she sat at her favorite table in the library struggling with a mixture of emotions.

Tomorrow was the concert. Which meant tomorrow was an actual date, no doubling this time since he only had two tickets. And though he had said he understood that she'd just went through a difficult breakup, it hadn't stopped him from flirting outrageously for the hours following their multiple mimosas as they'd coasted across the water on the gigantic boat.

She had to admit that a part of her had enjoyed it. He was very good-looking, a lot of fun, and his interest in her was flattering. But that was the extent of it. Because as handsome as he was, Grayson had him beat. And as fun as he was, Grayson had him there too. Gray was also more intelligent and more charming. Grayson was just MORE. And she couldn't even begin to balance the scales by saying Grayson was also more manipulative, or more cruel, because she didn't know Tyler well enough to determine that.

It's just a concert, she told herself, no big deal. And if he had further expectations, well she'd just have to let him down gently.

"So I guess you know he's back."

Ary blinked as Andie sat beside her. "Huh?"

"Grayson. I figured that's why you're hiding out in here."

Ary's stomach clenched. "No, actually I didn't know that. I just can't stand sitting at a desk in study hall and I only like the lounge at lunchtime when we’re all there...,” she swallowed hard, “so you saw him?"

Andie made a face, "No, but Sonya did. If you want to eat lunch in here for a couple of days, I'll join you. I'm sure Sonya and Dori will too, and Grant of course."

Ary looked at her in surprise, "You want me to hide?"

"Well not forever, but I thought you might want to avoid any comments that his minions decide to throw your way. I figure by Monday they'll lose interest."

Ary shook her head slowly, "No, it's okay, I can handle it. I have you and Dori to throw comments right back."

"True, and probably the others would too. Grant's friends really like you and none are a fan of Grayson and company."

The bell rang and Ary smiled wanly. "Well there's our signal, time to face the hyenas."



"Well that wasn't so bad," Andie commented as they headed away from the school in her car later that day. "If anything was said, it wasn't loud enough for us to hear."

Ary nodded, feigning agreement. For her it was almost worse that nothing was said, like she mattered so little she didn't even warrant sniping. And the fact that he'd never even once looked her way? She felt like her heart had been ripped out and stomped on repeatedly. No, she definitely wouldn't call it Not So Bad. It was all she could do to keep from falling to pieces. God, did it ever hurt.

"Who cares what those stupid people say anyway," Sonya declared from the back seat, "their opinions don't affect us, we're far too awesome for them."

Ary smiled a little at that. "Damn straight," she replied, but only for her friends’ benefit. She wasn't feeling particularly awesome.

"Besides," Sonya continued, "You have a hot date tomorrow. If Grayson thought he could make you crawl under a rock, he was sadly mistaken. And Tyler is most definitely hotttt."

This time Ary's smile felt more like a grimace.

"What was that look?" Andie asked.

"What look?"

"The one that definitely wasn't a smile, more like you were trying not to hurl."

Ary sighed, "I don't know. It's just too soon for me to be thinking about hot dates with hot guys. I wouldn't even be going if it wasn't Mumford and Sons, which totally sucks because it means I'm using him."

"Nah, he knows where you're at. Sonya called it a date, but you don't have to look at it that way. Just two friends going to watch a band they love."

"Sorry," Sonya chirped behind her, "I thought it would cheer you up, and it sounded like you were into him."

Ary glanced at her in the rear view, then raised a brow at Andie.

She shrugged. "I just told her he was flirting with you pretty hard-core and you seemed to enjoy it, which there is absolutely nothing wrong with, by the way."

Ary sighed again, "Yeah I know. I did have fun. It was flattering. Whatever, it's just a concert."

"Okay then, change of subject...Grant just invited me to his grandparents’ house in Florida for spring break. Apparently, they live thirty minutes from the Keys."

"That's awesome!" Ary exclaimed, genuinely happy for her friend. Grant was a really great guy and they made a cute couple.

Andie smiled, "Yeah, I'm pretty excited."

"You should be!" Sonya told her.

"So what are you two doing for break, or don't you know yet?" Andie asked.

"Actually Nanna's heading to Florida around that time, maybe I'll tag along and we can meet up."

"Ooooh, can I come too?" Sonya asked.

Ary snickered, "I'll see what I can arrange."

"Sweet!"

"Vacationing with the old folks, we are some hard-core party people," Andie joked.

