Lost and Found, a Weekend Freewrite

Michael sat down in the middle of the road and began to cry. The taillights were long gone, he knew he’d never catch up. Not that he hadn’t tried, oh he’d ran until he thought his lungs would burst in his chest.

They’d left him. Here. Where was here?

There were no houses and no other cars. The road was old so probably not well used.

He thought back to what he could've done to make them do this. Was he too needy? Too messy? Was it the trash thing?

He begged the gods or anyone who was listening. If they’d just give him another chance, he’d be good. He would never, ever do whatever he’d done to be left all alone. He would be perfect. He promised.

But as panic set in with the lowering sun, he knew no one was listening.



I can't help but laugh as I continue to feed the invisible fish that someone else wants to have for his dinner.

“I’m running to town real quick” I called out to whoever was listening.

“Why?”

“You wanna eat, don’t you?” I laughed and hugged my big bear of man who’d slipped into the kitchen when I wasn’t looking.

“Ok, be safe, I’ll hold down the fort.”

We both stopped to look at the disaster the kitchen was and sighed with a laugh.

I turned my driving music up and opened the sunroof. It was a gorgeous late spring day. The kind that gives you hope as you shed your sweater for the last time that season.

I was singing loudly, and very good mind you- since I am the only one to judge- when I saw a dark lump ahead.

Uh oh, a hit deer I thought. My smile faded immediately. I hated seeing dead animals.

But wait, that’s smaller than a deer…

It was a dog. Just sitting there in the middle of the road.

I pulled up near it and it just looked at me with the saddest eyes I have ever seen.

“Hey buddy” I called. The very tip of his tail twitched in hope.

He looked healthy, no signs of rabies. But, why was he sitting in the middle of the road?

“You lost?”

A few more wags, bigger this time.

“Why don’t you come with me, we will see if your owners are looking for you and you can hang out and play with my animals in the meantime?”



Michael detected friendliness in her voice. He didn’t understand her language, but she felt and sounded nice. He took a step toward her car.

She got out and continued talking to him, he walked up to her and she scratched behind his ears just the way he liked it.

She motioned to her car and he looked at her.

“Go on,” she said.

He took this as an invitation and hopped into the car, careful not to scratch the seats with his claws.

“Good boy,” she said, “We’re just gonna turn around and go home and get you some food, the Mister can just deal without his favorite dish for one night, he won’t mind.”

Michael moved to lay his head in her lap. The bill she forgot to pay fluttered off the seat onto the floor.

Oh well, what’s one weekend without electricity when you are saving a broken, abandoned soul?




Join the #WeekendFreewrite! Hosted by the humbly hearted @mariannewest <3

Images via Pexels


I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Need Advice? Ask Kitten!
~
Are You Guilty of the "I'll Be Happy When's?"
~
Want Life to Excite You Again? Brush Your Teeth the Wrong Way
~
There's an OM in Every Meow
~
Stressed Out Santa
~
Remember Your Furbabies During Holiday Chaos
~
Sometimes We Need to Reboot
~
Flash
~
Surprise Coming to You
~
29 Interesting New Years Eve Facts
~
The Healing Power of Pho
~
The Importance of Maintaining Perspective

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Good thing, Michael found a new home. <3

I was not always a cat person. The theme you just painted is similar to a situation that changed that and indeed there was detriment. Mine or theirs. I wasn't going to let cruelty have the upper hand that day.

This was interesting and very well-written. As I neared the end of the first section, I thought, "Hmmmm, Michael isn't a person."

I guess my realization was partly because he was abandoned, but also because of his "thoughts." Most humans would be overcome by panic, but this creature was simply feeling alone "as panic set in." So I figured it was either a domesticated animal or a very stoic human.

And that's all owing to the excellent writing. Write on.

What a wonderful freewrite! It was a little teary for me in some sections but that means you did an excellent job getting the emotions across

Cool story. Glad Michael found a new home so quickly! Happy New Year, @arbitrarykitten!

Yay! Michael found a good soul!! (And I'll bet he'll love her singing too!)
Happy New Year @arbitraykitten! May 2018 meet you at the door with some comfy slippers and great laughs!

I hope that your move will be quick, uneventful, and possibly involve a free pizza! I hope that you and your lovely family will be happier in your new home!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40