MAP Forum Introduction

in #mapforum7 years ago (edited)

My name is Marianne West and I currently live in San Diego, California.

Imgur

The first 23 years of my life, I spent in Germany, mostly in Coburg in the house my great-grandfather bought and my mother lived in her whole life. Here is the Wikipedia entry of Coburg with lots of great pictures.

I have many interests and have a tendency to get deeply involved in something, then back off for a while and if it was meant to be for me, I will come back to it from time to time.
Right now, most of my time is spent on my podcast, the Sustainable Living Podcast and my urban homestead which includes chickens, dogs and tons of trees and plants.
Imgur

All my children live within minutes from me and 3 little dudes are frequently at our house.

Imgur

I am a yoga teacher but am not teaching a lot right now. Two friends and I are managing a community type garden and public food forest space we are slowly turning into a Sustainability Center.
Throughout my life, I have filled many roles. I home birthed all my children which let to activism in the birthing choice movement as well as years of being a La Leche League Leader. We homeschooled and I was the Vice-principal of a private school we founded to enable homeschoolers to stay legal.
Later, I owned and run an international grocery store for 12 years. During that time, I had colon cancer and am still around after 15 years.
I am a registered Yoga teacher and have all kinds of certificates including Kids, Laughter and Hormone Yoga. I also studied Permaculture and have two PDC certificates - one from Geoff Lawton.

Imgur

To celebrate my victory over cancer, I hiked Mt. Whitney and wrote my bicycle from San Diego to Eugene, Oregon and back before I had kids. Other skills/hobbies I can claim as mine: Studied Hotel and Restaurant management, went to massage school, took many writing and general interest classes at a community college, did all kinds of fiber art since early childhood such as knitting, crocheting, needlepoint, sewing and more. Have all kinds of homesteading skills such as canning, preserving and growing food.
Reading has always been a big love of mine and I can't imagine a life without books. Actually, I am always a bit suspicious when I am in a house without books. It just doesn't feel right.
My husband is also on Steemit, but he is not very active.

Imgur

Sort:  

Fabulous ! Totally believe you about the ADD lol

Did you notice the latest in the MAP Discord? ;-) Gotta run. have fun! oh the second tag needs to be plural btw

thank you!!

What an interesting life!

A house without bookss is suspicious!

Great to get to know you a little better ech day!

Don't you think? Books just belong into a life :)

Agreed - how do you feel about e-book

Love them. You can carry a lot of books with you wherever you go AND you can adjust the size of the fonts to the need of your eyes!! But still need touchable books around me as well.

Ja das ist ja mal eine lange Geschichte!

You have many hobbies and went through a lot in your life. To me it seems that you are just reaching your peak tho with Steemit and your homesteading hobby.

I would also be suspicious in a house without books. It is a mark of stupidity, a major red flag.

Ich habe schon viele lange Geschichten geschrieben - auch hier on Steemit. Jede Phase des Lebens hat ihren eigenen Hoehepunkt.
I loved homeschooling! So much fun. We had so many adventures and made great friends. And the podcast is pretty epic as well. We shall see about Steemit. So far, so good.

Steemit soll mal einen Höhepunkt haben!

What is your podcast about?

Sustainable Living. I put a link into the post above...

Do you guys also have weapons, bloodthirsty dogs and minefields around your property to protect your living?

I kill them with kindness:) And the dogs are more thirsty for getting petted. And I lived next to minefields when there was an East and West Germany and that was a sad story....

Sounds like you are quite the good neighbor!

You are a wonderful and inspiring woman and I'm so glad that I met you!

Thank you so much! You are so sweet!!

You need "time" to do all that in your bio..so it's understandable. Congratulations in overcoming CA, would love to know how you did that!
Sustainable lifestyle is the aim..will check your podcast :)

Thank you! Yes, I think we need to go even further and move towards regeneration. Hope you enjoy the listen.

It was playing but I couldn't hear anything..it was of Joe Salatin. Perhaps i get his book, i didn't get to know the importance of having chickens when they were starting, it's bugging me ;)

Are you playing the podcast on your phone or computer? Maybe check your volume? We are on most of the podcasting apps - like applepodcast for iphone, stitcher, Iheart radio and more. Here is the direct download link. He is sharing stories on the podcast which are not in the book :) http://traffic.libsyn.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/SLP_120_Joel_Salatin.mp3

Hi..this one works but am outside so will have to be later. thanks much!!

The podcast? You couldn't hear? I am listening right now and it seems fine.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Thank you for sharing your life and stuggles! Congratulations on beating the C word. You are amazing and gifted. I homeschooled for four years and used to can, too. The kids are adorable. It's great to interact with you. I'm happy you came to Steemit!

Thank you so much!! nd I am happy I found you!!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Haha i thought you were dutch !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26