“No Kibble Left Behind” a short story inspired by true events

in #fiction7 years ago

Of the resident cats, Marley has the most personality quirks. For those of you who do not know, I am a rescue home operator for abused felines, but have four “lifers.”

As newborns, Marley and his sister Gizmo were taken from their mother and spent the night in a garbage can before arriving at my rescue. They suffer fierce separation anxiety from me, as I became their surrogate mama, bottlefeeding and raising them from infancy. Marley is the only one with the particular side effect you will see in the story, though, and it is terribly endearing.

No Kibble Left Behind



“It’s almost breakfast time Marley! Let’s go wake up Mom!” Gizmo said.

“You always have to be the one to wake her up, don’t you?” Marley laughed, shaking his head at his sister.

“Well if I don’t do it, who will?” Gizmo questioned.

“I’m pretty sure she will wake up on her own, Sis.”

Gizmo thought about this for a moment, considered it a preposterous idea from her weird brother, and padded proudly toward the bedroom with her head held high and a sigh- somebody’s got to do it.

Mom was successfully roused from bed and both Marley and Gizmo led her around the house, making sure she performed her morning ritual correctly and didn’t forget anything.

Finally it was time for breakfast! They sat patiently by their bowls, exercising great patience because they knew they were big kitties now, and Mom would expect them to act their age and not like starving, roughian kittens.

Gizmo had recently become aware of a strange eating habit of her brothers, so she kept one eye on him while she crunched her fresh kibble.

Most cats will take a bite, chew, swallow, and repeat. Not her silly brother. He took a mouthful, moved somewhere else, dropped it, and then proceeded to eat each piece one by one. She noticed he was always aware of every piece, even if one rolled into the sink or under the couch he always found and ate it after the dropped pile was consumed.


“Why do you eat funny?” Gizmo asked Marley while they were grooming after breakfast.

Marley stopped and looked at her. “Eat funny?”

“Yea, you eat all weird, not like everyone else.”

Marley continued to look at her. He didn’t understand, he ate when everyone else did!

She pointed out her observations to him and he slinked off in shame. He didn’t want to be thought of as the guy who eats funny. He just wanted everyone to be happy. They had a good life now and everything was purrfect.

Gizmo watched her brother slink out of the room and her gut twisted. She heard footsteps and looked up to see old Solo walk into the room.

“What’s wrong with Marley? I said good morning and he just kept walking.”

Gizmo put her head on her paws with a sigh, “I think I hurt his feelings.”

Solo sat beside her, “You don’t look too good yourself, kid, tell me what happened.”

Gizmo told Solo about noticing how Marley ate, and what she had said to him.

“I can see why he is sad, Mo,” Solo said, nuzzling her head. “He doesn’t want to be thought of as weird, and when you pointed out his eating habits and used the word “funny” he felt like you were making fun of him.”

“But I wasn’t, I just wanted to know why he ate differently.”

“I know, doll,” Solo said, “but you have to be careful what words you use sometimes, or at least explain what you mean so things don’t get misconstrued and feelings hurt. Communication is important.”

Gizmo thought about this for a while. She hadn’t meant anything by it, she loved her brother more than anyone else in the world, and she hated having hurt his feelings.
She found Marley looking out the living room window. It was cold outside, you could feel it coming in at the edges where the window met the wall. The snow was deep, covering everything in a white blur, and water droplets had frozen in sharp spikes from the roof. It was still for this time of day, not even the birds came out to play in this weather.

“Hey Marley.”

“Hey,” Marley said, not taking his eyes from the outside stillness.

“I want you to know I didn’t mean anything bad when I asked why you eat funny. I meant why do you eat differently than most.”

Marley looked at her. “You didn’t?”

“No, I just noticed what you do a few days ago, and it caught my attention because I have never seen anyone eat like that before.”

Gizmo noticed the corners of his lips lift. The wrench in her gut eased.

“Remember when we were little, and the bad man took us from Mama?” Marley said.

“Yes.”

“And then we were brought to this nice lady who became our new Mom? Well, remember how I didn’t want to give up the bottle?”

Marley had a goofy little smile on his face and Gizmo laughed and nodded, remembering how Marley fought being weaned. He’d still be drinking from the bottle, cuddled in Mom’s arm even now, full grown, if he had his way!

“Well,” Marley continued, “when I finally tried eating big cat food, Mom was so proud of me, so that’s what made me give up the milk. I loved her being proud of me and didn’t want to disappoint her. And so I would get over excited when she would give me kibble.”

“Kibble is important.” Marley went on, looking back out the window with a faraway look in his eyes. “One day, I was so excited for Mom to feed me that I literally got into my food. And I scattered it everywhere. But I did my best to clean it all up and eat every piece I had spilled.”

“But a few days later I was playing and ran under the couch,” Marley rolled his eyes, “and there I found one piece of kibble. It had rolled off the table and under the couch and I had missed it.”

Gizmo watched her brother, intent on the story.

“And looking at that one lost piece that I had missed, that I had forgotten, I was reminded of us being abandoned, and that long, cold night that could have lasted forever. And I felt very sad. That piece of kibble could have been us, Gizmo. If we hadn’t been found we would have been forgotten and lost forever. That’s why I cannot leave one piece of kibble alone and forgotten.”

Gizmo groomed the tears from Marleys eyes, and they went and cuddled by the warm fireplace. And from that moment on, whenever a new rescue noticed the way Marley ate, Gizmo was there to tell the story, and Marley was commended for his compassionate and quirky heart.


