Day 33: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: HairsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago

Imgur

Please welcome our newest freewriters @alxgraham @gniksivart and @maverickinvictus

Many of our freewriters are new to the platform and get very few votes on their posts. Every day, I am inviting you to visit one and leave some comments and votes. Today, please visit @tezmel

Prompt: Hair

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes.
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

If you like this and want more people to come out and play - resteem!

Remember to check your voting power. Do not vote for a while if you are under 90!
https://www.steemnow.com/

Money

I just found out that there is an app in development which allows the transfer of a set amount of SBD to any number of people in one transaction. It should be up and running by next week.
If you agree, I will wait for that app to send you all your SBD. That would save me so much time! Instead of making 70 transactions, I can do 2.

Let me know if you need your transfer right away and I will do that. Otherwise, I wait for the app. If it is not done by next week, I do it the oldfashioned way :)

Here is one way to get a small upvote. It is part of the minnow support project and has this weekly initiative.

And this is an article I want to get your thoughts on. @taskmaster4450 will be on the podcast soon to talk about cryptocurrency and such. What do you think about this idea?

This is a new bot initiative for minnows. Follow it and it will upvote you - that is what it says.

Also, I would love it if you all check out each others #freewrite and spread some love :)

@ackhoo @ahmadmanga @ana-maria @arbitrarykitten @alvinauh @alxgraham
@bashadow @bloghound @brisby @byn
@chuazm @citizenzero @creationofcare
@deaconlee @deemarshall @dennisauburn @dmcamera
@ecoinstant @elizacheng @ellievallie
@f3nix @fitinfun @felt.buzz @fishyculture
@gniksivart
@improv @iyanpol12
@janine-ariane @jayna @jewels3 @jie28 @jjwriter85 @jkiw @johnwjr7
@littlenewthings @littlescribe
@long888
@marcoriccardi @marillaanne @melinda010100 @miniature-tiger @mydivathings @maverickinvictus
@nathanthewise
@omra-sky
@preparedwombat
@rainbowme @raj808
@shanibeer @sharoonyasir @simgirl @snook @stinawog @sayee
@tezmel @themerrylotus @theprettysoul @thereikiforest @topkpop @tpkidkai
@valorforfreedom
@wandrnrose7 @whatilearned @whatisnew @wildwoman
@yomibolo

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Cactus - Guava - Grapes

Weekend Freewrite 3

SteemUSA Potential

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

Day 27 - Prompt

Silver-Freewrite prompt: Bubbling

Freewrite Prompt: a shoe

Weekend Freewrite 2 - Donald

prompt compilation

MAP Forum Introduction

A Good Day to Go to the Market - It's Market Friday

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

My Entry, It took exactly 5 minutes:


With the new year nearing, each one of the young couple wanted to give their spouse a gift... but they were a poor family...

She found a gift for him but to buy it she needed more money. she thouyght her husband is more important than her and she cut her hair and sold it to buy his gift.

In the night her husband returned and found her hiding her head... he told her to come to him, he has a present for her. a hairpin.

She showed him her head and told him that she sold her hair to buy him a gift... a hand-clock holder.

But he said he had sold his hand-clock to buy her gift...

The couple was sad because each lost something important, but they were happy to know how much they love each other.

[The End]


It's a rewriting for the classic story: "Gift of the Magi" from my memory and with my style... The original is better, but I didn't find time to come up with something original.

Yup - an old story :)

Thanks for your dedication. You should get applauded for this.

I still feel so ignorant of this place sometimes. When I try to read the FAQ or even most posts about the intricacies (or what seems like it should be easy to understand) most of the time I feel like I'm trying to read Swahili (and I don't speak Swahili)

Are there any particular writers or posts or even topics that you might recommend for learning about the SPD, voting power, any of it? I am beginning to feel really ignorant... so I basically just write my posts and read others. I have been on the Steem Now site, thanks to you, but really the only thing I understand there is the voting percentage thing. I vote until I'm at about 85% and then stop until I'm back to 100% the next day.

