Survival, Self Sufficiency, & Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I was a fresh faced wannabe writer with dreams of jet-setting to exotic locales, living on room service brought to me as I typed on my laptop on a tropical beach, and those author royalties being deposited in my bank.

My instructors told me I was a really good writer and should do it professionally. I didn't believe them. I wanted to, I had my fair share of fantasies! But it wasn't my major and frankly, I found great fault with my work and was never satisfied enough to submit as I feared embarrassment. I read a lot and there is no way I am anywhere near the quality of any of the greats that adorn the bestseller shelves!

But a few years ago something clicked and I decided to try. I mean, why would they have told me this if it wasn't at least partly true? So I began the tedious process of becoming a professional writer, with those Champagne wishes and Caviar dreams in my head.

I took the uber cliche path and started submitting anywhere and everywhere I could. I was rejected due to not having past published work. So I perused the freelance job boards and took any assignment I could to build my resume. Most were for little to no pay.

I did this for 6 months. In all I made less than $100.

One day I came across an ad searching for a staff writer for a popular survival website with a humorous tone. I wrote two sample articles and was hired immediately. I would write two articles per week for $20 a week. I was ecstatic. This was the most money I had earned in my writing career and I was not freelance- I was an actual syndicated regular with my own column!

I fell into my work and immersed myself into the survival and homesteading community. I joined forums and met helpful individuals and researched and learned all I could. I soon realized this niche embodied my mindset and way of life.

I had always been self sufficient, and taught survival techniques to my boys which my Grandpa had taught me. I never felt it was right or smart to depend on anyone, minus my close friends and family of course. But my way of living life finally had a name, and I had a community.

Six months after being hired, the owner emailed me and offered ownership of the website to me. He and his wife had just had twins and he did not have time for it anymore, and my passion for the subjects compelled him to see me as the best person for the job.

I said sure, of course! Thinking how hard can operating a website be?

Boy was I wrong! Any of you who started a website with no coding knowledge will understand! Remember, I am just a writer! My training and experience is only in writing and creating and putting letters in a row to make a compelling sentence ;)

So now I had my work cut out for me. I was working full time already to support my babies, alone, as we had lost their father a few years prior. Cooking, school meetings, daycare, work, cooking, cleaning, and now a website! That was not monetized so making a whopping $0.00.

I threw myself into researching how to grow a website. I learned keywords, SEO, formatting for the web, ads, social media, backlinks, marketing, page ranks, and so much more that you will grow bored if I keep listing! I varied and tried techniques as everyone I learned from said different things worked.

When I made my first $100 from the website, I was beside myself with pride. It had taken 6 months.

I continued to learn website marketing but also became more involved in the survival and homesteading community.

During this time there were a lot of unsteady things happening in the world, and the preparedness community was growing by leaps and bounds- it was as if a large subsection of the population woke up and decided they needed to learn, and learn fast.

There was an underlying feeling of fear during this time as well. Everyone was quietly preparing for... well, for the worst.

I met a few people in Venezuela and had firsthand information about all that was going down there, and it was pretty scary. What the media allows us to know is nowhere near the chaos and helplessness these people are fighting through every day. I watched the bank fiasco in Greece and the outrageous carnage in Louisiana when the food stamps stopped working.

I lost all faith in the system.

When you are not looking at something, it can be hard to see. Even though I had a self-sufficient mindset, I still relied on "the system." But when my eyes were opened to how fragile and uncaring the system truly is, cryptocurrency came into my awareness in the form of Bitcoin and it made absolute sense.

Granted, it would be a few years before I would actually have cryptos of my own as I believed they were far too difficult for someone with my complete lack of tech savvy to understand. But I did begin to dabble in gold and silver.

One of my first jobs was a journalist for a large news outlet. I left after two years because my morals did not agree with how the media operates and for my mental health, as well as a bit of rebellion, I went on a news fast- barely watching except to scan the headlines. But when you become involved with the survival community the things that are happening in the world are a large topic for discussion so I was made aware of much more dangerous practices, which further reinforced my need to become more self-sufficient in real life- not just in mindset and teachings.

One of the most important things I learned is to not leave all your eggs in one basket. Never hold all your cash in one bank- for instance, or never invest in only one thing. Spread it around. That way if one thing failed you have not lost everything.

I began gardening more than just a few pots on my porch, and also learned about gmo's and the importance of heirloom veggies and saving seeds. I taught my boys more survival techniques and held classes for ladies as they are a very small portion of the community and it amazed me how little interest they held, which leads to a greater lean on the system. Plus, what the woman insists on is pretty much how the family lives.

