In that moment: a 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago

Here is one of my 50-word short stories for this week's #fiftywords challenge prompt, wing. I am writing two because I had already written this one and then came across an image... and... must... write... another. Does that every happen to you? Sometimes an image is all it takes to launch a new story idea.

In that moment

aircraft-Pixabay-Gellinger.jpg
(Image source: Pixabay image by Gellinger)

The propeller stopped. They were gliding, wings quietly slicing air currents.

“Is it safe?”

“Yes, babe. I do this all the time.”

On the descent, trees and barns came into focus. A bald eagle soared past. She inhaled deeply, exhilarated, happy, flying.

In that moment... “Babe? Will you marry me?”



Thank you for reading! I would love your support, in the form of a comment, upvote, resteem or SBD transfer. (Kidding!)

Here's my collection of 50-word stories:
The space between
Elsie's view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Eagles are my favorite. I could imaging myself being on the story, the first phrase describing the setting put me on the road of the story right away. So fresh, pure and cute little story. Don't know why but it gave me the vibes I had when I read The secret life of Walter Mitty for the first time..., a kind of feeling of freedom. Loved it @jayna.

Thanks so much! And what a fun reference - The secret life of Walter Mitty. I must read that story again. It has been many years.

Well, that was the complete opposite of your other 50 word :)

Very uplifting and hopeful!

(I think this kind of marriage-proposal-asking only works good in stories; in a real small plane like I went up in a couple weeks ago...it's absurdly loud inside the cockpit; you can't hear the person next to you).

Maybe it's a luxury plane and it's silent as a sleeping kitten though. :)

He turned the engine off. They are gliding, unmotorized, like birds, hearing only the wind. I had only 50 words to get that idea across, along with her glorious mood and his proposal. Thank goodness for comment ability, so we can explain ourselves when we don’t succeed at squeezing it all inside the 50-word limit!

You're right; I have no idea how much noise in a plane is wind versus engine; I would probably not have the guts to ask the pilot to turn off the engine. Unless he did it himself. Because he wanted to propose to me.

I was inspired by a scene in The Crown. Otherwise I wouldn't even have known it's possible, and not deadly. They turned off the engine of their little Cessna or whatever it is, and came in for a landing just fine. And they were chit chatting the whole time! :-)

Dang, ok, you got me! :) Although I could see it taking a tragic twist...

"Yes, I'll marry you!"

The pilot smiles and goes to start the engine. It won't start. The ground rushes to meet them much like the new family she'll never have.

Hey, this story may actually connect up with my 50-word horror story! And here we thought the two stories were diametrically opposed. Silly us.

Oh...oh damn. You're right. I'm so sorry for killing off your characters, @jayna.

Well, all is fair in love and war!

D’awwww. That’s cute as peck, willing to risk it all as to get the lass of his life. What a terrorifyingly cool way to ask a person out.

Let's hope she accepts!

Wouldn't that be a great way to ask?

It would certainly be memorable! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90