You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 33: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Hair

in #freewrite7 years ago

I still feel so ignorant of this place sometimes. When I try to read the FAQ or even most posts about the intricacies (or what seems like it should be easy to understand) most of the time I feel like I'm trying to read Swahili (and I don't speak Swahili)

Are there any particular writers or posts or even topics that you might recommend for learning about the SPD, voting power, any of it? I am beginning to feel really ignorant... so I basically just write my posts and read others. I have been on the Steem Now site, thanks to you, but really the only thing I understand there is the voting percentage thing. I vote until I'm at about 85% and then stop until I'm back to 100% the next day.

Sort:  

You are not alone. It takes a while to understand what is going on here.Partly because the platform is still in Beta and things change a lot and also, it is open source. People constantly develop apps which can be good or not so good. I learned a lot from @flauwy but some of his tutorials are about bots and such which is over my head.
I think the best is to do the following: What is your purpose for this platform? Just to have fun? To get your writing seen? To build an income stream?
If you are just here to have fun - which really, in my opinion, is the best first focus, and what ends up building everything else.
Financial success, I think, depends a lot if you end up meeting the right people who have tremendous voting power. That said, like taskmaster is saying - we can combine our efforts and work with what we have....
I will try to find the ones I bookmarked for myself.
But write good stuff, interact with people leaving good comments and watching your voting power are great first steps.
And you can share to FB and Twitter and get more reach for your writing - if that is something you are looking for.

My first and foremost purpose is to write and rekindle my love of writing. Secondly, to meet people and make friends (I do so miss my livejournal days when I wrote and blogged all the time and made some of the best friends I've ever had before that platform kind of fizzled out.)

BUT also to work towards building an income stream now that I'm not a full-time stay at home parent, I would like to contribute to the household without having to go stand on my feel working a job for minimum wage. After being a SAHM for 25 years, my work skills are minimal at best!

I am sure your work skills are just fine - is that they are not valued in today's job market. I think we all need to have a conversation about that. Busy now...

Your writing is fantastic. Each story that I've read has been engaging and downright fun!
SAHM don't get enough credit for the skills they have! I spent 9 years home with my children, 7 of those I had a steady work from home job that paid me to index records. Even so, when I put that on a resume, it's treated as if I was just sitting on the couch watching television. Companies say that they appreciate you with words, but not with the pay rate.

I wrote a long essay about that some many years back. I should dust it up and publish it again. I am going to find the podcast where we are talking about feminism and how we shot ourselves in the foot. Instead of recognizing women for all their roles - all their different roles - we put a lot of pressure on just stepping into what used to be the male role. Now, we get to do it all - just like we wanted - I suppose. I am a vehement defender of recognizing that raising children is an important job!
By not thinking that, the children are the ones who get the short stick - besides us who have spend years at home taking care of them and now have less of everything - social security, status, you know what I mean....

I think a lot of women would benefit from reading something along those lines. a few years ago I read an article with a financial breakdown of all of the different things a stay-at-home mother does cooking cleaning organizing filing teaching. Etc. If one were to go out and pay someone to do all the tasks a stay-at-home mom, actually a stay-at-home parent so many men stay home and they should get recognition as well, it would cost upwards of 50 to 60 thousand a year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50