Storm at sea: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This is my second 50-word short story this week for the prompt of "sea." The first one took place in a forest, and I found I was still hankering to write one that actually involved the ocean.

Storm at sea

thunderstorm-3440450_960_720.jpg
(Source: Pixabay image by jplenio)

Crystal watched lightning crackle through cumulus clouds like the fire of fighting dragons. A squadron of four pelicans sailed in line over the water’s surface as if headed for battle. The sky rumbled and roiled dichotomously over the calm sea—an inverse of heaven and hell. Yet she felt at peace.



Thanks so much for reading!

Check out the 50-word challenge by clicking the #fiftywords tag or checking out the latest prompt post.

Here's my complete collection of 50-word stories:

The confrontation
Light in the woods
Lost
Rod's Bait and Tackle
Hank’s sudden change
Mystery of the snowbank
Going below
What remained
In that moment
The space between
Elsie’s view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Superb imagery, Jayna:)

You used alliteration so well. That's pure poetry.

And mysterious too.

Why is Crystal at peace? Is she ready to die?

My favorite line is the one with the "squadron of four pelicans." They are like the helicopters, in Apocalypse Now, only much much cuter. :)

Thank you so much for your awesome comment, @rodneysreviews. The reason for her calm is left to interpretation, but I enjoyed juxtaposing her inner peace against the violence of the skies, which are likened to hell and fighting dragons, as well as the pelicans who appear to be headed for battle. Thanks for reading!

I like the, um, oxymoron? The yin-yang? I don't know.

I also love the war-descriptors for the sea. I don't think I'll look at a beach the same way ever again. XD

Who knew the sea could be so violent, hmm? Thanks for coming by, @cakeblailmusik! I so appreciate your support! (And quirky sense of humor.)

More poetry than fiction? Sweet!

Hi @mydivathings! Are you saying this story is more poetry than fiction? If so, that is a very nice compliment. Thank you! I think these 50-word stories sometimes blur the lines between fiction and poetry, whether or not it is intended by the author!

Busting out the big words for this short story!

Now the next time I see a buttload of pelicans over a Florida beach I will think of them as bombers, going off to battle against dolphins or seagulls somewhere over a foreign sea.

I'm not the only one that sees them as looking rather military, am I? :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00