Departure from Castle Island: A 50-word short story

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Here's a new 50-word short story based on the prompt, "island." Thank you @miniature-tiger for the fun story prompts. I love the challenge of telling a whole story in exactly 50 words!

Departure from Castle Island


unsplash.jpg
Photo credit: Unsplash

Ansela took the rowboat across the lagoon at first light. She gathered her provisions and Sicily and stepped ashore.

“Mew!”

“Shh. We must get to the sorceress’s cottage. She will have milk for you.”

They ran through the forest. “Mother will never recognize me as an old woman in rags.”



Thank you for reading!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

About me

My recent posts

Sort:  

Love it. We used to get these challenges set to us by one particular tutor who called them, "Haiku stories". The trick always seems to be to create the feeling of a narrative which stepped far beyond those words on the page and you've done that here wonderfully.

Thanks so much, @damianjayclay! Yes, I agree, that is the goal, and it isn’t easy to achieve. I’m so glad to hear that you feel this one managed to do that! 😊

Interesting whisper of a tale. I would read more were there more to read!

These itty bitty stories are so funny. Every one of them feels like it could blossom into something!

Lol, love the mew part too. Poor kitty was probably scared after being in the water (even if they were in a boat.)

If I had enough words I would have said the kitty was in a cozy blanket in a basket! 😄

We always run out at the best part. Guess it will teach our brains to think shorter lines, lol. I got stuck with Chozzy grinning on my story.

I will find it and read it tomorrow! Love these little stories.

Me too, they are all awesome. I can't even pick a favorite, because everyone is doing great.

Very interesting story, it left me wanting to know more about Castle Island! I'm looking forward to seeing more of your work :)

Thank you! Yes I became interested in castle island too. It has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it? I first found the picture, and that inspired the place name and the story. 😊

Magical story ❤️

Thank you very much, @metzli!

I like the inclusion of the cat. It gave it some depth. Well written and left my mind finishing the story afterwards. Well Done!

Thanks so much. I like the kitty too! I’m glad you enjoyed the story and that it fueled your imagination. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28