Ghost Fair - A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago

There is something spooky about a fair sometimes. I have never known why, but I've tried to capture it here in this 50-word short story based on @miniature-tiger's story prompt, "fair."

Ghost Fair

princess-1489825_960_720.jpg

The little girl wandered into the dark fields, hearing the tinkling music. Suddenly, a fair came to life. The ferris wheel glimmered with lights, spinning slowly. She saw rides, booths, prizes. The smell of cotton candy filled the air.

When the sun rose, she stood in an empty field, alone.



jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Wheeeeee...this one is creepy. Got the tingles. Excellent.

The thing with fairs and creepyness (barring discussion of clowns or whatever) is that it feels so...manufactured. Like....'HERE IS WHERE YOU GO TO HAVE FUN. NOW....HAVE FUN!'

Great little story @jayna

I might have to try my hand at 50 words. You bring temptation in so many forms.

I have so much fun with them. The extreme economy of words is so much fun to play with. Join me!

Yes I agree. One does not even need to go there where clowns are concerned! I love the point you made about manufactured fun. That notion alone gives me the shivers.

Hehe. Spooky.

Oh I hope so! 😊

Big fan of flash fiction. Your story reminds me of dreams, sleep walker.

Thank you! These 50-word short stores are almost a form of poetry, from my perspective. I like flash fiction as well, and typically my flash fiction pieces are in the 750-1000 word range. But my natural tendency is to write fairly lengthy short stories, from 3000-5000 words. I love writing these mini works because of the challenge of creating a complete story in just 50 words.

You should read "Something Wicked This Way Comes." My favorite carnival book for sure!
You're making us all look bad with your wonderful work. For shame! :P

I will! Oh you edited your comment. That’s very sweet! Love and hugs!

Oh no! I loved and hugged you back!! <33

Thank you, my friend! ❤️❤️❤️

Spooky and creepy, my skin crawled... :)
Thank you for sharing this, it was an interesting little read.

Thanks so much for your comment. I don't go for creepy too often, but sometimes it's really fun to write!

Very nice! I like how it's all wrapped up, constituting a full story in the 50 words and not just a scene. Also, the spookiness is very nicely transmitted.

To me, what's creepier about fairs is the permanent loudness and cheerfulness. At all times, day at night, appropriate or inappropriate. And maybe also Joyland and Something Wicked This Way Comes (?). And Pinocchio.

Oh that’s so true. The permanent cheerfulness. No matter what is going on. Some crime could be happening and you would still hear the overly loud and cheerful fair music. (Shudders!)

amazing post steem frined.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63