Introducing Unproven- My technically published, stand alone novel

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Just a couple more chapters will be bringing us to the conclusion of the second book in my series Allies of Old (Renewal) and unfortunately the third book is not yet complete. In fact the rough draft is about two thirds of the way done, but even once it is I will want to do at least one re-write before putting it through here. My writing process includes not even looking at a manuscript once it's done for a period of time so that when I do it's with fresh eyes.

In the interim I've decided to put through my one and only stand alone novel. It is also the only book I've technically published. And I'm using 'technically' in a literal way, since it has an ISBN number and a copy is officially in the Library of Congress. However I have not yet pulled the trigger in terms of putting it on Amazon or any other place where one could purchase it, mainly because I'm not entirely satisfied with the formatting/layout. So steemit will be first to see it, afterward I will be pushing it out into the world.

I used a site called Blurb to accomplish it, and sadly I can't recommend it to others, instead I will be seeking the help of friends on steemit for my future publishing ventures, which will include the first novel of my Allies of Old series- Reborn- which I'm slating for late winter, early spring. But that's a discussion for another post.

In this one I will be giving a little background into my novel Unproven-


Cover created by my husband:
unproven.jpeg


Initially this book was an exercise for Harlequin, who was offering first time authors an opportunity to get their foot in the door. It was around the time that Fifty Shades of Grey was a huge deal, so they were specifically looking for that blurred line between romance and erotica, essentially lots of descriptive sex, but also a story.

However, they expected this to be done in 150 to 180 pages. I tried, but I went way over, then cut it down, and down some more, and by the time I got it in the parameters it was way beneath the standards of something I would read myself. Rather than scrapping the entire thing I chose to create a new exercise...make it into a story that I would pick up off the shelf and enjoy, while using it to perfect my skills in writing explicit scenes.

And so Unproven was born.

As you will see from the back of the book blurb below, these two are in their senior year of high school. But this is NOT a young adult book. I realize a lot of people, Americans in particular, are in denial that sex is a big part of the high school experience and therefore some may find it a bit of offensive. I'm not going to apologize, but I am going to say that if it bothers you, don't read it.

However it is a love story and quite frankly it is loosely based on my own (I was the age of the story's heroine, though my husband was a bit older)

unproven2.jpeg
I have added a warning at the bottom of the back cover as you can see above^

Grayson Teller was born into immense wealth and descended from an ancient line of elite. But, with the family's power came a curse, the potential undoing of his line, never to be spoken of.

As part of his training his father sent him as a wolf among the sheep as a student in the public school system. In one year's time he will graduate and the games and testing will be of Grayson's own making, until then he'll follow his father's rules.

Pick someone and reduce their sense of self to ash, have 'fun' with them while he can. It's a game of cat and mouse that he's played masterfully since his freshmen year, so when he chooses the innocent Aryanne as his next victim, he believes she'll be an easy mark.

Will he break her? Or will he find that he's the one in doubt of everything he's been taught to believe?

The story centers around these two, but I am a huge fan of side characters and this book is no different. Though I have to say the target audience for this particular story is women, my brother claims that from a male standpoint my style makes it possible for guys to enjoy as well-- I'm sure a few of my buddies here will be happy to either back up or debunk this claim :)



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls: @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

Firstly, that's a great cover that ole hubster did! Secondly, cool name for the lady ;0)

Finally, I think you are the biz. I love the fact you thought it wasn't good enough when you had chopped it down so decided not to go with it that way.

I suspect you don't need to perfect the erotic writing much right enough lol!!

I will tell him you said so!
Yeah, I refuse to put something out in the world that I'm not proud of. I hate when authors sell out, I've been disappointed with a few of my favorites along the way for doing that. Way back when you were interviewing me for that magazine (whatever happened to that by the way? lol) I told you about a couple of authors I was into- one of the things I love most about those gals are they have Never sold out :)

Actually, this was the book that I used to get good at writing erotic for all of my other books LOL. In fact, Reborn was written before this book, but I re-wrote those parts after :)

Aha, that makes sense now. I cant commend you highly enough. I wouldnt change anything either. You have to be true to yourself.

I remember that, the trails. Well, that is a thing isnt it. I wonder what they dod with all that steempower they amassed? I might go and look!

All of my smut is very smutty, not sure if I ever linked you to any though lol. I shall read your smut. Also more Playgrounds. 😁

You did link me a very sexy lucid dream ;) But you are more than welcome to link me more.

Wow I didn't realize Allies was so close to the end, but I appreciate the warning. I guess if it was a physical book I would have noticed just as sadly that the book was close to the end. Looking forward to reading Unproven, and then of course I'll need a signed copy!

Hahaha, looking forward to your reaction to this one, not...not at all like allies. or the playground. or anything else I'll ever write again LOL

The cover looks incredible great work by your hubby :) and awesome work by you :D

Thank you!!

I'm waiting this moment all the time, I hope to get a book with your signature.

That is probably doable at some point in the future my friend :)

on my wish list....thanks

Highly rEsteemed!
I think of SteemIt as MY actual BOOK

and I REALLY Relate to Grayson Teller...

Imgur

Imgur

You relate to Grayson, hahahaha, that really cracked me up. Thanks man!

Whenever we take the time to read an interesting story that gives you a teaching or something to think about, it always nourishes your spirit and your mind. Thanks for the publication.

Excelent blog,thanks for sharing and once again thanks to surpassinggoogle.

Terry is the man :)

The truth is your write in a peculiar type of way, and its so amazing.

Your title proves this

looks interesting from the first looks interesting :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87