The church mouse: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Here's my story for this weeks' #fiftywords challenge, based on the prompt of "mouse.”

The Church Mouse

He scurries between pews, as silver window light washes over the feet of the Virgin Mary and illuminates stained glass.

wood-mouse-Alexas_Fotos.jpg
(Image credit: Pixabay image by Alexas_Fotos)

Over Mrs. Peevey’s lost cheaters, past Sandra McCarthy’s dropped barrette, past the shiny dime old Mr. Watkins intended for the donation basket-- hungry, alert, and quiet as a church mouse.

church-light_matrose.jpg
(Image credit: Pixabay image by light_matrose)



Thank you for reading!

Here's my collection of 50-word stories:

The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

Have you ever tried your hand at a 50-word short story? It's fun and challenging, and if you're like me, it will be a surprise what you come up with every time! Check out the prompt for this piece and then stay tuned for the new prompt.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Aww I just want to pick the little guy up. That was a cute mini story and I love that photo of the church.

Thank you, @pixiehunter! He is so adorable, isn’t he? I had fun imagining him scurrying all over that enormous church, and all the items he might find along the way.

I love the little critters. Only thing I am afraid of are spiders lol. Otherwise I pick up anything else. He did look very adorable.

I love how many very real characters you penned in fifty words. I probably know most of them with slightly altered names. :P
I always wondered what church mice do.

The names have been changed to protect the innocent. 😊

Oh I hadn't heard about the fifty word stories. There are so many fun challenges, contests, and tags I wish I could participate in more. I did a #freewrite for the first time this week. Do you know of that writing tag? It's a great, supportive community and a quick acitivity to get the words flowing.

Yes! With the fabulous @mariannewest! I do a lot of free writing, but I only publish my polished work, so its no longer a free write at that point. Ha ha! 😊

I agree, there are so many challenges and contests. How does one ever find the time to do all the cool things?

Great job @jayna.. Beautiful descriptive language to begin, then great characterisation. I really enjoyed that.

Thank you very much, @ablaze!

You always manage to pack so much imagery in only 50 words! I even feel like I can almost hear the faint pitter-patter of tiny feet on the church floor.

Thank you, @adigitalife! I truly appreciate that nice comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33