Time to say goodbye

in #fiftywords7 years ago (edited)

“Time to go, Harrison!”

dog-3067595_960_720.jpg

The sun lowered, orange-gold across the water, illuminating the rushes. A breeze and a flapping of mallard wings shared the day’s last breath. Harrison looked out, where Ben’s boat used to glide as he cast and reeled.

“I’m sorry, Harrison. You’ll see him again in heaven.”



This is my first #fiftywords story challenge post on the theme of Time by @miniature-tiger. Image credit: Pixabay.

Thanks for reading!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

i also thought the dog passed away....im wrong

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Okay, I decided to change a few words so it’s hopefully no longer confusing. To stay within 50 words, I dropped one word and added one word. I also changed one other word. I think it should be clear now. I definitely want the story to make sense! Thanks for reading and commenting.

Ah. Touching. Beautiful images you evoke, lovely how that happens with only so few words... thank you for sharing.

Thank you, @nobyeni! I found the picture and decided to have it tell me the story, borrowing the picture prompt idea from some of the TWB contests.

I'm left wondering who is gone? Harrison or Ben?
I enjoyed the way you described the day with words that called on most of my senses.

I like the way you write @jayna :)

Ah, yes, I wasn’t sure I portrayed the idea as I wanted in the fifty words. Harrison, the dog, is remembering and missing his master, Ben, who has passed on. The person speaking is the dog’s new owner.

I thot it was the dog then I wasn't sure and I also thought it was a real story - yours. So you certainly got the emotion part well because I cried.

Oh sweetie! That really touches my heart. I just love animals. There are many stories about the loss of pets. This picture somehow summoned in my mind the idea that it must so hard for a dog to lose his owner.

I love that perspective....reminds me of a movie where a dog showed up to meet his master at a train station every day - and continued to wait even after the man died. Hachiko is the name of the movie. (You will need a lot of tissue if you watch it. Richard Gere plays the owner.)

That sounds familiar! No, I don't think I can stomach it. Sad animal stories really hurt. In fact, the only reason I was able to write this one is because it's only 50 words--a mere snapshot into something that in real life must be gut-wrenching to experience (from the dog or human perspective. Dogs really are a person's best friend. They are so loyal and dear. Thanks for chatting, @countrygirl!

Beautiful imagery @jayna, very peaceful.

Thanks for joining in with #fiftywords!

Thank you! It’s a fun challenge and an interesting way to create community on Steemit. Thank you for spearheading it!

Beautiful and touching tale

You’re welcome. I’m fairly new on Steemit and this contest inspired me to enter for the first time today, after reading your and a couple of other fifty word entries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51