Solar Electrical Learning Part-21||Week-21||Step by Step Troubleshooting of On Grid Solar Inverter(1.5 KW) in our office.

in Solar Steem11 days ago

Steemian Friends,
Today, I will write my Solar Electrical Learning Part-21 and share with you my office 1.5 KW on-grid inverter troubleshooting. Hopefully, everyone will benefit from reading my writing.

ELECTRICAL LEARNING PART-21.png
Design By Canva

A 110-volt supply is required to keep the tripping devices of the 33 kV substation in my office operational. A 1.5 kW solar inverter provides this 110-volt supply. Two days ago, the output supply of the inverter suddenly stopped. I went with my electrical team to find the solar fault.

IMG20240610102814.jpg

IMG20240610102929.jpg

I first measured the voltage of the solar panel's output cable. The output voltage was 206 volts DC. Then I realized that the output voltage from my solar panel was getting good. Solar panels are fine.

IMG20240610102825.jpg

Then, I see a lot of dirt on the solar panel. There is so much dirt that the solar cells cannot be seen. So, I started cleaning the solar panels. I clean solar panel dirt with my electrical team. Industrial area around us. Iron powder from iron smelting fumes gets deposited on solar panels. Solar panels need to be cleaned once every week. Due to not cleaning the solar panels for the last two months, so much dirt has accumulated.

IMG20240610103314.jpg

IMG20240610103105.jpg

Then, I went to check the 1.5 kw solar inverter. The input voltage of the solar inverter is 206 DC voltage, but the output voltage is zero. Then, I realized that there was a problem with the output voltage of the inverter. I opened the top cover of the inverter and checked the electronics circuit. I saw an IC problem in the solar inverter display.

IMG20240610104208.jpg

IMG20240610104852.jpg

Then, the output voltage of the inverter's step-up transformer was measured to zero. The transformer had a fault. Then, I disassembled the whole inverter. I managed to fix the transformer, but the IC of the display card was not fixed. I discussed this in the office and decided to install a new 1500 VA hybrid solar inverter.

IMG20240506154009.jpg

IMG20240506154707.jpg

For now, I keep the 33kV tripping relays operational by supplying power from the grid using a charger controller. I will later re-solar supply with a new hybrid solar inverter.

Blue line.png

Links to my previous learning parts:
Part-01Part-02Part-03Part-04Part-05Part-06Part-07Part-08Part-09Part-10
Part-11Part-12Part-13Part-14Part-15Part-16Part-17Part-18Part-19Part-20

Blue line.png

Steemit.com.png

image.png

Sort:  

Good job on the cleaning aspect!

I just got a report today about a 5KVA system of someone. He complained that his panels were no longer charging the batteries properly.

I was suspecting two things.., it's either rats have destroyed his DC cables 😀 because he has stubborn rats in that environment or there is a breach in the connections.

I asked him to send me the pictures of the panels since it was accessible..., he did.

The whole panels were covered with dirts...

I advised him on what to do (cleaning), I sent two of my friends who are also installers..., they went there for the job. Now the panels are charging well. That's the feedback from him this evening.

Many people neglect this part, but it's very important.

The output voltage was 206 volts DC

Was that from a panel or the entire panels?

Does your systerm have a battery back-up?

Dear Sir,
Our company is manufacturing rod. Rods are produced through various processes from melting iron to making billets. So here a lot of iron powder along with the smoke gets blown over the solar panel.

The output voltage of all panels is 206 volts.

Yes, I have battery backup.

When the grid power supply is off, the 33 kV high voltage tripping devices are kept on through battery backup.

Dirt and bird droppings reduce the output of solar panels.

Our company is manufacturing rod. Rods are produced through various processes from melting iron to making billets. So here a lot of iron powder along with the smoke gets blown over the solar panel.

Now I understand where the dirt is from.

The output voltage of all panels is 206 volts.

Much clear

Dear Sir,
There is an electrical panel that converts the DC voltage from the battery to 110 volts DC and sends it to the tripping device. 110 volts is converted through the panel in the picture below.

IMG20240502111033.jpg

In the figure below, the tripping devices of 33 kV high voltage line are operational at 110 voltage. It is very important to keep the tripping device functional on high voltage lines.

IMG20240502145042.jpg

Thank you so much for reading my post and leaving a nice comment.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54