Unproven Chapter Fifty Three "Monster's Lair"

in #story6 years ago


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One Chapter Forty Two

Chapter Forty Three Chapter Forty Four Chapter Forty Five

Chapter Forty Six Chapter Forty Seven Chapter Forty Eight

Chapter Forty Nine Chapter Fifty Chapter Fifty One Chapter Fifty Two


Chapter Fifty Three


He nodded jerkily and got to his feet, jogging down to the car and pulling the door open, pushing talk before it stopped.

“Hello?”

“Bring her here.”

The line went dead and he moved the phone away from his ear. Ary had heard the command and knew by his frozen posture exactly what he was thinking.

“He’s not going to hurt me,” she stated putting a hand on his shoulder. He turned toward her, his face ashen.

“Trust me. If he was going to- He wouldn’t do it like this, it would be an accident or something that couldn’t be traced to him.” She could barely believe she was saying this let alone begin to absorb what it meant that Grayson was actually thinking it. She absolutely did NOT want to meet his monster of a father. Not one little bit. But she also couldn’t let Grayson face him alone. Because she loved the monster’s beautiful, fucked up son enough to swallow her fear.

He began to shake his head and she knew where that was going. “I’m coming with you. Even if you drop me off at my house, I’ll just borrow Nanna’s car and drive over. I mean it.”

His eyes searched hers and the fearful expression faded, smoothing into resolve. He nodded. “Okay, let’s do this.”

She got into the car and immediately put a hand on his leg, squeezing it reassuringly. She wanted to give him strength and confidence because she knew it was what the situation called for, but was acutely aware that it was little more than an act on her part. Because she had absolutely no clue what she was truly feeling since the whole situation was surreal. She wasn’t afraid, but that was because she hadn’t connected with whatever it was they were up against on an emotional level.

She was relieved when he turned the radio up too loud for them to speak or even think.


**

On the drive home Grayson's mind worked furiously for a solution that would appease his father and keep Aryanne in his life, and by the time they pulled into the driveway a plan had formed. He had told Ary that if they played the game against James there would be times when she would wonder whose team he was actually on-she'd said she could handle it. He hoped she was right.

When they pulled in front of the house he turned the music down and grabbed her hand. "I want you to wait in the foyer while I talk to him." She started to shake her head and he squeezed the hand he held. "I have a plan, you're going to have to trust me."

She nodded and they climbed out of the car. Once inside he directed her to an armchair and strode down the hall, knocking once on his father's door before entering.

"Where's the girl?" His father asked immediately.

Grayson smiled blandly. "Oh she's here, I just thought you and I should have a chat first."

His dad stared him down and Grayson took it without flinching. He had reasserted his wall and felt no fear, in fact he was absolutely calm. For Aryanne he could be the supreme actor his father wanted him to be.

"I've given the situation a great deal of thought over the past few days, and decided that ending the game is a mistake. As you once pointed out, failure in this has the potential to haunt me. I won't deny that I like this girl, but after careful examination I realized you were wrong to assume that it's an illogically based sentiment. You made me question myself, which was necessary, but after studying it from all angles I concluded that her strength of character is worthy of appreciation." He smiled, though it didn't reach his eyes. "But this has nothing to do with some elusive and foolish notion of love. This has only to do with everything you've taught me about understanding the nature of people, and so far hers is a nature that I like. If beneath that lies nothing substantial then I feel it imperative to discover it. In fact I will not be able to rest until I do." He stopped talking and waited for his dad's response, his gaze unwavering.

James studied him closely, but his son appeared unconcerned by the scrutiny. Either he was doing a damn fine acting job or he believed what he was saying. James decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. "If this is true, then what exactly is your game-plan?"