I kept learning about cryptos, however, it still seemed so far out of reach for me.

Right before I discovered Steemit we lost everything. Steemit came at a perfect time because now I knew from first hand experience how shaky the system is and how easy it is to fall if you have any reliance.

Steemit introduced me to cryptos with a firm yet friendly handshake. In the past 6 months I have learned far more than all of my research. It is really not hard, it's the lingo used on many crypto sites that is intimidating ;) Because of Steemit I could now learn hands-on without risk.

I have now led a dozen friends and colleagues to Steemit, as well as convinced my boys to learn about crypto and Steemit. And it all started with opening my eyes and a need to be more self-sufficient.

Steemit is changing lives. Steemit is changing the world. Steemit is freedom.

Cryptocurrencies are the future!

What led you to Cryptocurrencies and Steemit?



Images via Unsplash and Pixabay


I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 How to Develop a Compelling Character
~
Protect Yourself! As Steemit Grows, So Do the Scams
~
Need Advice? Ask Kitten!
~
Elements of the Story Plot
~
Are You Guilty of the "I'll Be Happy When's?"
~
Want Life to Excite You Again? Brush Your Teeth the Wrong Way
~
The Healing Power of Pho
~
The Importance of Maintaining Perspective
~
My 2018 Wish for Steemit
~
Happy New Year! Midnight Milestone!
~
The Romance of the Cougar
~
100 Years Ago We'd ALL Be Locked in the Asylum!
~
Comments Hid Due to Low Ratings
~
Find and Embrace Your Steemit Voice


Fiction

No Kibble Left Behind
~
Surprise Coming to You
~
Lost & Found, a Weekend Freewrite
~
Accidental Waste

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Hi @arbitrarykitten, I'm feeling emotional after reading your story. If you are in front of me I would have hug you tightly. I have been through similar things in my life...fighting this world alone with 2 small kids without any help and trying my best to be self sufficient and kept on failing miserably. When I was on the verge of giving up everything, eventually things get better and better. I have never had any luck with blogging and have given up trying. And then I found Steemit which is the most happening blogging place in the universe and am so happy to have found it. Crypto... a new jargon thing and now am trying to study crypto market...hopefully can invest soon. Thanks for sharing your precious life story. Have resteemed and upvoted. Take care hun!

We mother's are true survivors <3 Taking everything that life throws at us and keeping going.

Steemit is truly changing lives! And just think- people begin to grow old when they stop learning. Therefore this whole new crypto world is keeping us young <3

Hugs back to you! Thank you so much :)

Yes, we mothers are the strongest, bravest and true survivors. I am trying my best to be as good as you here, your writings are my guru. I fully agree with you, all related things to Steemit that are jargons are actually the ones keeping our mind young. Go Crypto!

@arbitrarykitten I just do the best I can everyday and stay consistent on STEEMIT. I have to go take some pictures now and do a video for a posting since it has been a week since I posted last. Stay Positive and keep doing what you are doing.

I went looking for your video- where is it?!

Thank you :) You too! Rock on 💙

I am SICK I don't feel good today. I think it is a touch of the FLU.

Oh no. There is this bad one going around that leaves laryngitis for two plus weeks after the other symptoms are gone. My Doc told me to drink Sage tea with honey, it'll help my voice drastically. Use that if that is what you end up having, it helped SO much, and immediately!

And lots of fluids no matter what illness you have :)

Get well soon hun!

Sweet Kitty!... Eventually all roads lead to crypto. For many of us on the path, we can thank our proverbial rose-colored glasses for cracking or shattering early. 🤯

Well said! I like that <3

From personal experience, you can make money faster here then your own site. Steemit was first intro to crypto. I was looking for ways to earn it instead of buying so i think i started researching mining

So true!

Very cool, mining is my next step, I'm researching it now :)

This is easily the best thing I've read in a long time. Very inspirational. It's crazy how when life puts you in situations like this, it helps you open your mind and see that the world we live in is pretty fucked up. It's like everything is pushing you toward failure in our current system. The thing that opened my eyes was when I first heard about bitcoin mining. I was compelled and started immediately. My wife is bipolar, and couldn't hold a job. I was making less than minimum wage trying to support us, and I knew bitcoin would be the future. It helped us survive. It brought us to now. It wasn't until about 8 months ago I discovered steemit. I still don't have a huge following or much monetary gain from it, but I love being part of the community. I hope one day I have a loyal following like you.

