Accidental Waste

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Her sweet countenance, her warming embrace. Her love was pure and her hopes clean.

I destroyed her.

I didn’t mean to. I was wrapped up in the web of pain from my first love. If I could call it love. I thought it was at the time, I guess that’s why I ruined this one.

I believed love equaled misery and pain. That’s all I knew so that’s what I gave. My callous and careless mask to hide the never closed wounds…

She came to me so open and pure, her smiles lit up the darkness inside me. How I smote that light so easily… so quickly… I’m still reeling.

My own daemons made everything bigger, more sinister. I believe her intentions were worthy but my darkness took over, spilling out of me because I am but one man.

The shadows are too heavy for one man.

It enveloped her, seeped into her until she was ashen and dull. Squeezing every last ray of hope from her, forcing tears of pain to cut jagged through her heart.

I mutilated the luminesce dream with my conjured monsters disguised as guards. The power of depression is far reaching. And I can’t take it back now.

I watch her wither into obscurity. A sweet memory nevermore.



"Callous" a 5 minute #freewrite Check out the Freewriters Guild hosted by the sunny and sparkly @mariannewest

Images via Pexels and Creative Commons

I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Need Advice? Ask Kitten!
~
Are You Guilty of the "I'll Be Happy When's?"
~
Want Life to Excite You Again? Brush Your Teeth the Wrong Way
~
Sometimes We Need to Reboot
~
Surprise Coming to You
~
Lost & Found, a Weekend Freewrite
~
29 Interesting New Years Eve Facts
~
The Healing Power of Pho
~
The Importance of Maintaining Perspective
~
My 2018 Wish for Steemit
~
Happy New Year! Midnight Milestone!

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

This is painful to read. I can feel the emotion pouring out. Ironic isn't it? How one so callous would feel this deeply, yet seem impartial when "she withered into obscurity".

A wonderful entry!
I've been thinking of joining the 5 minute freewrite but I don't know how to start.

Thank you, that means a lot :)

Just click on the link at the bottom of my post above, it'll take you to todays prompt, which is callous. You open a word doc or steemit posting page, set your timer for 5 minutes, and just write. When your timer goes off you finish the sentence or thought, then you go back and just make minor fixes- just your spelling, grammar and punctuation, format it, and post it. You can post it as a comment to the days post by @mariannewest if you do not want to publish a whole post on your own page.

And then you're part of the community! Read others work and join more freewrites :) It really helps your writing! The pressure of the timer trains your brain to capture ideas more cohesively :)

Good luck! I hope to read some by you soon!

Thanks. I'll try it out later.

.........very nice.

I might just dip my toes in the waters for 5 minutes...

Jump right in, the water is warm ;)

dipped in, swam, posted, and back out! lol ....very interesting

Never too late to change and fix things... a thought that came to me when reading this poem... beautiful... crazily beautiful...

I agree <3 Thank you so much :)

@arbitrarykitten

Salutations! JaiChai here.

Loved your post, especially since it depicted "a confession of one's own nature".

Very creative, my friend.

Happy New Year to you and yours!

Namaste,

JaiChai

P.S.

Upvoted and called on @originalworks upvote for your post.

Jaichai! How is your New Year thus far?

Thank you kindly <3

And thank you again :)

@arbitrarykitten,

Having a blast! Wondering if the whole year is gon'na be like this?

Standby for all your endeavors to get turbo-boosted.

Feeling some massive good karma coming your way...

Namaste, amiga.

JaiChai

YES! I feel it! 2018 is going to be a phenomenal year of positive energy and abundant prosperity <3

I'm standing by, open and excited for it!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @arbitrarykitten to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Too much emotion...I have to put some water in it :)

We men generally replace our inner demons with inner village idiot...
No other choice, now you choose...


source

Stay positive.

FD.

Oh that is a very accurate statement! Love it!

@arbitraykitten I could feel the warm embrace of Over $6.00 STEEM, and that made me think of my Kitten.................

Those $6.00 thousand thread count Steemsheets are quite luxurious, aren't they? :)

As others have said, this was definitely a tough read, but that is what made it so great. Callous is quite a difficult word to tackle and to embrace it at its core it can be rather vile.

The power of depression is indeed far reaching...

Much appreciated <3

i'm sorry my friend @arbitrarykitten becouse love don't equaled misery and pain..... Love is a beautiful thing in life... Who causes misery and pain is who we love...... not the love
I hope you understand me in a positive way

I think you mistook the story :) It is from the point of view of a man whos first love treated him with misery and pain, so that is what he thought love was... So that is what he did to the next woman who came along.

Nice post.
Good morning.

Thanks! It's almost 8pm here so good evening ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50