The Healing Power of Pho

in #food7 years ago

Pronounced fuh, pho is a Vietnamese soup comprised of a hearty and clean broth, rice noodles, choice of meat or tofu, and lots of veggies.

Prior to moving to Seattle I had never known Pho, but due to the vast Vietnamese population influence, there are many Pho stands and restaurants. The ingredients are always super fresh and you receive a generous portion overflowing with healthy, yummy goodness. I have never been disappointed.

I am in the process of a move, and I have had the flu for a couple days. Like knocking me down so hard I cannot summon the energy to push a button on the remote bad. Needless to say life has beat me up this last week and I am feeling it. Last night I went to bed at a respectable midnight, but tossed and turned with a high fever until 6 pm today. I couldn't even get out of bed. I remembered the Pho stand a couple streets down, so I sent my boys to bring me home a bowl.

Generous is an understatement- the portion is enormous! The veggies come in one container seperate from the broth so it stays fresh. I poured half the broth into my bowl and added half of everything else- rice noodles, bean sprouts, carrots, spring onions, white onions, broccoli, basil leaves, cilantro and the spices that accompany, plus the juice from a quarter lime. I love jalapenos but I decided against at the last minute so as to not irritate my already angry throat.

An hour later I was able to get out of bed and take a shower. This stuff is so good. Forget chicken noodle soup from a can when you're sick. Have some Pho delivered instead, and take advantage of the fresh, vitamin packeded, comforting goodness that'll immediately battle whatever silly virus decided to use you as it's playground.

I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314Are You Guilty of the "I'll Be Happy When's?"
~
Want Life to Excite You Again? Brush Your Teeth the Wrong Way
~
Copying Posts and Comments is Illegal
~
There's an OM in Every Meow
~
6 Fun Must Visit Christmas Websites for All Ages
~
Stressed Out Santa
~
Remember Your Furbabies During Holiday Chaos
~
Sometimes We Need to Reboot
~
29 Interesting New Years Eve Facts


Fiction

Forbidden
~
Panic
~
Flash

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

I love me some pho. Is the poor man's ramen :D

Oh that is too funny, cuz I consider ramen the poor mans pho!!!

It's always Fish Sinagang or Chicken Tinola here in the Philippines. Laden with ginger and calamansi, it is good for what ails you! There are some similarities to Pho.

Oh cool, I love being introduced to healing foods, thank you!

My favourite version is beef pho. Tasty broth with fresh and fragrant vegetables. Yum! Will get some pho for dinner this evening.

Yay! Happy to have been an inspiration ;)

Yum....I need some of that right now.... starting to feel a sore throat in the process. :-(

Need me some Yum Pho

It will totally surprise you how much better you feel after!

This is the second time I've used it when very ill, and both times the results were astounding

Pho is vietnamese best gift to this world. It is such a warming meal! It has been the Asian version of "chicken noodle soup", which I never understood because Pho has always been in my life playing that role! I will make my own noodle soup from home made chicken stock, and I think the key to why pho evokes such a warming feeling is the use of the spice star anise which gives pho soup a distinct flavor. Oh mannnnnnn looks like I'm going to get a bowl today!

It truly is a gift to the world! Well said <3

Hi @arbitrarykitten , I had a pho 🍲 today and I feel like a super hero!!

Xx
Ps: happy i found you on #steemitbloggers

Awesome! We are pho superstars :)

Sweet! I am so happy I joined, it's a great group! And wonderful meeting you :)

I hope you are feeling better? This looks delicious and think I will try to make a version with Tofu! Thanks for sharing! X

I am feeling better today :) Thank you <3

Nice post! Totally better than chicken soup from a can. Have a nice day

Oh, way better!

Thanks :)

It is, and it's so simple but you can change the taste depending on how much of everything, including the fresh sauces, that you add :)

Looks yum! I've always been a fan of new and weird foods :)

Try it, it's so fresh, an explosion of flavor in every bite!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53