One photo every day: Go (109/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

Today was a game night. Here's a nice photo of the game between two of our high ranks.

Game of go
Markku 3dan (black) vs. Markus 1kyu (white)

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm  ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.5
Exposure:  1/80 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+800



If you want, @MarkkuJantunen might be able to tell us how the game went. I wasn't paying too much attention to their game as I was busy worrying about Miro, who I heard had snuck off and wondered off to the grocery shop on his own to buy a soda without a permission.

Miro did eventually show up, though, and I was relieved albeit a bit angry. I questioned where he'd gotten the money from and he'd tell me he took some money from his "savings jar". :D Anyway, he told me he'd poured half the liquid away because he couldn't drink it all. That's just kids' logic for you.

Afterwards, after having a dinner upstairs in our apartment, Miro came back to the club and wanted to play a game against Markus while I was playing against Markku. I had already lost two games against Markus, and worried about Miro, on top of not sleeping very much last night, so it wasn't a surprise I lost the third game too. I was told I'm playing too haphazardly, and that's the reason I lost. Markus may be right about that though.

Edit: Btw. here's an extra photo, a picture of the whole board:

Goban
What's going on here?

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm  ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/3.2
Exposure:  1/200 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 400+800



Well, I must go sleep now, see you all again tomorrow!

Edit: I had to make some edits as it turns out Markus is not officially 1dan yet, he's just a very very strong 1kyu player, according to Markku.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Dead followers.]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)
Sixth week in pictures (6/52)
Seventh week in pictures (7/52)
Eighth week in pictures (8/52)
Ninth week in pictures (9/52)
Tenth week in pictures (10/52)
Eleventh week in pictures (11/52)
Twelfth week in pictures (12/52)
Thirteenth week in pictures (13/52)


Saw my nephew for the first time! (99/365)
A macro photo of a small tomato. (100/365)
Poison 2 (101/365)
Trying out Hydrogen (102/365)
Just hangin', said the carpet (103/365)
After 3 hour drive I just want to sleep. (104/365)
Landscape in central Finland (105/365)
Callunas (106/365)
Chewing-gum cube (107/365)
Takkulanpohja beach, Alasenjärvi (108/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


This one is posted as !originalworks

Sort:  

I lost the game. The immediate reason was a careless slip in a fight in the late middle game. A more indirect reason was that Markus managed to turn the game into an interesting contest of fighting skill. I win more often than not. But it's obvious Markus has gained a lot of knowledge and skill lately. I'm really happy to have more competition in Lahti. We're already playing even games.

Markus' rank is actually 1 kyu. It is not and cannot be higher for the reason that he has never attended an EGF sanctioned tournament. His name is completely absent from European Go Database. I would need to see Markus play several games against our local 1 dan, Antti Pekonen, to be able to tell whether or not he was closer to 1 dan or 2 dan in skill at the moment. But he is no 1 kyu by current Finnish standards. That I'm quite sure about. In order for Markus to attain a rank commensurate with his skill, he would need to attend several EGF class A or B tournaments and play consistently at 1 dan level or higher, or play in just one and score 4/5 or 5/6 against dan players.

Is it a very difficult game?

Nope, it's actually a very easy game to learn, it only gets difficult when you play against stronger players. :)

Yah get enough sleep, it is important. Yah 8hours sleep will do. Good nite.

Thanks! Good night! I'll see the rest of the comments tomorrow. :)

Ok. Good nite. The day is still quite a young evening in my country nigeria, so am not sleepy yet.

Miro did eventually show up, though, and I was relieved albeit a bit angry. I questioned where he'd gotten the money from and he'd tell me he took some money from his "savings jar".

Hahaha. I remember you said Miro can make you grow grey hairs soon. I guess this is one of the reasons.
Well, since you lost the game thrice, I think you deserve to ask for a reply. Lol.

So sad that @markkujantunen lost the game too. There is always "another time".

My wife and I had been to a house viewing and I had to take her home first. I came late and a bit hungry. Because @gamer00 and Markus had not yet finished their game, I decided to drive to the supermarket in the video you saw in the previous post to get something to eat and to get some refreshments for everybody. It's a ten minute walk from where @gamer00 lives. As I arrived at the supermarket, I met Miro to my surprise. He was holding a 500 ml plastic bottle of soda like a crypto investor HODLING his precious coins. I asked him if he wanted a ride home but he said he'd drink the soda first. When I was done shopping I asked him again if he wanted I ride but he declined saying that he'd rather drink it here in order to return the bottle and keep the refund money. I offered to take the bottle to a recycling machine at our local supermarket in return for 20 cents instead but Miro declined saying that he preferred to walk. I replied "as you wish" and drove off.

When arriving at the main door of the building @gamer00 lives in, a friend of the boys' I knew appeared with a bicycle he wanted to take to the storage room. I held the door open for him and we exited the storage room via another door that led to a smaller hallway. The friend asked where Leo and Miro were just as the door was opened. The club room door was next to that door and also open. Immediately after I'd finished answering, I heard @gamer00 say "What!".