Grayson sat on the couch and stretched his legs out in front of him. "Considering our last conversation, I hadn't planned on jumping back in just yet. I had fully intended to talk with you about it first and elicit your advice in the matter. But circumstances dictated the necessity for me to act now. It would be difficult for me to sell my deep feelings for her if I allowed another guy to move in without reacting. From what I've observed of others over the years, jealousy and possessiveness are two rather large indicators of someone being in love. Had I let it slide, anything I did from here on out would be suspect. I don't find this unfortunate, the very nature of the seemingly spontaneous overreaction on my part lends a great deal of credibility to the act, as well as your perfect timing with that phone call, because of course I told her that the reason I ended it was that you forced me to."

James stared at him hard, finding it difficult to discern if his son spoke the truth. A ghost of a smile flashed across his face. He nodded slowly. "I assume she knows that I asked you to bring her?"

"Of course."

"Well then, let me help things along for you, bring her in."

Grayson nodded, not allowing uncertainty to show on his face. Whatever his father had planned he would play it and play it well. He strode back out and down the hall smiling at Ary when she looked up. "Game on, come and play."

She swallowed, "What do I say?”

"Just be yourself, the game hinges on that."

She nodded and they walked back together. He took her hand as he opened the door, squeezing it reassuringly as he led her to the sofa.


Ary stared at the man behind the desk, her stomach churning. She thought Gray had an aura of confidence and control, but this man was those things personified.

James eyed her, his expression impassive. "So you are the girl that has my otherwise perfect son tangled in knots. I have to say I don't quite see it. Pretty enough I suppose, though nothing spectacular, so it must be something else." He cocked his head to the side slightly and regarded her the way a scientist would a slide under a microscope.

"She's beautiful," Grayson countered with heat, "though that matters very little to me. You're right to assume it's something else. A combination of things really."

Ary looked at him and smiled, gaining courage from the steel in his tone along with his words.

James didn't even look at his son as he spoke, keeping his gaze leveled on Aryanne. "And what things are we talking about?"

Grayson started to respond and James cut him off, his eyes still on the girl. "I was directing the question at her."

Ary felt her face heat and watched the man's expression change from impassive to mild disdain. Her eyes narrowed in response. This was the man who had thoroughly screwed up the boy she fiercely loved.

She raised her chin and spoke clearly, holding his gaze, "I imagine he's referring to attributes such as integrity, loyalty, honesty, compassion and the ability to love without conditions. Not to mention my self-worth which comes from within. No one, not even him, has the ability to destroy it."

James was careful not to show it, but she had managed to surprise him. He'd had no doubt she must possess a certain amount of strength for his son to be so fixated, but he had not anticipated her to seem so sure of herself. Particularly in his intimidating presence. "I see. Well then, far be it for me to interfere with such obvious conviction." He turned toward Grayson. "As I said earlier," he lied easily, "if this is to continue I expect you to excel in all areas of your life. The moment you slip, it's over. Is that understood?"

Grayson smirked, "And as I said earlier you have nothing to worry about. Are we done?"

James nodded once and turned toward the papers on his desk. Just before they slipped through the door he called out, "Oh, one more thing, what would you like me to do about Terasa?"

Gray froze. Bastard. "Send her away," he answered nonchalantly as he shut the door.


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @sirkcork, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

For someone who exudes cool confidence, Grayson is just a ball of mess, isn't he? Ary's carrying on like a champ. It's commendable that Gray's trying to find a loophole, but I guess the best solution for someone so fucked up in the head is to not play the game. He's in way over his head.

Fuck me. I just read this after one Lord Massive Spliff and I saw butterflies going out Grayson's ass while James was salivating.
AUHAUHAHUAHUAHUAHUAHUAH!

I want what you're smoking!

...the ability to love without conditions. Not to mention my self-worth which comes from within. No one, not even him, has the ability to destroy it."

Yes, indeed.

Who wants to bet - not literally, though - that James will see Ary's declaration as a challenge?

Of course James sees it as a challenge. She surprised him and caught him off guard. Each of them sees it as a challenge ... in their own. Game on, indeed!

Ooh......game ON. This only gets better.

Great chapter and i appreciate your unrivaled writing. Your accents also rememberable ''if you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and go be it''.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44