What remained

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

So, this is my second 50-word short story for this week's #fiftywords challenge prompt, wing. As I mentioned in the intro to the first one, In that moment, I had written that story, and then came across the image for this story on Pixabay and was compelled to write this one too.

I hope it keeps you up nights....

What remained

Hannah and Ricky stepped over wing debris. They had seen the plane falling, burning, that night several months back. The area was no longer cordoned off by forensics.

The windows of the blackened fuselage glowed red in the sunset. Hannah grabbed his arm. “Oh God!” A face in the window.

plane-Skitterphoto.jpg
(Image source: Pixabay image by Skitterphoto)



Thank you for reading! As always, I appreciate your support.

Here's my collection of 50-word stories:
In that moment
The space between
Elsie's view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you!

I think the picture speaks more than just your #fiftywords. Horror!!! 👿
Lovely

I couldn’t agree more. I was almost cheating with this one! A picure really does say a thousand words, doesn’t it?

Yes, It does. You did described a befitting scenario.
"Oh God" that part woke/ triggered me! 😁😁

Wooo! Horror! I like it! And now I'm thinking about it...

Ok, so I'm on the fence here if I should interpret this as the old school Twilight Zone 'Nightmare at 20,000 Feet' face in the window as a ghost or creepy alien...or...is it the physical disembodied head of a victim from the crash, just kind of laying there?

Well, horror is in the eyes of the beholder, as they say. Okay, maybe they don’t actually say that, but the point is you get to decide. I was a conduit for the words that joined the image here in this post, and lay no claim to their interpretation. (But for the record, a theory combining several ideas you’ve put forth — crash, victim, ghost — seems most plausible to me.)

Now this, this would be a powerful intro to a horror story. Or maybe even a flashfoward that then lapses back to the start in mind-bending ways, like a nightmare that is to be when they reach that point of the story. Nice snippet regardless.

I think you should run with it, since you are thus inspired! You could use this short story as a prompt for a longer version. 😊

Alright, I'll see what I can cook up with this. I'll make sure to drive people to yer post if I make it.

Ah!! That's creepy!!!

Ha ha. Thank you!

Just as I finished reading it there was a huge thump on the outside of the house. Made us jump. Hubbys gone to look.. not sure what the HELL it was but my heart is doubly racing!!!

Wow, how’s that for perfect timing? 😊

It was a bit like... 'and then, there was a knock at the door....'

I can see why you wanted to write one using that image. I often times find it helpful already having image I would to use in mind. While other times while writing it I’ll pause and thinking to myself “I’ve got perfect image for this one.

That face in that one window really ups the scare factor on this.

Thank you, @enjar! I do love the inspiration of picture prompts. I wrote a flash fiction story for an art prompt writing contest earlier this week. So much fun!

I hope she imagined that face.

Or her reflection? :-)

But no... I think that face is inside the burned husk of the plane.

I was reading this out loud and at the end when I read A face in the window and scrolled down to the image I shouted "Sh*t!" (I swear I did haha), so I guess it accomplished the #horror intention haha. I enjoyed the mystery and outcome. Great story!

That's a great compliment! Just what I was hoping for. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54