Mermaid dreams

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This is a #fiftywords story post on the theme of Wave. Thanks @miniature-tiger for running this fun challenge!

Mermaid dreams

child-2894254_960_720.jpg
Image credit: Pixabay.

She slumbered into mermaid dreams, rocking on the sea, cradled by the softest waves and the lullaby breeze. Seagulls kept watch from above, and belugas below, while storms moved far off to sea saying hush, hush.

“Good night, sweet one,” her mama said. “Where do you go when you sleep?”



Thanks for reading!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Thats gorgeous. Really different to any of the others thay ive read.

Thank you very much, @niallon11!

Aww, this is awfully sweet. I love how potently you used some of your words, like "mermaid dreams" and "lullaby breeze." It rhymes enough to almost be a poem!

Thank you, @caleblailmusik! I hope it’s not too rhymy or sing-songy.

Nah, not overtly. Wouldn't that be a good thing if it was though?

Perhaps. I was going for rhythmic, like the waves. :-)

Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

This describes exactly the oceans that our little 'uns must cross back and forth with each sleep! No wonder some of them lose heart (and don't dare to fall asleep)..... Lullabyes try to do what they claim: to lull the gods of the winds and the deep to be kind to these tender souls. Keep humming, moms!

Thank you so much for the lovely comment! I remember when my kids were babies, watching them sleep and wondering what they could possibly be dreaming about.

Oh I love this, @jayna! So sweet!!! <3

I still need to do my fiftywords post for this week, hahaha. Maybe I should browse pixabay for some inspiration.....

Can you tell that’s my m.o? It really is a wonderfully rich vein of lovely picture prompts.

I love pixabay, just never thought to stroll through it for inspiration, hahahaha. I'm usually looking for something there after I already have an idea, haha.

I did the same until very recently!

Oh that's lovely @jayna, really lovely. And a great choice of picture for it too.

Thank you. I truly enjoy writing these!

Oh I keep meaning to ask you! What did you use to make the gif at the bottom of your post?

I couldn't remember so I had to Google it! Easiest, coolest tool ever: http://www.gif-mania.net. When you go to select a figure, be sure to check the drop-down options, since there are far more available than the visible choices. For example, I found mine under a category called something like "writing/pens".

Thank you!! I need to make a therosepatch gif :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11