The confrontation: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This is part five of a story sequence crafted with my fellow writer, @negativer. Will he choose to continue? We shall see! The door is open....

Part 1: Lost, by @jayna
Part 2: Searchlight, by @negativer
Part 3: Light in the woods, by @jayna
Part 4: ... and found, by @negativer

The confrontation


forest-1031022_960_720.jpg
(Source: Pixabay image by Coffee)

The man smiled kindly, but I knew he was planning to kill me.

“It’s okay, Anna.”

“Why do you call me that? I’m Hannah. You killed Anna!” I sobbed. My beautiful twin… gone! I looked for an escape. I was in a sea of thick forest.

“Now you are Anna.”



Thanks so much for reading!

Here's my complete collection of 50-word stories:

Light in the woods
Lost
Rod's Bait and Tackle
Hank’s sudden change
Mystery of the snowbank
Going below
What remained
In that moment
The space between
Elsie’s view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Oh, my gosh. This just gets more intriguing! What a way to follow up on Neg's of yours. I did not see this coming. Shivers everywhere! Please don't let it be over yet. So much investment.

Thank you! We shall see...!

Actually, like Anike, I got a little tingly shiver that passed over my skin too.

Part 6? Hmm... we shall see... :)

Here we are all shivering in the heat of summer! 90+ today with a deadly heat index. And my son is playing ball -- yikes! What's happening in Wisconsin, @negativer? Wait, what were we talking about? Oh yeah, cliff-hangers.... duh duh duh!

I was shivering in the heat of summer, until we got HAIL during the storm in WI yesterday. Good sized nuggets too. What the heck?

Like I always say, if there's hail in June, Part 6 will come soon.

Wait, I never always say that. I only once said that. Just now.

Ooh, now I am shivering!

I loved reading your collaboration!!!! You guys surely inspire one another, it's amazing to see two energies creating something new! The main con of 50word stories is that it always feels like it's not enough... But you seem successfully overcoming this issue.

Haha, I'm sure you both were surprised with where the story went))))) Remarkable duet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35