Unproven Chapter Forty Seven "The Dude"

in #story6 years ago (edited)


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One Chapter Forty Two

Chapter Forty Three Chapter Forty Four Chapter Forty Five

Chapter Forty Six


Chapter Forty Six


“You’re thinking about her,” Grayson stated.

They were laying in his bed after a sexual marathon that had begun in his game room. She rolled toward him and bit her lip. “It’s just…She didn’t even look at me. It was like I wasn’t even there.”

He pulled her on top of him and wrapped his arms around her, tucking her head beneath his chin. “That’s what obsession looks like. "It’s a common disease among people without substance. They’re so filled with self-loathing that they need someone else to make them feel worthwhile then they latch onto that someone like a leech. Then when that someone is no longer there they either fall apart or become better at pretending. It appears she’s the former, although it’s possible she’ll pick up the pieces and become the latter. If that happens she’ll be a raging bitch like Brooke.”

Ary sighed. “It’s so sad that I think you’re right.”

He squeezed her and whispered, "I know.”



**

The next morning Ary woke and stretched on her bed, wincing at the soreness in her intimate places. Grayson didn’t bring her home until after eleven and they’d spent the majority of their time in his bed. He’d tried to talk her into staying the night, but since she hadn't had a chance to inform Nanna she wouldn't be home she’d firmly declined. She was glad she had, otherwise his threat from the other night about her not being able to walk might have been fulfilled.

It was Friday and they had to make it through a whole day of school otherwise Grayson’s football coach was going to have a coronary. Grayson was their star quarterback and he’d missed two out four practices this week.

When she climbed into Andie’s car she was greeted by loud music and Sonya turning around briefly to smile and wave. Andie sped away from the curb without so much as a good morning glance in the rear view. Damn. Double damn. She was pissed and there wasn’t a thing Ary could say or do about it short of telling her that she was done with Grayson. Suddenly she was angry. She wasn’t entirely sure why, but the feeling sprung up and grew until she was seething.

“Fuck you Andie, just fuck you!”

She felt the car slow and avoided looking at Sonya who had turned around at her outburst. She was too busy boring holes into the back of Andie’s seat.

The car pulled to the side of the road and she felt it slam into park.

Andie spun and glared at her. “Fuck me?” she asked incredulously. “Seriously?”

Ary glared right back. “Yeah, seriously. You hate him and you hate that I don’t. You’ve made that enormously clear. You think I’m seven shades of stupid for being with him, for giving him a chance at something real. Also enormously clear. What the fuck am I supposed to do with your opinions Andie? Other than breaking it off with him and ignoring him for the rest of my life? Which I know is what you want, and YOU know is something I won’t do. Tell me, how are we going to get over this impasse? Because it’s driving me nuts and I’m sure it’s wearing you out!”

Andie stared at her, the anger draining from her face. “You’re right,” she said finally. “I do hate him. And I do think you’re stupid for not feeling the same, and I do want you to tell him to go to hell. And it is wearing me the fuck out.” She sighed and looked down. “I love you Ary,” she said without looking up. “I really do. And because I do I’ve tried to imagine a scenario where you’re right about him and I’m totally wrong. But it’s bullshit because I’m not wrong. Which means at the end of this thing you’re doing you will be crushed and I HATE that you will be crushed. So the truth is I don’t know what the fuck to do to get over this impasse. I don’t know and I hate that too.”

Ary absorbed her words and said nothing. What could she say? All evidence pointed to Andie being right. And yet she knew, she knew that the normal rules did not apply to her. Unfortunately, every girl Grayson had ever been with had thought the same thing and been dead wrong. But those girls were not her. She felt the car pull away from the curb and sighed, leaning her head against the window.


At lunchtime Sonya met her in front of the lounge. “Andie’s hanging out in the library.”

Ary nodded, unsurprised.

“I’m with you,” Sonya told her. “I’m not saying that I’m taking sides, I just mean that I understand you love him and you’re not going to give him up just because she thinks you should. And while I know he can be a total asshole I also think it’s possible there’s more to him.” She smiled brightly and Ary smiled back, feeling an appreciation for her friend she’d never known. Suddenly she realized she’d been so absorbed in her own love-life she hadn’t thought about anyone else's.

“So what about you?” She asked her as they walked into the lounge.“Any guys in your life?”

Sonya’s face reddened and she ducked her head.

Ary stopped walking. “What’s that about?” she asked. “You can’t possibly think I will give you any grief considering my circumstances.”

Sonya looked up and smiled. “Okay, but you have to promise what you said will be true no matter what.”

Ary thought about what she’d last heard from Amanda about Jake and nodded encouragingly. “Trust me babe, I am behind you a hundred percent.”

Sonya’s smile widened. “Mark,” she said quickly and giggled.

Ary blinked, Mark? She blinked again. “Mark?” she said aloud staring at Sonya incredulously. “You mean The Dude?”

Sonya frowned, “You said you were behind me.”

Ary stared at her, “Yes. Yes I know. I did say that. I am behind you, I am, just…why him?”

Sonya smiled goofily. “He’s funny and I think he’s sexy. And he says that I am too. He especially likes my braids-”

“Wait,” Ary interrupted, “you mean there’s already something going on?”

Sonya nodded, “For a couple of weeks.”

Ary was back to staring. “Wha…wait, Okay, sorry, so what exactly is going on?”

“Well we had sex. Like five times now.”

Ary processed that. “He was your first?”

Sonya nodded. “The first time wasn’t that bad either, and I was worried because of what happened with Amanda. But he was really sweet about it.”

“Well good, that’s good. If you’re happy then I’m happy, but why haven’t I seen you two talk or anything?” Ary cocked her head to the side.

“Because it’s a secret relationship,” Sonya told her, in a tone that clearly said Duh.

Ary was back to staring. “Um, why?”

“Because it’s fun!” Sonya stated with a giggle. “Seriously, there’s nothing sexier than a secret love affair.”

Ary studied her. “Was it his idea or yours?”

Sonya rolled her eyes. “Well he suggested it but I totally agreed.”

Ary found herself at a loss for words. Obviously Sonya saw nothing wrong with what she was saying, and considering her own dysfunctional relationship she really didn’t have a right to judge. But she couldn’t help worrying that Mark was taking advantage of her friend, taking no-strings sex to another level. It added a new dimension of understanding for how Andie felt about her and Grayson. She decided right then that if Sonya was comfortable with it then she was too.

She smiled at Sonya, “Okay, a secret love affair, if you’re into it then I’m happy for you. Keep me updated.”

Sonya beamed at her, “I totally will! I’ll call you tonight and tell you more about it!”

Ary laughed, “Sounds good.”


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

*It's my wedding anniversary so I'm heading out on the town, I'll read the comments when I get back :)

Sort:  

Sonya's just a ball of enthusiasm, isn't she? I mean, I knew she had it in her, but she remained unfazed even after what happened. It's either she's just a ray of sunshine, or she's positively aloof. Either way, I'm glad she had the spotlight for the better part of this chapter.

Belated happy anniversary! Sorry I missed it!

Thanks love! No problem at all, you have the best excuse ever (honeymoon period ;) xxoo

I wish I could use this excuse for everything!!

happy anniversary , I think I am more interested in her mate Sonya now , I hope she is not being used

Happy Anniversary!

Oh Happy Anniversary - I hope you have a wonderful get away!!

Hope you had a good night out on the town! x

Belated happy happy <3 have a blast!

Thank you hon! xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46