Just a tree in a field: A 50-word short story

in #challenge6 years ago

Here is my 50-word flash fiction story for this week's prompt, "field." Be sure to visit this week's prompt post to see all the wonderful entries from the amazing #fiftywords contributors!

Just a tree in a field

tree-JuergenPM.jpg
(Image credit: Pixabay image by JuergenPM)

It was our tree. We climbed to the highest branches to see distant lands. We hid from bandits. We soared over mountains with our twin engine’s propellers popping and spitting in the altitude. Remember, Davey? Old Farmer Jenkins yelled so loud if he caught us. Until the emphysema got him.



Thank you for reading!

Here's my collection of 50-word stories:
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

I felt it so pure. I love the beginning with the tree, so nostalgic and beautiful. Awesome work!

Thanks so much, @yimiipsa!

Only got around to reading this now, nice writing and I love the photo too

Thank you! I need to write one for the new prompt!

I'll keep an eye out for it...

Thanks, @ablaze. It’s on my blog now. It’s titled “Elsie’s View.” And the new #fiftywords prompt post is up for the coming week. 😊

Thanks a lot jayna, looking forward to contributing again this week, and nice job with the "lens" prompt..

Dang, Jenkins just had to (pun) buy the farm.

This takes me back to childhood. How I wish for that much freedom again.

Thank you for your nice comment! Yes, that freedom is so special. We must make sure we find it in others ways, as adults.

One of my fellow poets on here ... I do wish I remember which ... imagined trees might hold our memories. You story brought this back for me. A bittersweet and beautiful write:)

Thank you, @prydefoltz! Oh, I love that. I grew up with a tree like this, and in fact it belonged to a farmer, and he chased us away if he ever caught us in the tree. It was at our summer cabin, so I only got to visit it once a year. But it captured our imaginations so! And we were drawn to it like a moth to a flame. Trees really do hold our memories, I think. Thank you for sharing that.

One wonders how many modern children get a chance to climb a tree. I know it was a big part of my childhood, although it has been...many decades since I've attempted the feat.

Great little slice of life story, and I can imagine myself up there in the arms of an oak.

I do hope modern kids get to climb trees! We have several big trees surrounding our house that captured the imaginations of my kids. And my husband built a tree house in one big backyard oak. The electronic age is definitely changing things, though.

Trees, don't they belong to everyone's childhood. I just worry it might not be the same for my kid.

I hope your child does get to climb trees and imagine wonderful things among the branches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13