Hahaha, Miro is definitely a smart guy and he just displayed that. He wants what he wants. I am surprised that he went to the supermarket alone. That brave of him. I hope @gamer00 wont be exclusively mad at him.

The streets between home and the supermarket are very quiet. They are quite narrow and there are speed humps and other traffic-slowing structures along the way. Child abductions by strangers are vanishingly rare. Miro was just in violation of the limits as to how far he was allowed to venture from home but in no actual danger. My daughter and all her school mates used to walk home a distance longer than between @gamer00's home and the supermarket unaccompanied by an adult from school every day in first grade. The city of Lahti has top-notch street infrastructure. For instance, there are plenty of underpasses along every major street or road with busy traffic.

One game is nothing. I have played go for a little over 25 years. Assuming an average of ten games per week, that amounts to about 10 * 52 * 25 = 13,000 games. I've taken breaks lasting up to a month every now and then. But at times I have binge played up to 10-15 rapid games per day for a week or so. I'd say I have played maybe 10,000-15,000 games in total. With this kind of numbers, you don't simply care about the outcome of one game very much particularly if it's just a club game.

According to European Go Database I have played in 134 tournaments and 672 games. There is a number of tournaments played prior to the introduction of EGD in 1996 that are not included in the database. I started playing in 1992. I'd guestimate that I have about 750 tournament games under my belt now. Throwing away a tournament game where my position is good because of a lapse in concentration tends to piss me off but much less than it used to about 20 years ago.

This is a great game i can say that. Since it doesnt only develop ones knowledge, it also involves smartness, right thinking and wellness of mind. I dont know of this game before, i knew about it when i started curating @gamer00 posts. I will like to ask if this go game is in Olympics and how much international exposure has it got? I dont know of it in Africa and South America.

You are right in that go develops the mind in a well-rounded manner. Emotional balance is important in many sports but in go it is crucial. The space of possible moves is so vast that, particularly in the opening and the middle game, there countless possible strategies. Too much aggression or fear lead to defeat. A player must strike the right balance between the two. If the situation requires, a player will have to turn their thinking upside down and devise another strategy better suited for the overall situation. At every step of the way a whole-board evaluation must guide the choice of moves. It is cognitively hard but clinging to ideas will show and a skillful opponent will use that against you. For example, if you demonstrate that you absolutely must have some piece of territory or a framework and your opponent judges that they can afford to give them to you, they will try and extract maximum price for that. The stronger a player is the longer they will put off commitment, only committing to a strategy at the last moment.

Go is not in the Olympics and neither is Chess. Go is also known as Igo in Japan, Baduk in Korea, and Weiqi in China. It is played by millions or tens of millions of amateurs in China, Korea and Japan. In Europe, there are about 10,000 to 20,000 people playing it. Ditto in North America. It is played in Latin America as well. There are amateurs at the highest levels in Argentina and Brazil. At least South Africa and Madagascar have national federations. It has very little exposure in the Middle East. For some reason, Mongolia is rather weak at go despite the fact that Ghengis Khan knew the game and I think he might have played it. Australian go is at a level similar to a typical European country.

During the club evening Markus recounted his experiences as a chess player. He used to be an active club player and play in tournaments, too. According to him, chess players tend to have much worse manners than go players. Some of them tend to do idiotic things like disturb their opponent, say disrespectful things to their face during the game and things like that. I've heard similar stories from a Tampere go player who started out as a chess player. I think it this may have to do with the fact that while go was invented in China about 3000 years ago, it was the Japanese who took upon spreading go to Europe, America and the rest of the world outside East Asia. The Japanese etiquette has somewhat stuck with go players and it is an absolute faux pas to verbally put down your opponent or otherwise harass or disturb them. Before the game you're supposed to wish your opponent a good game and thank them afterwards. Even if you think your opponent is wasting time playing a lost game, you should NEVER tell or ask them to resign. If this happens on a go server on the internet and I'm busy, I will simply resign. If the opponent is delaying the game on purpose, I'll resign and make sure not to play that person ever again.

In games such as go, respect for and gratitude toward the opponent should be based on the simple fact that they are under no obligation to play you. According to some chess players at Lahti City Library at the Game Över event, chess has been declining in Finland for quite some time. I'm not terribly surprised.

Excellent photo. You are above your rivals.

Well that's very nicely put, so thank you, but I must confess I'm not really very good. In the game of go at least, and not so sure about photography either.

Thanks to the effort you're putting into photography, you are approaching professional level. Keep at it. Steem is a good way to fund that effort. In addition to revenue from Steem, you could try and market your services to create a customer base IRL. I very strongly recommend that you do the billing via a company owned by a relative, for example, to keep the bureaucratic aspect as simple as possible for you.

@gamer00 - Sir, I just saw this post. Hope you are awaken now.... it's a beautiful photography.... unfortunately I don't know how to play that game Sir.... Hope you will teach us it too....

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Sorry you lost 3 games..... you need to a good rest and come back strongly :)

"Anyway, he told me he'd poured half the liquid away because he couldn't drink it all. That's just kids' logic for you." He sees the glass half full ;)

I have no idea about the game but I would say that your photography skills is really good. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50