"We should do another wig and yellow pants montage," Ary stated. They cracked up over that one, and this time Ary's smile lingered. It was truly great to have her girls back.




**


Dori had stayed after school to work on her chemistry lab and she couldn't help but smile as she slung her bag over her shoulder and headed to the parking lot. It was the first time in her life that she'd put any effort into schoolwork, and so far it was paying off. She hadn't scored less than a ninety on the tests and quizzes she'd taken since they'd returned from Christmas break. Not that she did horribly before, but she'd always been content as a B student. Ary and company were rubbing off on her, and she had to admit they were a good influence.

Her mind was elsewhere as she wove her way through the cars in the parking lot, so by the time she noticed Grayson lounging against her Hyundai she was almost on top of him. She stopped dead and stared at him, a whisper of dread working its way up her spine. He had never responded to her e-mail and she'd wondered if and when she would have this confrontation. She would've liked to have been prepared.

"Hello Dori," he said casually.

"Grayson."

"You blocked me from your phone."

She lifted her chin slightly, "Yes I did."

"That wasn't very nice."

"Don't be a hypocrite Gray, being nice is not something you have grounds to lecture me on."

He chuckled. "No, I suppose it isn't."

She sighed, "What do you want?"

His expression grew serious. "Actually, what I want is to tell you that you made the right choice. You deserve a true friend and I'm happy for you."

She stared at him momentarily at a loss.

"And before you ask, no there isn't a catch. You've been good to me. I'd even say that until Aryanne you were the only person who ever showed real loyalty. Of course I'd always assumed it was to rack up favors, and maybe that was a part of it. But in hindsight I think there was something genuine in the way you always had my back. So despite this recent falling-out I owe you, and when the time comes all you have to do is ask and I'll pay up. With connections for your career, or funding for some journalistic escapade. Whatever you need."

She opened her mouth to say something, then shut it again, blinking her eyes against a sudden sting.

"I understand your Ary's friend now, but I was kind of hoping you could still be mine as well," he continued. "It would be nice to have one real person in my life."

She swallowed thickly. "I...Why Grayson? Why, if you think so highly of her, did you hurt her like you did?"

He looked away. "Because there are things I can't have, no matter how much I might want them. And she's at the top of the list."

There was a hint of bitterness in his tone and Dori suddenly understood. This was about his father. "I don't mean to be insulting," she said carefully, "but aren't you getting a little old to do everything your daddy tells you?"

He smiled wryly. "See, that's why we're friends, only you and a cute little blonde would know what was behind it." His smile faded. "Unfortunately it will be years before I'm too old for that, at least when it comes to certain things. He holds my future in his hands, and he has the power and money to enforce it."

Dori looked at him sadly. "I'm sorry Grayson, that really sucks. And yes, I will still be your friend. I've always known there was a lot more to you than what you portray on the surface."

He smiled at her, "Thanks. See you do know how to be nice."

She laughed, then something occurred to her. "Hey, there's something you need to hear." She pulled out her phone and scrolled through it until she found the recording she'd made of Gary and Mark's attack on Ary right before the break. She played it for him and took an involuntary step backward at the look of fury that flashed across his face.

He leveled his eyes at her. "I'll take care of it."

She nodded, almost feeling sorry for the two dumb-asses.

"Well I gotta go, I'm glad we had a chance to talk...You'll unblock me from your phone now, right?"

She inclined her head and smiled as he pushed himself off her hood.


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

don't know what to make of him , will he use Dori ?

Telltale Dori. I think she gave in too easily. Grayson still has not made up his mind. He is still having fun being a rich kid. Promising her favors. SMH

Yeah, the telling tales might not have been such a good idea. Might come back to bite her in the arse. But at this stage, I think she's right to stay on speaking terms with Gray. Keep your friends close and your enemies closer - or better still, don't let them become enemies!

Ary deserves to get out there and explore. Even though Tyler might not be the one, it's good to keep her options open. I do hope she doesn't use I Will Wait as a theme song for Grayson though. I really like how Dori has progressed so far. She's a good replacement for Amanda, and she does seem to be that headstrong foil that the group needs. Her story arc has been my favorite of the supporting cast by far.

And just like that, I am all caught up with the BOOMITAU crew's posts woohoo! It was a steep mountain to climb, but I've made it to the summit. That is, until I lose days again and need to do another round of catch up haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00