You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Kite Runner

in #poetry5 years ago

I'm so moved by this poem @lymepoet

You captured the feeling that many go through during homelessness and/or addiction. In terms of the veterans mind, yes this line says it all:

A lost warrior with no appetite for blood,
a sack of bones wearing dirty rags
and army boots, all covered in mud;
his only possession: two silver tags.

An update from the comment which was almost 8 months ago! 👇

I'm no longer in a shelter, I've maintained a residence for about a half year now, and I'm still living the sober life!

It's possible to find healing, to beat addiction, to start a new life. The hardest obstacles today, are people who think poorly of me, or judge me for the hell that I experienced.
I don't judge them for their perception, because I understand that everything we have can be gone in an instant, that stability, safety, control is all an illusion. So for those who look at the "bum" and think nothing more, that is their choice, and I pray they don't ever have to experience such hardship themselves.

The "bum" was/is someones father/mother/sister/brother/son/daughter/ect.. The bum has a story, and I bet that "bum" wasn't always a "bum". It might surprise some to meet "bums" who were a doctor, lawyer, soldier, accountant, ect.
Just because someone is sleeping in a gutter, with nothing but the clothes on their back. It doesn't make them less of a person.
Addiction always has an underlying reason, usually deep pain, suffering, hurt. Maybe that "bum" has a story to tell, and maybe that "bum" needs to tell it!

Thank you for this wonderful poem. I'm touched that my story has had an impact for you lymepoet, and it's very refreshing and moving to know there are people in the world who genuinely care and think about these things. You are a kind soul, much love and blessings to you and your family!

Sort:  

I am really happy to hear you are in a better place! Your life story continues to be an inspiration. The hardships you went through gave you an accurate idea of what life really is and made you really humble.
Those who are judging don't have the slightest clue what it entails not to have a roof over their head, as they never had any "real" problem.

Unfortunately people love labelling others; instant judgment became an automatism. Only few will actually take the time and wonder if there was an underlying cause. In this case, the story.

This year I met someone who ended up homeless: a lawyer who got sick, lost his house, wife and practice. He lost it all. His story was incredible! His life was perfect till sickness kicked in. So, yes, these stories need to be heard because we make the mistake to think that such a thing it can never happen to us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14