All steem proceeds from this story go to providing medical care, food and supplies for abused and discarded cats and kittens <3

Images and GIF's my own

I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Need Advice? Ask Kitten!
~
How to Develop a Compelling Character
~
Elements of the Story Plot
~
Are You Guilty of the "I'll Be Happy When's?"
~
Want Life to Excite You Again? Brush Your Teeth the Wrong Way
~
Sometimes We Need to Reboot
~
29 Interesting New Years Eve Facts
~
The Healing Power of Pho
~
The Importance of Maintaining Perspective
~
My 2018 Wish for Steemit
~
Happy New Year! Midnight Milestone!
~
The Romance of the Cougar


Fiction
Surprise Coming to You
~
Lost & Found, a Weekend Freewrite
~
Accidental Waste

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

That's a very nice thing to do, saving the lives of defenseless creatures. I could never understand how can some people be so heartless, especially when it's about such adorable kittens. Anyway, great job on saving them. My lovely girlfriend saved a kitten a long time ago as well and this cat is still alive, enjoying life with us.

I started rescuing in 2009 and have become so jaded- the things some people can do is vile and disgusting. But, I know it's definitely not all. And us home rescuers are a tight group. There aren't a lot of us, but we give it our all and cannot say no even when we have a full house <3

Human Societies and your local pound get donations and grants, but home rescues are operated with most of the costs falling on the homeowners, and we also pick up the discards from the organizations and save lives headed for euthanasia when the adoption window is ended.

Support your local home rescue :)

Thanks for giving your furbaby a loving forever home <3

That's very nice! It's a given. It's a great thing, to know that you are taking care of another life and it's so easy to get attached to pets. Even if they are silly fishes that jump out of the aquarium or grumpy water turtles that bite you when you feed them. 😂

Uh oh~ You have a Houdini fish? LOL!

Haha no, it was just a crazy goldfish. Saved his life a lot of times 😂😂

I love how animals are so silly and crazy! Another thing Marley does is rides a heater on wheels like a surfboard across the floor!

@arbitrarykitten mam...I'm really like snd love kitties..
CATS....

Gentle eye that see so much,
paws that have the quiet touch.
Purrs to signal "all is well"
and show more love
than words could tell.
Graceful movements
touched with pride,
a calming presence
by our slde.
A friendship that
takes time to grow.
Smal wonder why
We love them so...
I love kitty...

Awe! That is beautiful <3

Sweet little tale.

For a while in Spain my son and his girlfriend rescued all the waifs and strays of the village paying for all food etc out of their own shallow pockets - this made me proud.

:)

Thank goodness for kind souls like you.

xox

Awe, thank you <3

I have heard there are a lot of strays in Spain, is this true?

The older get, the more I prefer animal to people, I really do.

I have been feeding a wildcat around here for the last 3 months. (christened him felix).

He is looking in pretty good shape now, and scratches on the door when he wants some food...

Last week he actually came in the house and went to sleep for a few hours!
(and does nearly everyday now)

He always spits when I put his food down, and he never lets me touch him.
But he is a wildcat, and they have to live by different rules to survive.

That's cool, I know he likes me, it's just that he has trouble expressing himself! lol.

I like Him.

IMAG0011 (3).JPG

Awe, handsome man, I love his color. Yea, he knows you are good people. You have a precious friendship there, as you are probably the only human he has trusted since he was discarded :)

I thought the same too - that's why I don't hassle him, let him come around - if he ever does .

And if he doesn't, that's cool too..

Cats have 32 muscles that control the outer ear (humans have only 6). A cat can independently rotate its ears 180 degrees.

Even during sleep a cats ears still radar in toward a sound.

The first formal cat show was held in England in 1871; in America, in 1895.

That is something I did not know! I met Patrick Swayzee at a cat show in Santa Fe when I was but a wee lass...

A 2007 Gallup poll revealed that both men and women were equally likely to own a cat.

I must argue this fact. It should read

Both men and women we require likely to be owned by a cat.

;)

The earliest ancestor of the modern cat lived about 30 million years ago. Scientists called it the Proailurus, which means “first cat” in Greek. The group of animals that pet cats belong to emerged around 12 million years ago.

Keep up the good work! It's nice seeing someone care not only for the cute pampered house pets, but also for those felines that are suffering. Many don't care, but they're also creatures a helping hand.

Thank you <3

I can't not help them, seriously I have never said no. One time I had three abandoned Mama cats who all gave birth within one week of each other, with five kittens, 6 kittens and one poor Mama had ten kittens!!! And I still said yes and took in a starved puppy, an abused rabbit, and a special needs hamster. LOL!

Wow! That's a lot of pets. At one time, we had nine cats, they were seriously a handful. Now we just have two, but they're still quite the troublemakers, though you just have to love them.

Oh my goodness, that was the most rescues I have ever had! It was crazy for two months until the Mamas had weaned the babies so I could find good homes for everyone, and make room for new ones, lol

I can barely imagine how chaotic your household was with so many animals around! Especially when kittens start getting into whatever they could. When we had kittens I kept checking my bed and blankets to make sure I don't accidentally sit on their hiddenselves. Ninjas, the lot of them.
Gambatte on your rescue work!!!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 100%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

How about dividing the proceeds between cats and me. Meow.
Enjoyed the story.

Are you in need of rescuing, Ned? lol

Thanks :)

Hi love cats and love ur article

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32