The Kite Runner

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

Last year I wrote a post, The invisible people, which addressed two linked topics: PTSD and homelessness.

The Kite Runner is a poem touching both. It's a poem inspired by an older comment I've got from one Steemian. His story got stuck in my mind, his strength inspired me. I told myself I will have to write something about it one day.

Today, while I was watching the clouds with my son, out of nowhere I remembered him and I felt compelled to write free flow. I hope you will enjoy reading it and that it will give you something to think about.

@futuremind I know you will like reading this!

kite-2153463_1280.jpg

The Kite Runner

How you keep up with a kite runner
when everybody takes a scunner
against the man you try to help,
no one want to hear his yelp!

No strength or muscles to match his saults,
only pointing fingers and evictions notes,
no flying skills or cushion for rough landings,
just hard liquor and misunderstandings!

No stamina to run this obstacles course,
your will to help can't match the costs,
an endless sea of pain and remorse,
from the east to the west coasts.

His love for heights, the fluffiness of the clouds,
the peaceful look upon his face
while struggling to win this mad mad race,
conceal the depths of his abyss.

Against the odds he found himself
from birth till twelve and later on,
the gods never favoured him;
a human's life, flesh and bones left to decay.

The blueish scars around his wrists,
the darkened eyes and swollen fists
tell more about his older days
than he could ever say.

Each line cut into his flesh,
a failed attempt to tear the mesh
that wired him to a dreadful place,
got him more deeper into the maze.

A lost warrior with no appetite for blood,
a sack of bones wearing dirty rags
and army boots, all covered in mud;
his only possession: two silver tags.

Day after day he flies up high,
he lives his life up into the sky,
hands on the thread, eyes on the kite,
unable to tell wrong from right, day from night.

On the corner of Peel and Notre-Dame
he resides with his bud and a cup;
some throw him a coin and call him a bum,
others ignore him and only see the pup.

He doesn't mind cause up high on his cloud
he sees the world differently, no doubt;
less sound, shades or judgemental parades,
hate, greed, shame, everything fades.

Here are some of my poems:
THE MOUNTAINS
BALAD
YOU ARE NOT ALONE
ALL BOUT LOVE
A TALE OF A MINNOW AND A WHALE
LONG WAY DOWN 1
LONG WAY DOWN 2
SPIDER QUEEN
MINA'S EULOGY
THE CIRCLE OF LIFE
YOU KNOW IT ALL
CONFESSION OF A HUSBAND
BROKEN DREAM
THE RETURN OF A HERX
CLOSE THE DOORS
IT IS LOVE
BROKEN SOUL
FREEDOM
SPEECHLESS
CHECKOUT POINT
TEENAGE YEARS
A CHILD'S MIND
PINK
PAIN
DARE
LOST
PAINS

Lavi Picu is the author of three soulful poetry collections: Whiteless Thoughts, Burden of love and Tales of a moody heart. She is a Canadian writer, majored in Linguistics, with a background in translations and writing. She’s also a ghost writer, a blogger with a focus on arts and health, a Lyme disease advocate, a mother and a self-taught artist.

@2019 LaviPicu aka Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

imageedit_9_5046179130.png

.

Sort:  

I'm so moved by this poem @lymepoet

You captured the feeling that many go through during homelessness and/or addiction. In terms of the veterans mind, yes this line says it all:

A lost warrior with no appetite for blood,
a sack of bones wearing dirty rags
and army boots, all covered in mud;
his only possession: two silver tags.

An update from the comment which was almost 8 months ago! 👇

I'm no longer in a shelter, I've maintained a residence for about a half year now, and I'm still living the sober life!

It's possible to find healing, to beat addiction, to start a new life. The hardest obstacles today, are people who think poorly of me, or judge me for the hell that I experienced.
I don't judge them for their perception, because I understand that everything we have can be gone in an instant, that stability, safety, control is all an illusion. So for those who look at the "bum" and think nothing more, that is their choice, and I pray they don't ever have to experience such hardship themselves.

The "bum" was/is someones father/mother/sister/brother/son/daughter/ect.. The bum has a story, and I bet that "bum" wasn't always a "bum". It might surprise some to meet "bums" who were a doctor, lawyer, soldier, accountant, ect.
Just because someone is sleeping in a gutter, with nothing but the clothes on their back. It doesn't make them less of a person.
Addiction always has an underlying reason, usually deep pain, suffering, hurt. Maybe that "bum" has a story to tell, and maybe that "bum" needs to tell it!

Thank you for this wonderful poem. I'm touched that my story has had an impact for you lymepoet, and it's very refreshing and moving to know there are people in the world who genuinely care and think about these things. You are a kind soul, much love and blessings to you and your family!

I am really happy to hear you are in a better place! Your life story continues to be an inspiration. The hardships you went through gave you an accurate idea of what life really is and made you really humble.
Those who are judging don't have the slightest clue what it entails not to have a roof over their head, as they never had any "real" problem.

Unfortunately people love labelling others; instant judgment became an automatism. Only few will actually take the time and wonder if there was an underlying cause. In this case, the story.

This year I met someone who ended up homeless: a lawyer who got sick, lost his house, wife and practice. He lost it all. His story was incredible! His life was perfect till sickness kicked in. So, yes, these stories need to be heard because we make the mistake to think that such a thing it can never happen to us!

It's beautiful, just stunning.

I'm of an age and stage where PTSD is a normal thing. I've been dx'd a long time (by a civilian :)) but I've gotten to see several friends get diagnosis and help and the change that comes with that.

I've not read Kite Runner (the book) either though I've been told I should. Thank you for a most excellent poem. I really do appreciate it.

Thanks for your kind words! It's a sad reality many chose to ignore, leaving those in need all alone.
I've added the book to my reading list ;0)

A very touching piece. I can picture the whole scenario in my mind as your words have painted such a vivid picture. As a person with strong ties with the military, I feel every single stanza.

Such a gifted writer. Thank you so much for sharing your words.

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thanks, Denise! I appreciate your support!

Kite Runner is a good novel too by Khalid Hussain a great depiction about life of Afghanistan .....do read it..a must read👍

Posted using Partiko Android

A most excellent book! @steemflow

Indeed Denise a mist read for all

Posted using Partiko Android

I added it to my list of reads for the summer! Thank you!

You gonna enjoy for sure,,

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @lymepoet! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @futuremind.

Hi @lymepoet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.090 which ranks you at #3195 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 37 places in the last three days (old rank 3232).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 178 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12