A Good Day to Go to the Market - It's Market FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marketfriday7 years ago

Every week, I say that I want to go to the Friday Market early - make it a Thursday Market for me to keep up with all of you who are way ahead of me. But alas - good intentions....

But still, we have to eat! So, let's look at some of the goodies we are finding today at the store.

The first thing I am seeing is some dried fruit.

Imgur

I so wished that I had given in to an impulse buy! Here I am, sitting on a Friday afternoon with my coffee - and no sweets to go with it. In Germany, we have the tradition of "Kaffeeklatsch" oder "Kaffeetrinken" - to come together in the middle of the afternoon for a cup of coffee and something sweet.

That can be a formal invitation or just the family gathering and having a bread with jam and a coffee.

Since I love coffee, I do like the afternoon cup (decaf in case you are wondering if I sleep at night :)

And sometimes, something sweet would be nice. Just like this Mango here.

Imgur

And I would be quite happy with the chili coated version.

But, I only bought what was on my list. I wasn't even tempted by these beautiful nuts.

Imgur

Could have been the price - we are living pretty frugally over here. And I do have a pecan tree in my backyard and often get gifts of Macadamia in the shell from friends. Well, this year, we have a squirrel and lots of crows helping with the nut harvest and I haven't been able to get too many.

They are fast!!!

And my friend figured out a way to open the Macadamias without smashing his fingers to pieces (the hit them with the stone method). That source might have dried up as well.

Imgur

But the nice thing about a big bulk section is that you can buy just a little bit of a luxury item. Better for the wallet and probably better for your health - especially if that luxury item is called chocolate.

On the other hand, for the store owner, it is better to package everything. Less unauthorized snacking, less unauthorized touching and people actually buy more if things are prepacked. I learned that lesson when I had my store.

Of course, when buying bulk, people can bring their own containers and fill those up instead of using another plastic bag. Sadly, I don't see much of that going on.

Imgur

I love the look of these barrels. It does give the store a bit of a country flare. Of course, it is all fake and there are plastic inserts in each barrel. Hard to get away from plastic this day and age, even when you try hard. Still, they are pretty and add to the ambiance of the store.

Imgur

And these 2 dudes are my youngest son and my youngest grandson. It is good to have them along! One grabs everything in sight and the other helps to put it back. You can figure out who does what. The picture might give you a clue!!

This is a contribution to Market Friday initiated by our sweet Denise @dswigle.

You too can play!! Take your phone or camera with you wherever and whenever you go shopping and then, show us what shopping is like in your part of the world!!

Use the # marketfriday leave a link to your post her

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Day 22 Freewrite - Prompt: itching

Joel Salatin - Farmer-Author-Speaker

Day 21: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Books

Sky Magic

A Holy Basil Smoothie

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

I've recently started drinking a lot more coffee. I usually just get a PB&J to go with it. There is a little bakery next door though if I want something different.

That is always a good choice! I try not to eat too much bread - even though I grew up on daily bread :) My body seems to be okay with it if I eat it every few days but not if I eat some every day. And sweets are for the most part banned from my house. Only for special occasions. But there are times...... :)

OMG, I'd lose it at the nut section. They are my absolute favorite snack food. I've planted several nut trees on my property. I'm just hoping to get at least one pecan harvest before I die. They can take 20 years to produce.

You sure do have some handsome kiddos too.

You can graft nut trees and they will produce faster. Better to have nuts in the shell. When they are already shelled, it is so easy to eat too much :)

I got distracted and forgot to write my itching prompt but I've been thinking about all those yummy nuts. Funny how everything ties in together. (The short version) The books prompt caused me to order a few books a couple of days ago, one of which was the Grafters Guide, LOL. True story. I wrote about it on some ones post that also did the book prompt.

hahaha. Glad I am helping to feed your addiction :) And grafting is great fun!!! Today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-november-11-2017

Kaffeeklatsch is what evil women do to gossip like there is no tomorrow!

At least this is what all us men are suspecting. Anyway, I like the look of that market.

hahaha the evil women again. When my parents had the more formal invites - men were included. And the family times - everyone was there. Lots of males in my family :)

Family is important. But males at Kaffeeklatsch?...

Blew your mind??? :)

Not exactly, but Kaffeeklatsch is a waste of time. However, I am pretty extreme in life in general.

I think that relaxation is a waste of time.

You will change your mind someday. Resting is as important as doing things. You are a gym person. You have to rest between reps - makes you stronger in the long run. Same with the mind. And social connections are very important. What we are doing right now, commenting back and forth, is a form of the Kaffeeklatsch.

Well for you it is. In my case, this has a purpose.
And pausing between reps ain't no relaxation.

Social connections are important, if these people push you to the next level. I don't hang out with people that walk the normal path of life, they are boring and have nothing much of value to say.

yes, lots of people are. I need to get tomorrow's prompt together and go to bed :)

so, in other words - the Kaffeklatch is a form of networking.

I have never done official Kaffeeklatsch so I don't know.

I just hear that evil women do this to gossip and form plans to manipulate other people. :-)

there you go! Secret discovered. LOL
good talking to you

It took me all night to get into busy! I have no idea why it wouldn't let me comment!

I loved your post and I love your little grandbaby! I want to do more shopping with you!

I remember the afternoon break with coffee and something sweet! Oh, I still do it! And I love the dried apricots and I wish you had gotten some! Why do you drink decaf again? You don't sleep anyway! LOL

Thank you so much for being a part of #MarketFriday! It has been such a pleasure to have you! Upped and Steemed tip!

Please leave the link to your post on my #marketfriday comment section so it can easily be found. They will all be in one place!! Thank you!

So sorry to hear that. I need to make a point to go to steemit first and get the link from there. That is always an option when you can't get into one platform - go to another and go to the person's profile and the post will be there.
I started to post on buy because they give you an upvote if you use busy as a tag and I am trying to get the upvotes up a little - don't we all.
And you can save drafts.....

No worries. I am sure it was a one time glitch. Everyone is using it nowadays! It will all work out! :)
Any upvote is awesome!

The grandbaby wants to taste it all ! ^_^
Have a great day Marianne chattigrecaturday.png

hee hee hee you made me laugh, Marianne! you were not bored to do shopping with a small grandson :))) squirrels with crows you have quick :)

No boredom over here lol . And you are right. I have to be quick to beat those critters!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52