You are not alone. It takes a while to understand what is going on here.Partly because the platform is still in Beta and things change a lot and also, it is open source. People constantly develop apps which can be good or not so good. I learned a lot from @flauwy but some of his tutorials are about bots and such which is over my head.
I think the best is to do the following: What is your purpose for this platform? Just to have fun? To get your writing seen? To build an income stream?
If you are just here to have fun - which really, in my opinion, is the best first focus, and what ends up building everything else.
Financial success, I think, depends a lot if you end up meeting the right people who have tremendous voting power. That said, like taskmaster is saying - we can combine our efforts and work with what we have....
I will try to find the ones I bookmarked for myself.
But write good stuff, interact with people leaving good comments and watching your voting power are great first steps.
And you can share to FB and Twitter and get more reach for your writing - if that is something you are looking for.

My first and foremost purpose is to write and rekindle my love of writing. Secondly, to meet people and make friends (I do so miss my livejournal days when I wrote and blogged all the time and made some of the best friends I've ever had before that platform kind of fizzled out.)

BUT also to work towards building an income stream now that I'm not a full-time stay at home parent, I would like to contribute to the household without having to go stand on my feel working a job for minimum wage. After being a SAHM for 25 years, my work skills are minimal at best!

I am sure your work skills are just fine - is that they are not valued in today's job market. I think we all need to have a conversation about that. Busy now...

Your writing is fantastic. Each story that I've read has been engaging and downright fun!
SAHM don't get enough credit for the skills they have! I spent 9 years home with my children, 7 of those I had a steady work from home job that paid me to index records. Even so, when I put that on a resume, it's treated as if I was just sitting on the couch watching television. Companies say that they appreciate you with words, but not with the pay rate.

I wrote a long essay about that some many years back. I should dust it up and publish it again. I am going to find the podcast where we are talking about feminism and how we shot ourselves in the foot. Instead of recognizing women for all their roles - all their different roles - we put a lot of pressure on just stepping into what used to be the male role. Now, we get to do it all - just like we wanted - I suppose. I am a vehement defender of recognizing that raising children is an important job!
By not thinking that, the children are the ones who get the short stick - besides us who have spend years at home taking care of them and now have less of everything - social security, status, you know what I mean....

I think a lot of women would benefit from reading something along those lines. a few years ago I read an article with a financial breakdown of all of the different things a stay-at-home mother does cooking cleaning organizing filing teaching. Etc. If one were to go out and pay someone to do all the tasks a stay-at-home mom, actually a stay-at-home parent so many men stay home and they should get recognition as well, it would cost upwards of 50 to 60 thousand a year.

You inspired me to write freewrite.

Here's my first entry: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@skysnap/freewrite-prompt-hair

I wanted to write horror story but I decided to change this into different fiction. I guess writing freewrite every day can help me a lot with my writing habit. And this may keep me out of the writing block.

This challenge has already helped me SO much with writer's block! It's been a fantastic tool just in my first week I've suddenly found inspiration and added thousands of words to a story that has been sitting in a folder for MONTHS. Good luck!

Yes. I am going to continue writing atleast one freewrite. Hope that helps me out :)

Best is to not even think too much. just read the prompt and start writing what comes to your mind.

Yay! I got an entry done today. I had a hard time finding the photo I wanted, but perseverance pays off. Lol! Here it is: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@dmcamera/freewrite-hair

""Another hair," He said, pulling another dog hair off of his shirt. "I swear, I must breathe so much dog hair, I'm surprised that I don't turn into one!" He laughed at himself. He always did think he was pretty funny.

Now I don't know if its because he said just the right phrase, or if it was just that he made the claim several times a day for years and finally hit the magic number, but..."

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/man-s-best-friend-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-hair

I cheated a bit on this one - I found the picture first and went from there!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ellievallie/springtime-resting

💚

Hello there! I joined this freewrite again. Here is my entry today.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@iyanpol12/hair-5-minute-freewrite-challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79