Steemit allows me to be a stay at home mom. It's only me, we lost their father long ago, so the ability to be able to work at home around their schedule, as opposed to having to juggle them and their activities against an outside job (which I'd always be afraid of losing due to a childs illness or other normal family stuff) and to be here for them is priceless. I am full of gratitude for this place for so many reasons <3

You are a very dedicated Steemian :) You will go far.

I’m just starting to grasp some crypto currency concepts, still in first dippers though. Steemit helped me to take it into consideration, hope one day...as soon as possible I will start with first steps 😊

You are already taking your first steps ;) Just make sure you enjoy the journey and stop to look around every so often :)

Awesome write-up :) what led me to crypto was my brother (he may have been the first to mention Steemit to me as well, can't quite remember). But once I found my feet here, I realized I can participate in something fantastic and get paid for my writing. Considering it's what I love doing anyway, Steemit was a very natural fit.

And as @leap8 mentioned you can make more money here than your own site. And I know from personal experience that is true.

I wish I had Steemit when I first began writing!

Yeah, it would have been great right? But, it's still early days ;)

You might remember it from my introduction post but I'll refresh your memory: I was led to crypto because of PC-gaming when I was looking for a new graphics card as an upgrade. But there was a scarcity of GPU's in the market and those still remaining were expensive. I started to research why for; Ethereum mining. "Hm", I thought but immersed myself with games with the new card. After the euphoria of the excellent performance in games I started to research more into crypto thinking: "Maybe I could also mine something with my GPU". Researching more into it, I discovered the gigantic world of all the cryptocurrencies, the technology and all the stuff that's being done with it.

I immediately liked what I saw.

Eventually I got exposed to Steemit few times until finally taking a better look into it 5 months ago, made an introduction post, which blew my mind getting into the very front page of 'trending'. That was crazy!!!

And here we are... Riding the crazy train of crypto. Even my GPU has now gone over the ROI (return of investment), the original prize of the card. Must be the best upgrade in my life, lol.
In the future that GPU will be a holy relic for me; I'll probably frame it and put it on a wall or something, haha.

I do remember this :)

Mining is my next step. I am absolutely new to that, but I hope to be able to learn quickly. It will be very awesome to be able to make a passive income for these ever starving boy creatures of mine, lol!

I do remember this :)

I knew you would :D

Mining is my next step. I am absolutely new to that, but I hope to be able to learn quickly.

I want to throw GRC-mining to you as an option, because it's not actually 'mining' but contributing to scientific research with your excess computing power! Right in the grc-pools website there are two videos with step-by-step guides. It's a little complicated but there should be no problem when following the videos.

There are some CPU-projects so almost any computer can research those!

Okay, very cool! Thanks for this! I'm checking it out right now!

Okay, very cool! Thanks for this! I'm checking it out right now!

A lack of trust in the government, and authority in general is what lead me to Bitcoin. Bitcoin opened my eyes to the new world of crypto. That lead me to Steemit, via a post on FaceBook (of all places - I don't frequent that place too often these days).

Cryptos are the currency of the rebel :) And I use that term with the utmost love and respect, as each and every one of us drawn to Steemit are rebels.

I think you have to have a rebellious streak of some description to be open to crypto in the early adopter phase. And perhaps that's why I like Steemit so much? It's populated by free thinkers of all description :)

Absolutely! Once the scales fall from people's eyes and the realise they can control their own finances, vote with those finances for projects and ideas that appeal to them... The world will be a very different place :) It's a super exciting time to be alive, actually.

I agree with you. Given how corruptly managed the finances of this planet have been, and how many lives have been destroyed because of it, to see things change through decentralisation is exciting. Its early days, but this is where it begins.

Oh my stars YES! It's a phenomenal time to be alive!

I believe that's why. I know I love Steemit so much for the same reasons. The people here, although highly varied in opinions, upbringing, etc, are free spirits and free thinkers. We're "awake" and eternal scholars <3

The only thing I have to add to all that (Steemit changing the world) is ABSOLUTELY! As a blogger and website operator for nearly 10 years, I was invited by another Steemian, as he thought I would fit right in. Boy, did I ever. I spend less and less time on my main blog and more time on Steemit and in the crypto community. Sometimes I think I need to take the 50 meter walk down to the beach and get a life... then I think, maybe tomorrow. :D Steemit and crypto have engulfed me and I will find my way out of this rabbit hole soon enough. Great story BTW.

Lol yes, me too! I spend an extraordinary another of time here, more time here than any other online platform ever! Steemit place to be! The corner where the cool cats hang ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50